We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of Asgard Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asgard Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GEORGETOWN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived in Galway for a two day visit. Even though Mary was younger than us, she "mothered" us with suggestions and helpful information. Their home is beautiful, and the breakfast area and garden area is amazing. You can't go wrong by using Asgard as your base while exploring Galway.

Room Tip: We only saw the room we had, but it was on the back and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    105
    22
    8
    16
See reviews for
104
172
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

First off, we owe a big thanks to Mary and Ron for a great stay! I know we thanked you when we left, but we both agreed that your place was the best stay we had in Ireland.

The room we stayed in was great. It was clean and had an attached bathroom (which is my must have). The food for breakfast was excellent with so many choices. Mary's french toast was excellent and my choice 2 days in a row. Location is great, you can walk down the hill to the main downtown in 5-10mins. It's also on the route for the tour buses to pick you up, which we recommend you do and Mary can hook you up with getting them to pick you up if you tell them in time. The price was just right as well.

I think you can stay at any of the B&B's on this road and there are many to choose from, but you wouldn't get the Mary and Ron experience. Hands down worth every euro.

If I had to pick something as a negative, I couldn't. The people who winge about this place a loco in the head. Take it from the rest of us. Love this place!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Korelick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked a different B&B online, but they got overbooked and Mary gladly took us in for the night. The room for 3 was the perfect size. Everything was clean and comfy; felt just like home. Breakfast the next morning was way more than expected. We had our choice of fruits, yogurts, cereals, and juices, coffee, tea, as well as a few hot breakfast choices. The B&B is in a great location, only a 5 minute walk from Eyre Square. I would definitely stay here again. Mary and Ron were fantastic hosts, and everything was better than we could have imagined!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were delighted to find Mary's warm hospitality and cozy rooms in Galway. The Asgard is close to the city center and has everything you need for a comforatable stay. Mary and Ron recommended wonderful coach tours of local sites, and launched us with hearty breakfasts each morning. I look forward to a return visit to Galway and another stay at the Asgard!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HartB014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a wonderful time at Asgard. Our hosts greeted us right away on arrival and showed us to what was a perfectly lovely room, complete with a nice en suite bathroom. Coffee and tea was provided in the room, and the beds were gloriously comfy! We were only there for one night, but we felt that every minute we spent in the guesthouse was enjoyable. Our hosts gave a lot of great advice about places to eat and were genuinely warm and welcoming. The breakfast was also delicious and filled us up for most of the day. It is an amazing price for value, and I would recommend it to anyone interested in visiting Galway. Close enough to downtown to make a walk around Galway very manageable (only five minutes away!) but just displaced enough from the hustle and bustle to provide a peaceful night's sleep, Asgard is the perfect place to call home for your stay.

Room Tip: We were a couple and a friend (three total), so we stayed in the triple room, which we booked online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed here during a brief trip to Galway during the holidays. Asgard Guesthouse was clean, comfortable, and a great location close to the city center. Mary and Ron were most welcoming and helpful during our December stay, giving us advice on where to go and how to get there. Breakfast was cooked to order and the room was ample for 2 people. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackLack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macroom, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and 2 children,10 and 11 yearolds stayed at the Asgard last October. The beds are lovely and comfortable and well sprung and the facilities are ideal for the family. The selection of fresh fruit,cereals,porridge,cold meats,cheeses were 1st class and the full Irish breakfast was a sight to behold and even tasted better...the black pudding the best I ever had. The welcome and genuine hospitality and local knowledge on what to do and where to go sightseeing etc made our stay most enjoyable. Free and secure car parking and a 5 minute walk to the city centre was an added bonus. Mary our host was always on hand and made our stay in Galway memorable and unforgettable.We will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisGMacroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,709 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 185 in Galway
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#2 of 54 in Galway
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 54 in Galway
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asgard Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asgard Guesthouse

Property: Asgard Guesthouse
Address: Asgard 21 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Hotel Class:3 star — Asgard Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Asgard Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing