We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Western Hotel in Galway”
Review of The Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Western Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location just off Eyre square. Room was very clean. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice to please everyone. There is free parking at the back of the hotel which is a great bonus.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Newshooz2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I arrived at the hotel at 1 pm to find the room ready for us. The underground parking area is off St Bridgets Place and not the easiest to find. The parking area is small with not many spaces but is run efficiently by the staff - we had no problems. We were in Room 408 on the top floor (there is a lift which goes to the parking area and each floor) with a high view over rooftops to Galway Bay. The double glazing on the windows worked well to cut out the noise from the street. The room was not big, with the bed the only place to unpack the bag. There is a good size bathroom with a strong shower. Free wi-fi only worked in the public areas due to the thickness of the walls. Location was very convenient close to Eyre Square and within a comfortable flat walking distance to the pedestrian streets of old Galway. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. We had dinner at the hotel - the 3 course special for 19.50 Euros per person but of course you get what you pay for and although the seafood chowder entree was good and generous I couldn't recommend the lamb shank which had obviously been cooked for a while. However breakfast was lovely and quite plentiful with fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Survey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

what a disappointment. do not stay in this hotel. booked it on the internet did not check trip advisor (mistake) upgraded from a standard room to a Suite Suite no more like student accommodation for 220 e per night,

Room Tip: don't go there are better hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank johnkerr212094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Travel Republic and got a great deal for b&b.
The car park is free but small which is no problem as the staff shuffle the cars round very carefully.
The reception staff were very friendly and we checked in quickly and into our room which was quiet as requested.
The room is comfortable and clean witb basic amenities (great power shower) this does not matter as the location is perfect. Close enough to Galway town to walk but far enough away if you want some quiet.
Breakfast was excellent well cooked and varied. They make pancakes to order which were lovely with bacon and maple syrup.
We liked the hotel so much we decided to stay an extra night and booked one of the Citypoint apartments which was really lovely with a large terrage and grwat views over Galway.
We will definitely book The Western again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Harryfernagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Overall as the title states its an average hotel, nothing particularly great, nothing particularly horrendous.
Good points - huge room, clean, free parking included, excellent location right in the centre, nice breakfast, and nice bar. All the staff we met were friendly.
Down side - we had top room at front & was very noisy as in middle of the city, really annoying not having a shelf/tray in shower so all your gel / shampoo / conditioner etc has to go on the floor or balance precariously on the top of the door. Parking is tight - all double parked so lots of shuffling round of cars by staff before you can leave. Just generally a little run down & need of a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Racmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Location is great + there is free parking. we got a room on the first floor facing the street - I guess its one of those you see in the picture above the entrance. You can hear every car on the street and its a main one. no place to put the suitcase so we used the table. room equipped with 19" CRT TV with 4 buttons remote... the smell in the room was of a very old building but forget about letting some fresh air in if you want to sleep due to the car taking the turn in the intersession on the spot. Breakfast is good and walking distance to the main attraction of the city.

Room Tip: try to stay away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ofer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here two night while driving to Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. Hotel was clean and staff was so nice. Breakfast was pretty good as well with cooked eggs. Dinner and other food not so great. But perfect, clean place to stay for a few nights while exploring Ireland during the day. Just a tip: glad we did not use any of the tour operated buses to go to Cliffs. Was much more fun driving. However, hotel does have a car park which is very handy.

Room Tip: Rooms are not big so get a family room if you are looking for space and/or have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,742 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Hotel

Address: 33 Prospect Hill (off Eyre Square), Galway H91 Y3FA, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £44 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Hotel holds one of the most enviable locations out of all three star hotels in the West of Ireland, right in the heart of the vibrant Galway City Centre. Behind the Western's Georgian facade the hotel hosts charming en-suite bedrooms, a relaxing and intimate restaurant and a lively bar.For something extra special, The Western also provides 4 luxurious hotel apartments, just to the rear of the building. There is free on-site valet car park available for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing