We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New small Italian in Salthill”
Review of La Collina

La Collina
Ranked #13 of 469 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We offer a wide range of delicious home style Italian food, from our house made fresh egg pasta, traditional cooking techniques and the freshest of produce available, to our many veal, chicken and seafood dishes, to our popular steaks, and our many entree dishes, and don't forget about our traditional pizzas, which started it all. In Italy, family and friends getting together around the dinner table eating a satisfying home cooked style meal is an important part of every day. It's a place where family and friends can all come together, share a good conversation, funny stories and experiences, in a relaxed friendly environment. Our aim is to bring to you a warm, inviting, friendly environment for the whole family to enjoy and to share with us our passion for good food, good wine and good times.We look forward to seeing you dine at La Collina soon.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New small Italian in Salthill”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely small Restaurant, Had a 3 course meal x2 and a bottle of wine €69. All courses really nice and in no way were we rushed, if anything service might have been a a fraction slow at the start but i really dont want to complain as i really loved my meal, The red wine glasses are so big you could drown in them, really adds to the experience

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevcarm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    62
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Best Italian from here to Italy!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Put simply, it is without ant doubt the nicest family restaurant in galway! The food is superb, the service is wonderful and we come look forward to any occasion that will bring us to La Collina!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura-00001969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average Tasting Italian to be honest!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

After hearing about this place decided had to try. Had meatballs for starters and friend had prawn cocktail. Meatballs were just simply mince with no flavour or herbs covered in a plain tomato type sauce. Prawn dish was nice but thats not Italian. I had a seafood linguine pasta cooked in parchment paper, after waitin 30mins for main waiter informed me they were outa the linguine pasta and wud spaghetti do. An Italian restaurant out of pasta please you must be prepared! It was okay other then that. Friend had lasagne, so plain and bland again, tomato puree and some sort of tomato sauce mixed with mince, cheap and simple. Needs herbs and spices to make it a good lasagne. Overall average. Might try it again if someone else paying.

Helpful?
6 Thank Bradster1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bnc_ie, Public Relations Manager at La Collina, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi dear reviewer, we might not be perfect , but what you're saying is far from being true. It does not reflect of what we're doing in here, everything is about quality, and while anyone will dine with us will always benefit from our maximal attention in order to deliver best service. As owner & chef I'm maniac about this aspects, who knows me or ever worked with us can confirm it. We probably don't appeal to everyone, and that's ok ,we try to reach out to those potential customers with genuine expectations when it comes to quality traditional Italian cuisine. Probably you don't know but all the pastas are made in the house each and every day, we don't BUY IT. The tomato sauce is made in the house with lots of HERBS(fresh not dried) for 3hours. Small compromises can be made, to change an entire recipe to someone's liking that contradict our recipe,it will be most likely avoided.Stick to what we do best and ask or accept a suggestion, don't presume you know it all just cause some Italian restaurants promote commercial menus designed to please tourists, we're not a tourist trap. We appreciate your time spent to express your personal experience, we just don't identify ourselves with your description , we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Galway and great value!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Heard about this place from quite a few friends and my wife and I checked it out. Incredible homemade pasta - the fettuccini with bacon, cream and spinach was great. We also had an amazing pizza - garlic, salami, bacon and a couple of more meats. Above plus a beer came to €31 before tip.

The restaurant is clean, cosy and perfectly located for a casual bite to eat after a walk on the sunny (for now anyway!) prom. Staff (possibly family run?) were warm, friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. Would highly, highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorkKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rep of ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Ate here for a special occasion and was treated really well. Excellent food. Excellent staff. Excellent value. Will definitely stop by again

Helpful?
2 Thank buddyandsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Collina also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to La Collina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing