We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”
Review of Quays Bar Galway

Quays Bar Galway
Ranked #10 of 81 Nightlife in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a great Friday night at the Quay's (pronounced "keys" for our American buddies who cannot pronounce it as we couldn't :)). The front area has a fire and nice area to sit and just have a pint while there is a second bar in the middle and an upstairs with a smaller bar (and bathrooms) at the very back. The pub was packed when we were there. Many stag parties and other travelers. Prices for drinks were fair for the location, and we enjoyed the live band that they had playing that night. We danced until 2am and headed home. The pub is certainly not popular for being beautiful or sparkling clean. But it is a very typical Irish pub with plenty of pints and good craic.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeliQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    36
    11
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
650 reviews
301 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“worst meal in Ireland”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Should have known we were in trouble when the restaurant on the lower level was empty except for one table. My shapes were sticking to the floor. The display case next to our table had dirty and there was dried drink spots on the ceiling. My seafood platter, recommended by Lonely Planet was swimming in mayonnaise including a mayonnaise potato salad, mayonnaise pasta, mayonnaise carrots with squirts on mayonnaise over everything. Trying to hide that nasty iceberg under everything? The seafood was scarce between all the fillers. My husband had seafood chowder was quite good but Irish stew a "5" on a scale of "10". The brown bread tasted like it was a couple days old. Our house wines were horrible--tasted like the cheap stuff we downed when I was young. Coffee afterwards was instant and unthinkable. The waitress never asked how our meal was, nor did the manager on the way out. We spent way too much for bad food in a sticky, dirty place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Feenixwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Interesting interior and band tuned up for almost an hour. Service was good and when Band blasted out the music at 170 decibels we had to leave because communication was impossible. I do not like the higgley piggley layout with few tables and uncomfortable stools but people were enjoying themselves.

Helpful?
Thank Davecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Went to the bar 2 times and always had an excellent time. Interior is really interesting, live band was excellent. Go there if you stay or visit Galway!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cviju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Craic was 90”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just back from Galway and my liver and I are just recovering. Had a craicing night in the Quays on Saturday night and would recommend it to anyone visiting Galway.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Decdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quays Bar Galway also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Quays Bar Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing