We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swallow Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swallow Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just got back from Ireland. By far our favorite B and B was the Sparrow Inn. Hosts were so kind and accomodating. The room was private with its own modern bathroom and two beds. Nice large shower like you find in the states, brand new bathroom. Large comfy beds and a nice kettle for tea or coffee. Breakfast was great. Plenty of choices of cereal, juice, fruits, breads, cheeses,meats, coffee and tea. Patricia made us delicious poached eggs and toast, but she will make whatever kind you want. Nice little court yard with table and chairs for having a quick bite of your own. Close to stores and to the beach. Very clean. Would come back again in a heart beat. Jimmy and Tricia were fine hosts and run a clean establishment and a very fair price. They were very kind and helpful with telling us how to get the ferry and find a store.

Room Tip: Loved the private rooms out back with the court yard. Perfect for us. Quiet and private, nice breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    33
    8
    9
    6
See reviews for
37
57
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

You could not ask for a better location or price. Patricia & her husband were incredibly kind and accommodating (especially as I became sick during my trip). Pat was like a mom away from home! Less than 10 minutes walk to city centre, Only about 15 minutes to the beginning of the Salthill Promenade to walk the coast, the location could not have been better. Yummy breakfast too. Would love to return!

Room Tip: singe rooms are quite tiny but provide all you need and are ensuite for those that like privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadamK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't ask for a better location to the city centre. Parking was available on site and breakfast included cereals, meat and cheese, toast and juice and coffee, a great way to start the day. The room was a bit small but we didn't visit Galway to spend our time in our room. The walk took about 10 minutes to the city centre and there was plenty to do and see. We enjoyed traditional music in one of the pubs as well as opportunities for shopping. Patricia and Jimmy were great hosts and more than willing to answer any questions we had.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowflake25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Patricia and Jimmy were extremely welcoming and kind! They helped us book tours of Galway, and organized cabs. The rooms were very clean and homey, and breakfast was healthy and light, with the option of a hearty full Irish!
My hands down favorite part, aside from the people, was the back patio which was airy and bright, an awesome place to chill out with friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippainsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed at this B&B for three nights, which is located very close to the city centre and in a very quiet neighbourhood. Hosts, Mr. & Ms. Fitzpatrick are very cordial and their cuisine is very good, served in a well decorated dining room. Coffee and tea are always available in the room.
Regretfully I cannot say the same as far as the room. Although with much light, it was very small (3 metres by 3, which includes the bathroom). The blanket had multiple yellow stains and it clearly showed it was old. In the shower tub, there was a soaked used soap stone, which evidently was a sign of poor cleaning by personnel. I understand I was travelling alone, but by no standards the room could be defined as such. Also, opening the door was a challenge: I needed to strongly push it downwards: I think the upper side was either uneven or swollen with humidity. Every time I had to open the suitcase, I had to coordinate movements. I am sad about the experience, mostly because the hosts are really lovely people. They even called the taxi to collect me to go to the bus station on the day I left.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

First of all: thanks to Patricia and Jimmy, giving us great pleasure for our stay in Galway during the International Quilt Festival. Uncomplicated, helpful, cordial at any time.

Rooms, also the small once, are equiped with everything you need for a short stay. The breakfast offers a good choice of cereals, different bred, fruits, eggs, cheese, ham, jam and many more.

The B&B is situated 10 minutes walk from the city center and has a good location for trips around Galway. There was never a problem to find a parking lot.

Room Tip: I had room Nr. 2 and it was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwabach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I spent 2 weeks here and time was too short, wish I could stay longer!
Patricia and Jimmy are so lovely, always very friendly and helpful. They looked after me like I was a family member. Every morning starts with a warm smile and excellent breakfast service. I recommend the nice brown bread! There´s always time for little talk
The bed was very good, and although it´s only 10 minutes walk to the centre, it´s nice and quiet.
It´s only 2-3 minutes walk to a good supermarket and the buses for day trips will pick you up there or at the B&B.
Wonderful time, nice place, good price!

Room Tip: Even the room at the front side was quiet enough, but you can ask for rooms at the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Bed & Breakfast

Property: Swallow Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Swallow 98 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing