We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
165 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good Location good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you can't afford to be on the beach at Salthill the Western has a good downtown location and a couple of nice suites. If there are 4 or more of you the suites have all the amenities (kitchen, washer-dryer, dishwasher etc. They also have 2 decent bedrooms and a large living room. Fair pub at he Hotel and many others nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    327
    113
    54
    42
See reviews for
201
309
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
salem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

my wife and I stayed at the best western plus couch house inn 10-23-13, we have stayed at many best western hotels from IL. to MO. to TN. this our 2nd best room ever!!! dvd player, lots of towels and the toulet has water conservation flush

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STAR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We really enjoyed the walkable location and the delicious breakfast! They have great breakfast choices and an extremely friendly staff. Highly recommend. Our room was nice/clean and my bed was comfortable. And, being able to easily walk to the town center was a huge perk. There is also a nice pub attached to the Western.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieFromEriePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for one night - my wife, daughter and 1. We booked and were provided with a room with a double bed and single bed. Quality was fine. Though one suggestion to the hotel is put a small bedside locker on both sides of the double bed. There is room and it is nice to have a small locker to put stuff on like specs, a phone, etc., rather than on floor. Breakfast was very good with a variety of choices. We opted for the pancakes which were delicious. One other tip for users, turn the shower on full allow the shower head to spray water out. When on low, the shower head hung limply. Overall a solid hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Springs, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived on transatlantic fight at 8am with room reserved for that night, dog tired, dirty...they stored our luggage, suggested breakfast (absolutely delicious and large portions). Meanwhile the management scrambled and upon returning to desk they offered us an apartment that could be occupied immediately at same cost as our unavailable room. While that alone is generous, upon seeing its location and amenities, we were wowwed by our opportunity to see gal way from up high. Absolutely beautiful location, well appointed apartment with every convenience possible. Absolutely loved the apt. And the people who took such care of us. We ate breakfast and usually dinner at hotel as the food was a cut above also. Loved this place!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lackat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were looking for a short stay in Galway and took advantage of an out of season offer inclusive of bed, breakfast & dinner. The location of the hotel is very convenient with an easy walk to the shops & food/drink venues in the centre of the city, It's a small hotel without the uniformity & sterility of the big chains but the food & service were good, the staff friendly and the rooms were OK without being amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

5 of us stayed here last Friday and Saturday night. I shared one of the suites with 2 of my friends. I was perfectly suitable for us, with an average sized double room and a smaller double room, both with TVs. Also had a nice living room/kitchenette with dishwasher/washing machine, 2 sofas, a table and flat screen tv etc. The bathroom was also fine. You get to the suites via the car park, which doesn't have enough official parking spaces for all guests, but there is no problem double parking as you leave your keys at reception and they have staff who move the cars around as necessary. Our car was moved once but there was no problem with that. I did not see the bedroom my other 2 friends stayed in which was in the main building but they said it had a double and single bed - the only complaint was that the single bed had some kind of plastic undersheet on it which was noisy.
The breakfast was good, with a selection of breads, pastries, full-Irish breakfast (freshly cooked, not buffet) along with other choices. We found the staff to be friendly at all times. We also had a 3 course dinner included in our package for one of the nights which was fine.
Overall for just over €120each for 2 nights B&B and one dinner this hotel was a great deal in a very central location.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 2 which is advertised for 3 people but you could possibly fit a 4th person in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Property: The Western Hotel
Address: The Western Hotel 33 Prospect Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing