We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B for our stay”
Review of Asgard Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asgard Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B for our stay”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed here during a brief trip to Galway during the holidays. Asgard Guesthouse was clean, comfortable, and a great location close to the city center. Mary and Ron were most welcoming and helpful during our December stay, giving us advice on where to go and how to get there. Breakfast was cooked to order and the room was ample for 2 people. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackLack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    103
    22
    8
    16
See reviews for
104
171
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macroom, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and 2 children,10 and 11 yearolds stayed at the Asgard last October. The beds are lovely and comfortable and well sprung and the facilities are ideal for the family. The selection of fresh fruit,cereals,porridge,cold meats,cheeses were 1st class and the full Irish breakfast was a sight to behold and even tasted better...the black pudding the best I ever had. The welcome and genuine hospitality and local knowledge on what to do and where to go sightseeing etc made our stay most enjoyable. Free and secure car parking and a 5 minute walk to the city centre was an added bonus. Mary our host was always on hand and made our stay in Galway memorable and unforgettable.We will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisGMacroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were on our 1st vacation to Ireland and intentionally did not make advance reservations for any of our 8 nights. As we are in the hotel industry, we were excited about being able to pick and choose as the mood hit us.

We had seen the inn's web site before traveling, but waited until we arrived to decide. The Asgard is located on a major street with easy access to all area attractions. We were able to walk almost everywhere.

The rooms are unique and ours was a bit small but comfortable. The owner, Mary, is the definition of Irish Hospitality. This is a family business and pride of ownership is evident by the regular, repeat guests.

Breakfast is served in a delightful glassed in extension near a small garden in the rear of the house. Choices are excellent and we enjoyed our 1st full Irish breakfast here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoganHospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meiringen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Mary and Ron are both very friendly and we felt like at home from the first moment.
They helped us finding somewhere to eat and we enjoyed a little drink with them
afterwards. The breakfast was fantastic and the Wintergarden looks really great.
We only stayed one night but it was certainly a good choice. We would recommend
it to anyone.
Thanks again Mary and Ron. You are great friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawerau, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had a triple room and appreciated the ground floor room so we didn't have to heave heavy luggage up stairs! Have no hesitation recommending this B & B. Charming hostess Mary and partner John made us feel so welcome it was like visiting old friends. Mary very helpful getting our days organised for us which was much appreciated. Sorry about the Test result!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank averiledhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at Asgard house for 2 nights, and we loved it! The location is PERFECT. It's close enough to the main square to walk to everything in Galway, but it's far enough away to have a quiet night's sleep. The owners are lovely and informative! We felt like we were staying with family! Our room and bathroom were squeaky clean and cozy - they were small, but we just needed them for sleeping, bathing, and relaxing, so it was perfect!! The breakfasts were delectable! I felt like we were at a fine restaurant! They will fill you up for a long day of exploring - so much food! I have zero complaints about this BnB. If you're staying in Galway, stay at the Asgard Guesthouse! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed four nights at at Mary & John Flynn guesthouse. This was a great location. We stayed in the front rooms and was noisy in hearing the cars go by. Next time I would ask for a back room. The sitting pallor where you eat was nice with a view of the gardens. The full breakfast was excellent and tasted great. Just down the street is the dog races ,which is only on Saturday nights ,and short walk. the rooms are very clean and mary goes out of her way to help with any questions or solutions to problems that may happen in your itinerary.. If you want day tours,Mary will arrange with phone call for you and the tour bus will pick you up at her door. I would not hesitate to stay here again.This guesthouse is a short 10 minute walk to bars and resturants and music .

Room Tip: ask for back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cary1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.7 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#7 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asgard Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asgard Guesthouse

Property: Asgard Guesthouse
Address: Asgard 21 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Asgard Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Asgard Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asgard Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing