We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

What a great hotel in the center of Galway city! I arrived for check-in several hours before the official time and Heather at the front desk was able to secure my room at that time. I was caught in the rain and soaking wet so I really appreciated the early check-in. During my stay, Shannon was very helpful with local information as was all the staff. It's so nice to stay at a hotel where the staff was so cheerful and happy to assist you. I will definitely stay again on my next trip to Galway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    322
    110
    54
    42
See reviews for
192
303
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I booked this hotel last minute, but the staff were friendly, to food was tasty and the room was very basic but spotless clean. There was a little noise last night but didn't last long. All in all great stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very convenient for us in terms of location and because it has a covered car park. Galway isn't a big city so you are in the center within five minutes. We traveled with a five month old baby and I guess because of the low season we were given a spacious back side triple room. The room and bathroom were clean, with basic amenities and hairdrier. There is no fridge, but we used the balcony to keep things cold.
There is a buffet breakfast which is good enough, however the waiter will ask you if you would like something from the menu of the hot dishes, make sure it is included. I think the waiter should add in his/her question whether it is or not. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barcelonaizmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The positives were that the room was large, clean and comfortable. Downside was that the walls were thin enough, or guests in adjacent rooms loud enough, to prevent sleep for the first of a two night stay.
There was also noise emanating from some kind of generator in the back yard.
Porter totally unhelpful; he acknowledged that there was noise, but claimed he could do nothing about it; this was very different from my experiences in other establishments, where staff have been happy to attempt to allay any noise, offering a room change, if necessary.
Porter finally spoke to the gaggle of girls who were making the noise, but did it in such a way that they were hostile and rude at breakfast the next morning, resulting in an uncomfortable atmosphere.
Most hotels implement a policy of guests acting with reasonable consideration during their stay, but not this one.

Customer service hit and miss; one receptionist was friendly and polite, the other unsmiling and unwilling to help; as another reviewer has noted, everything was too much trouble for her.

Location central, although a taxi cost 7 euro to the nearby train station.

Bar ok; staff far better than in hotel itself.

Given the handy location and the good sized rooms, this could be a much better hotel if staff training and customer service were made priorities.

Room Tip: Seems be to somewhere where loud youngsters stay as a base to go drinking and then return in the ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We arrived on a girls wknd on Saturday and informed that we could upgrade for free from a double room to an apartment - great move.. The apartment was gorgeous and just across street from hotel. Had one twin room and a double ensuite room. It was 1st class. We ate breakfast in hotel which was lovely. The hotel in very convenient for a city break stay. Just two min walk to eyres square so no taxi needed. The car park is bit small but you can leave your keys at reception and they organise parking for u. Was great for us as we weren't going to be moving the car until Monday. We will definitely return here again and would use the apartment again - very modern and stylish!!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment if u are staying the weekend. We had apart 4 on 3rd floor which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashjohn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had dinner with a friend in the restaurant of this hotel. We both had steak cooked medium rare which was exactly to our liking accompanied with nicely presented side dish of vegetables & chunky chips. Highly recomended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night at the western, all staff incredibly friendly, could not do enough for us. Location is best in Galway, food gorgeous. Bar has loads of atmosphere and good music the night we stayed. Will definitely be back !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeyvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Property: The Western Hotel
Address: The Western Hotel 33 Prospect Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing