We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A VERY FRIENDLY GUESTHOUSE”
Review of Asgard Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asgard Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Meiringen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A VERY FRIENDLY GUESTHOUSE”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Mary and Ron are both very friendly and we felt like at home from the first moment.
They helped us finding somewhere to eat and we enjoyed a little drink with them
afterwards. The breakfast was fantastic and the Wintergarden looks really great.
We only stayed one night but it was certainly a good choice. We would recommend
it to anyone.
Thanks again Mary and Ron. You are great friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    103
    22
    8
    16
See reviews for
104
171
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kawerau, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had a triple room and appreciated the ground floor room so we didn't have to heave heavy luggage up stairs! Have no hesitation recommending this B & B. Charming hostess Mary and partner John made us feel so welcome it was like visiting old friends. Mary very helpful getting our days organised for us which was much appreciated. Sorry about the Test result!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank averiledhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at Asgard house for 2 nights, and we loved it! The location is PERFECT. It's close enough to the main square to walk to everything in Galway, but it's far enough away to have a quiet night's sleep. The owners are lovely and informative! We felt like we were staying with family! Our room and bathroom were squeaky clean and cozy - they were small, but we just needed them for sleeping, bathing, and relaxing, so it was perfect!! The breakfasts were delectable! I felt like we were at a fine restaurant! They will fill you up for a long day of exploring - so much food! I have zero complaints about this BnB. If you're staying in Galway, stay at the Asgard Guesthouse! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed four nights at at Mary & John Flynn guesthouse. This was a great location. We stayed in the front rooms and was noisy in hearing the cars go by. Next time I would ask for a back room. The sitting pallor where you eat was nice with a view of the gardens. The full breakfast was excellent and tasted great. Just down the street is the dog races ,which is only on Saturday nights ,and short walk. the rooms are very clean and mary goes out of her way to help with any questions or solutions to problems that may happen in your itinerary.. If you want day tours,Mary will arrange with phone call for you and the tour bus will pick you up at her door. I would not hesitate to stay here again.This guesthouse is a short 10 minute walk to bars and resturants and music .

Room Tip: ask for back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cary1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We've stayed at Asgard many times and first of all, the location cannot be beat. It's a very short and might I add, beautiful 10 minute walk to the heart of Galway, but it's situated on a much quieter area so that you can still get a little peace and quiet if that's what you're after. Mary the proprietor is just a doll and makes you feel so welcome in her home. The rooms are a bit snug, but again, location, location, location! The rooms downstairs, just as you walk in the front door are a bit larger and ideal for families. The price is wonderful, and Mary will even offer a discount if you pay cash. Okay, on to Breakfast. Mary makes, hands down, the very best French toast I have every tasted. It's to die for! We had only been in Ireland a few days when we stayed so we were still trying to get our fix of the traditional Irish breakfast, but Mary sent out a plate of her famous FT for us to sample and boy are we glad she did. It was perfectly crispy on the edges, soft and custardy in the middle with a little sprinkle of sugar and then we doused it in butter and maple syrup and we were in absolute heaven. You can get an Irish breakfast anywhere, but when you stay at Asgard, you MUST get the French Toast!

Room Tip: Front rooms, downstairs are larger than upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarbyTarantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heron island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Lovely guesthouse it was warm both in temperature and in atmosphere. A very clean room and very helpful and friendly owners that went out of their way for me. The only downside was lugging my heavy suitcase up the stairs but I didn't end up having to as ron and his son did it for me willingly - that is an extra mile when it comes to my luggage! I really recommend this house Thanks Mary and Ron you were wonderful hosts to this Australian visitor- tracey

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyblake11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker, LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Only stayed 1 night, but couldn't have been happier. Hosts, Mary & Ron, were very warm and welcoming. We felt like we were home visiting with friends. Walking distance to everything. French Toast in morning was great! If we get back to Galway we will definitely stay here. You won't be disappointed with the hospitality!

Room Tip: stayed in family room. accommodated 4 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.7 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asgard Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asgard Guesthouse

Property: Asgard Guesthouse
Address: Asgard 21 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Asgard Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Asgard Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asgard Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing