We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality - we would go back!”

Rockbarton Park Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality - we would go back!”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Nice quiet small hotel, close to everything... very wecoming bar and restaurant. Breakfast was excellent. Service couldn't be better - Patsy the owner was a wee gem! Very helpful in planning trips to local places. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable which is most important. If you want the Ritz book the Ritz but don't be put off by some previous reviews as this wee place is not as bad as it has been made out to be ! We enjoyed our overnight stay and would go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionachip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I have read through the previous posts on this hotel and its faults have been accurately described. Somebody should direct the owner to this page, so that she may act on the very valid criticisms, but as these have been ongoing since 2007, I wouldn't hold out too much hope of changes being made.

It's described as a hotel, but feels more like a run down B&B. The owner is a pleasant and helpful lady and recommended a pub called O'Connors, which was a great call.

We were asked to leave the key at recption and that should we return after 12:30 to ring the bell. I felt like we were back in the boy scouts.

The room was tiny and the bed was in keeping with the small room, perhaps they were expecting a visit from Gulliver and the little people.

There was a dreadful smell of must from the room, which I suspect emanated from the 1970's style carpet. The whole interior was very dated, in keeping with the theme of the carpet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timfinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shannon, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Nice quiet hotel, close to everything... very wecoming bar and restaurant. Food was excellent. Service couldn't be better... the only thing is the rooms. could do with a major refit. decor is out dated and rooms just seem dull and outdated. One or two nights fine but don't think I could stay any longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peg2616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Great welcome and the owner was very helpful and genuinely seemed please to have our business but, and this is a big but, the accomodation is way out of date and actually unacceptable today.

It was like stepping back in time from the musty smell to the paper walls to the rickety old fixtures and fittings. Shower dribbled if you were lucky enough to get the desired temperature.

My pals said breakfast was OK but I didnt sample.

Overall, place is clean but so tired and old. Not a cent of investment. Pity, becaus ethe location is OK for Salthill.

Room Tip: Just don't expect much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny-Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Firstly I do not see how this place can call itself a "hotel". The staff were extremely helpful and genuinely nice and the location to Salthill was excellent but im afraid that is where the good aspects end!
It is unbelievably outdated, in need of major refurbishment and basically just not up to standard. The worst part for me was the price. How they can justify charging the same prices as nearby 4star hotels is beyond me. It was most definately not worth €135 for 2 nights excluding breakfast!
To some it up by the end of our stay we were referring to it as "Faulty Towers"!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolls14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

It is what it is, the hotel is nice and a little dated but comfortable and easy access to Salthill and Galway, plenty of parking at hotel. The staff are excellent and very helpful. If you are planning to stay insdie a hotel for a week or so then book a 4 or 5 star hotel, but if all you want is a couple of nights to lay your head and travel around the Galway area then this is fine.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank caoim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

While the staff was very friendly and helpful, I cannot believe that this hotel is still operating .... and charging prices of more modern hotels in the area!

This hotel was opened in the 1970's and appears not to have been refurbished since. Where to begin ... the cabbage smelling room... the towels smelling of chicken stock..... the lack of warm water or water pressure ..... the curtains which did not close .... the sink almost falling off the wall ... or simply the awful & very dated decor....? We have never been so dissatisfied by the standard of hotel we stayed in!!

Basically, our stories of our stay at the hotel provided friends staying elsewhere with much entertainment over the course of our stay!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abcdefg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#34 of 45 in Galway
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#32 of 45 in Galway
118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anno Santo
Anno Santo
#37 of 45 in Galway
95 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
216 reviews
6.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockbarton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockbarton Park Hotel

Property: Rockbarton Park Hotel
Address: The Rockbarton Park Hotel 5/7 Rockbarton Park, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rockbarton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing