We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at The Western for 3 nights. There were 3 of us and the room did not feel cramped at all. Bathroom was nice size for all of us too. Mattress was a little too soft for my satisfaction but found that everywhere I stayed. The staff at front desk were very friendly and accommodating. The bartender in the bar located in the hotel was a little stand offish but the patrons were extremely friendly & had some great craic there! Breakfast was normal fare however their dinner menu was surprisingly good. The location is a short walk from Eyre Square and shopping. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azsunspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed one Fri night in May and could not have asked for a more comfortable experience. The hotel has wonderful, old world charm with modern conveniences. The staff were very professional, attentive and accommodating. Our room was bigger than most hotel rooms with a lovely view to the sea and a modern large bathroom. We decided to have dinner at the hotel for the special 3 course for 20 E each which included a bottle of house wine. All the courses were wonderful and plentiful. The atmosphere in the bar was "Irish Craic" which is not found in newer establishments. Breakfast was included and was hot and cold buffet which plenty of variety. The location was minutes from Eyre Square but did was not noisy. Good underground parking. Would highly recommend this hotel, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: One saw one room had a double and a single bed, large, TV and good bathroom. Clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We arrived late and were looked after very quickly and professionally.
Our room was enormous. It was right by the elevators on the first floor, so my initial reaction was that it would be noisy. It wasn't.
We attempted to park in the car park, but it was a harrowing experience as once in, we had nowhere to go except to reverse out through a tiny gap between cars parked with no regard to anyone else. I thought the hotel ignoring this was not good, as a guest in a hurry to leave could be blocked in by a car when the owner is away sightseeing. We chose to park on the street.
Breakfast was run very well. The staff were lovely and the food was fine. No complaints, as it was all included in the room rate.
The position of the hotel was great. An easy walk to the restaurants and bars.
I would be happy to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBowker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Old and wonderful describes Galway and the western hotel.
If you are looking for "flavor and convenience", look no further.
Our room needed updating, for sure. Dated draperies, creaky floors. But we don't come to Galway seeking modern, we came for the wonderful scenery, incredible Quays St and very sweet and sincere locals. A true representation of Ireland and it's people.
The staff at the western we're almost all in their 20's, it seemed, but sweet, attentive, and hard working. The i/ me generation as youth are generally referred to in 2014 has not blossomed here. The breakfasts were delicious and the bar with live entertainment was also fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at the Western Hotel with two friends for 3 nights over the June bank holiday weekend. We found it to be very clean & tidy with attentive staff. The location was particularly suitable because of its proximity to Eyre Square and the other 'must see' areas of Galway city. We parked in the underground car park which had sufficient spaces even on this busiest of weekends. All areas in City Centre were within easy walking distance. The room was spacious and the breakfast provided was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to discover Galway city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was a very nice place to stay, with comfy beds, good breakfast, helpful staff. I would stay here again. It was nice to have free parking so we didnt need to park on the street. Older place with charm. If you have mobility challenges, ask for an appropriate room; our was up and down small steps in a narrow hallway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingaroo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

An older hotel with a makeover. Rooms were clean and adequate. Breakfast was included and provided all of your needs. Fruits,scones,cereals,juices, yougurt and a hot choice from the kitchen.Just on the edge of the city it was perfectly positioned. Not to noisy but an easy walk to anywhere in the city. There was also a bar and a restaurant that was very good and guests get a 10% discount on meals! All in all a fine place that is priced well!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#6 of 46 in Galway
2,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,877 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,691 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,306 reviews
5.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway H91 Y3FA, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £49 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing