We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Delicious Breakfast”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and Delicious Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We really enjoyed the walkable location and the delicious breakfast! They have great breakfast choices and an extremely friendly staff. Highly recommend. Our room was nice/clean and my bed was comfortable. And, being able to easily walk to the town center was a huge perk. There is also a nice pub attached to the Western.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieFromEriePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    343
    123
    58
    42
See reviews for
218
327
46
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for one night - my wife, daughter and 1. We booked and were provided with a room with a double bed and single bed. Quality was fine. Though one suggestion to the hotel is put a small bedside locker on both sides of the double bed. There is room and it is nice to have a small locker to put stuff on like specs, a phone, etc., rather than on floor. Breakfast was very good with a variety of choices. We opted for the pancakes which were delicious. One other tip for users, turn the shower on full allow the shower head to spray water out. When on low, the shower head hung limply. Overall a solid hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived on transatlantic fight at 8am with room reserved for that night, dog tired, dirty...they stored our luggage, suggested breakfast (absolutely delicious and large portions). Meanwhile the management scrambled and upon returning to desk they offered us an apartment that could be occupied immediately at same cost as our unavailable room. While that alone is generous, upon seeing its location and amenities, we were wowwed by our opportunity to see gal way from up high. Absolutely beautiful location, well appointed apartment with every convenience possible. Absolutely loved the apt. And the people who took such care of us. We ate breakfast and usually dinner at hotel as the food was a cut above also. Loved this place!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lackat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were looking for a short stay in Galway and took advantage of an out of season offer inclusive of bed, breakfast & dinner. The location of the hotel is very convenient with an easy walk to the shops & food/drink venues in the centre of the city, It's a small hotel without the uniformity & sterility of the big chains but the food & service were good, the staff friendly and the rooms were OK without being amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

5 of us stayed here last Friday and Saturday night. I shared one of the suites with 2 of my friends. I was perfectly suitable for us, with an average sized double room and a smaller double room, both with TVs. Also had a nice living room/kitchenette with dishwasher/washing machine, 2 sofas, a table and flat screen tv etc. The bathroom was also fine. You get to the suites via the car park, which doesn't have enough official parking spaces for all guests, but there is no problem double parking as you leave your keys at reception and they have staff who move the cars around as necessary. Our car was moved once but there was no problem with that. I did not see the bedroom my other 2 friends stayed in which was in the main building but they said it had a double and single bed - the only complaint was that the single bed had some kind of plastic undersheet on it which was noisy.
The breakfast was good, with a selection of breads, pastries, full-Irish breakfast (freshly cooked, not buffet) along with other choices. We found the staff to be friendly at all times. We also had a 3 course dinner included in our package for one of the nights which was fine.
Overall for just over €120each for 2 nights B&B and one dinner this hotel was a great deal in a very central location.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 2 which is advertised for 3 people but you could possibly fit a 4th person in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

When arriving at the hotel we were unable to find the carpark that was meant to be part of the hotel, when we went into the hotel the only friendly staff member gave us directions to it. Upon arriving at the carpark which was underground we realised there were enough spaces for about 10 cars! We were told by the hotel staff that we were meant to leave our car double parked and leave our keys with them to move it if needed! This was not a set up either me or my husband were comfortable with so we were forced to find different parking arrangements at our own cost.

We had booked a deluxe double room, I would not like to see the normal rooms if we had a deluxe one. The bed was so small, the room was smaller than our own room at home. The bathroom had such a strong unbearable smell of paint. The bed was so uncomfortable that were unable to sleep at all. The room also overlooked the back of the bar where people would have sat outside for a smoke so we got the smell of smoke in our room a lot.

The breakfast was nothing to write home about and because of the amount wrong with this hotel and the lack of any sleep we checked out the next morning and lost the rest of our payment.

Room Tip: If you have to stay I would try to get a room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heeelllooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Booked fairly last minute. Chose to stay in one of the apartments that were attached through the car park. The apartment had two bedrooms and a kitchen, fairly roomy. Steven who works the door/front desk at night was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cecelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Property: The Western Hotel
Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing