We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

5 of us stayed here last Friday and Saturday night. I shared one of the suites with 2 of my friends. I was perfectly suitable for us, with an average sized double room and a smaller double room, both with TVs. Also had a nice living room/kitchenette with dishwasher/washing machine, 2 sofas, a table and flat screen tv etc. The bathroom was also fine. You get to the suites via the car park, which doesn't have enough official parking spaces for all guests, but there is no problem double parking as you leave your keys at reception and they have staff who move the cars around as necessary. Our car was moved once but there was no problem with that. I did not see the bedroom my other 2 friends stayed in which was in the main building but they said it had a double and single bed - the only complaint was that the single bed had some kind of plastic undersheet on it which was noisy.
The breakfast was good, with a selection of breads, pastries, full-Irish breakfast (freshly cooked, not buffet) along with other choices. We found the staff to be friendly at all times. We also had a 3 course dinner included in our package for one of the nights which was fine.
Overall for just over €120each for 2 nights B&B and one dinner this hotel was a great deal in a very central location.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 2 which is advertised for 3 people but you could possibly fit a 4th person in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

When arriving at the hotel we were unable to find the carpark that was meant to be part of the hotel, when we went into the hotel the only friendly staff member gave us directions to it. Upon arriving at the carpark which was underground we realised there were enough spaces for about 10 cars! We were told by the hotel staff that we were meant to leave our car double parked and leave our keys with them to move it if needed! This was not a set up either me or my husband were comfortable with so we were forced to find different parking arrangements at our own cost.

We had booked a deluxe double room, I would not like to see the normal rooms if we had a deluxe one. The bed was so small, the room was smaller than our own room at home. The bathroom had such a strong unbearable smell of paint. The bed was so uncomfortable that were unable to sleep at all. The room also overlooked the back of the bar where people would have sat outside for a smoke so we got the smell of smoke in our room a lot.

The breakfast was nothing to write home about and because of the amount wrong with this hotel and the lack of any sleep we checked out the next morning and lost the rest of our payment.

Room Tip: If you have to stay I would try to get a room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeelllooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Booked fairly last minute. Chose to stay in one of the apartments that were attached through the car park. The apartment had two bedrooms and a kitchen, fairly roomy. Steven who works the door/front desk at night was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cecelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

As was our plan, we were winging it without reservations. We stopped at the hotel sight unseen and got one of their last rooms that evening. The price was great. Our room was quite spacious, very clean and comfortable. It had a nice, old, well kept feeling to it. Very quiet and comfortable. It was a short walk down the street for dinner. We walked into the bar (connected to the hotel) and took in some great live music and a few beers. In the morning, we had the complimentary breakfast. The breakfast staff was right on top of it and it turned out to be one of the best breakfast experiences of our entire trip, and it was free! Next time I'm in Galway, this is where I plan to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Envirogypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

As per previous reviews the hotel is in a good location in the city centre. The hotel itself was more than adequate for the price. Friendly staff, clean neat tidy rooms, tea and coffee in rooms, excellent shower and comfy beds. The breakfast menu had excellent choices, continental or full irish. No complaints about this hotel i would definately stay there again. Parking onsite, although it is very limited which means sometimes handing your keys to the parking attendant to move cars around, not too much of a big deal though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I booked this hotel on the internet. On arrival our room wasn't ready and the receptionist said we could have an upgrade to their apartments at the same price. We said yes and our apartment was lovely. The car park is secure and the hotel is close to Galway centre. The staff are all very helpful .Breakfast was served in the main hotel and set us up for the day. Overall our few days were pleasant and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a 2-bed apartment at the rear of the hotel which was very quiet. Both bedrooms were sparse and would have benefitted from a dressing table/chest of drawers as there was nowhere to put things, otherwise it was a lovely apartment with sofa and chairs and a dining table etc., and all the benefits of the hotel. The breakfast was extensive and we also ate in the hotel one evening, which we can recommend. The staff in both the restaurant and bar were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again.
The Hotel is just off Eyre Square and within walking distance of the lovely shops and restaurants. Nice to have small individual shops - even found a Christmas shop!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#30 of 46 in Galway
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#26 of 46 in Galway
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 46 in Galway
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#16 of 46 in Galway
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £52 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing