We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have stayed at the western a number of times from late Oct to Mid Dec 2013 while working in Galway. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, hot and powerful shower in the morning.

Nice and friendly dining room staff in the morning with a great full Irish breakfast. While I had free overnight parking were I was working, so didn't require the Hotel parking (which is very tight), could not fault this hotel.

Hope to be back in the new year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eamonn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    338
    116
    56
    42
See reviews for
212
318
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Spent last Sunday night in The Western , Good as always Food and wine in bar was the best , Room was lovely and warm, We love The Western . Will be back in the new year please god .Happy Xmas to all , Maureen/ Frank Nugent ,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I recommend this hotel for its location practically in the centre of galway,It has good food pleasant staff and is a clean hotel. This was my 3rd time staying here and will be deffinetly be back, Thank you all at the western.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

the hotel is excellent value and within easy walking distance of eyre square. Our room was on the second floor and thankfully away from any noise.
Breakfast was excellent and they played an entire album of "the Who" in the restaurant. i will be back

Helpful?
Thank Moore_887
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed in hotel and apartments. Great value for your money. Excellent location, spacious, clean, comfortable rooms and apartments. Delicious breakfast with very friendly staff (especially Michelle). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was our first stop on our 9 night journey throughout Ireland. It was so greatly priced for the location and items we needed. Free Wi-Fi, Free Parking and Free Breakfast - those were are 3 main factors.

The rooms were simple and the food was decent, not to mention the location is great for walking to restaurants and shops.

For the $$, we couldn't complain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktfrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a short break in Galway. I found the hotel to be very good value. Paid 105e for two nights which included an fairly huge buffet style breakfast. The double room was cosy and warm, had a nice flatscreen TV, bed was clean, bathroom was modern - slight problem was that the toilet roll holder was beside the shower so the tissue got splashed with water after each shower :S just a bit annoying if there's an "emergency" :) Overall very worth the money I paid - I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NinjaMasterPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Property: The Western Hotel
Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing