We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with a group of friends in a quad room.
Parking was simple: just underneath the hotel, and if you can't fit the car in the staff in the hotel can take your car key so it can be sorted!
Check in was quick and easy, we were lazy and took the
Lift up to our room (before realizing it is about 12 steps up the stairs!).
Room was a fantastic size, with a table and chairs, desk, great size tv and good bathroom with a super powered shower! Toiletries are there as well.
Big mirror is on the wall, perfect for make up etc. 2 hair dryers were provided, along with tea/coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was included, and was amazing. Lovely continental selection, and yummy cooked food, particularly the white pudding!
The bar was lovely too, and we had a few drinks in there before going out one night.
All of this came to £150...for the 4 of us, for 2 nights. For £37.50 for me it was absolutely brilliant.
Would definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank cockneyreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Before we arrived me and my fiance were offered an upgrade to the apartments - the apartment was lovely, I was so pleased we'd been offered it! The staff were so nice and helpful. Breakfast was lovely every morning and there was a nice atmosphere in the hotel. The location Is great as well, just off Eyre Square so very central for bars, restaurants and shops. Couldn't fault this place at all!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex_140588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We sttayed here for one night. Very Comfortable rooms, bathroom could use a thorough cleaning of tiles. great location for Central Galway. Free underground car parking and breakfast. Staff are very nice and friendly. Will definitely go back again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlySusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

All staff were very friendly, its location is excellent and the service provided was also very convenient. I had to stay in Galway for business, but I would recommend this hotel to anyone regardless of the reason for their visit to Galway. It's always a very good choice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Don't be worried about the entrance and lobby -- not much but a desk. Was offered an upgrade to an apartment next door but since we were only staying one night, it wasn't worth it. The room was clean and very comfortable and the shower excellent. The breakfast was delicious and the staff friendly. They stored our bags for the day while we visited the Aran Islands. Highly recommend this hotel - it was a 4 minute walk from the bus station and centrally located.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czechsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I organised a group of 24 people to stay in the hotel over 2 nights. The Hotel organised all the rooms and a Cocktail class for us run by James. James was excellent and really made the event for us, the staff especially in the bar are really friendly and even though the kitchens were closed at one point opened up to make food for a few of us!!
All the staff were helpful, polite and good fun, it is in a brilliant location for transport and for restaurants, shops and bars in Galway so I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any one

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marguerite H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Don't be put off by the outside which I felt looked a bit dreary and made the place look like another Irish bar. The inside is totally different to the exterior and is comfortable an stylish. Great room, shower, location, bar, value for money. Very clean.

One complaint - would have rated higher but our meal was awful. The waiting staff seemed to know nothing about the food, when asked simple questions such as what vegetables came with the meal or what the specials were, they didn't know. Starter of satay chicken was hard chicken dipped in a curry tasting sauce. Left half. The hake I had as a main course was so hot with chili, I again left half. You could not taste the fish. Also my salad was swimming in a salad cream type dressing - I do not like most dressings, so did not understand why they did not just leave it plain and give me a choice. The crumble was hot on the edges and really cold in the middle. Left the middle.

I know some people say the food is good, but it was really not for me.

Would stay again, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,742 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway H91 Y3FA, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £45 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing