We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both worlds”
Review of Sea-Breeze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Ranked #3 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best of both worlds”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Loooking to visit Galway / Salthill / or / westerm Ireland, then I highly recommend Sea Breeze lodge, Owner Freddy & staff really are great hosts, full of knowledge & experience of western Ireland, they are more than happy to share with thier guests.
Sea breeze lodge is extremely comfortable, the views & access to the promenade, which leads straight into Galway city makes this a great place to stay, we went as a group for a 50th Birthday celebration, it was everything we hoped for & more, great ferry trip to isle of Arran is a must, public transport from Galway city will take you to lots of places of interest. To top it all off the level of customer service & hospitality is second to none, cant wait to return..Dawn..& co.

Room Tip: Sea view room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DawnBPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    58
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
136
416
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our 3 night stay at Sea Breeze Lodge was fantastic- comfortable beds, great seaview, wonderful breakfasts and nice lounge room with windowed breakfast room. Freddie was awesome and so knowledgable and helped us decide where to go and what to see. Loved our stay there. We rented two rooms and he gave us the top floor which was cozy and wonderful.
Loved being close to attractions but had the quiet neighborhood of Salthill. Would absolutely stay here again when we return. Ireland rocks!

Room Tip: Having a seaview room was worth the extra money, it was beautiful to wake up in the morning and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank rosecmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Freddie the host, was Fantastic! The rooms were extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. The sea view was very calming. Freddie was very helpful and knew a lot about the area. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Close to town but nice and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank a D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our three nights here were a real pleasure, with Freddie providing all the information we needed for places to eat, things to do, and local customs. The included full breakfasts and reliable wi-fi complemented the nice, clean, roomy second floor bedroom with a nice view of the sea. And the policy of allowing check-ins as early as 1:00 p.m. was particularly helpful for us. We were able to settle in and walk to the nearby laundry to wash our clothes after 8 days on the road in Ireland. Seabreeze Lodge is a good example of what happens when an owner takes pride in his property and values his guests. It is a short drive into town, and we had some fine food just west of the property. A grocery store is just around the corner. This is a very good value, and we can’t imagine having any complaints. We would not bother to consider another place if we ever returned to Galway.

Room Tip: Second floor room facing the street has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

You WANT to stay here! Freddie, the owner, will tend to all of your needs in his very friendly, outgoing way. The rooms have wonderful, comfortable beds; the bathroom has large, soft towels; a tea pot and cups are provided with daily delicious snacks and the view is pretty. Breakfasts are lavish in a glorious glass sun room overlooking a very pretty garden of flowers, trees and statues.
You could order an Irish, American or "anything you want" breakfast that was delicious. There also was a table with a variety of juices, pastries, breads and jams. A small cozy lounge with a fireplace is open all the time - a great place to read or relax. Freddie will help with recommending restaurants or activities and is always available. Look no further! This is a fabulous place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank krull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We booked months in advance and then had to change the reservation in advance of our stay. The proprietor was very easy to work with the whole way and amended the reservation refunding our original payment and recharging the modified agreement. We arrived at Sea Breeze and met Freddy and he immediately upgraded our twin bay view room when he saw I was on the taller side to their King Bay View room which had a king and a single. My friends in the other room also had an option to a free upgrade of the King Garden View but they were quite happy with the Queen Bay View room they saw first. The room was gorgeous, including the en suite bathroom that was in immaculate condition. We found good craic in town that night and I didn't get to speak with Freddy as much as some of my trip mates (I missed breakfast!!) but one of them brought a fruit and scone tray up to me as I was getting ready and packed. We had gotten a little turned around on the way but otherwise it turned out great. I stayed up a bit later than my friend who was sharing the room, so I came up to find she had stolen the bigger bed and I was back to small single so my feet dangled but only slightly! (I'm 6'2" so for even taller guests, take warning!) The breakfast atrium is very beautiful and looks over the garden. We took a cab to Galway city center for approx 12 euros. Freddy had shown us directions to a grocery store minutes away to get cash at an ATM and then had a cab waiting when we got back. Thanks so much for your kindness and beautiful accomodations Freddy! All four of us really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: It's a small place so I can't imagine any of the rooms would be bad. I had seen a couple pho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ringmaster_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I booked Sea Breeze on-line some months ago and we were wary that we had made the right choice from such a long way away. Anyway, Freddy eased our minds from the moment we walked through the door. He and his family were very accommodating for the short-term stayer (we only stayed the one night). The room was quiet, even though it fronted the sea and a main road, the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and best of all, the tariff included the best breakfast spread we have ever experienced at any accommodation. A continental breakfast included would have been very satisfactory, but we were able to enjoy this AND and cooked breakfast on top. This got our day off to a flying start and as busy as we were, we didn't have time for lunch, but because of the breakfast, we weren't hungry until the evening. With the exchange rate so good at e moment, the Sea Breeze Lodge is a great option for te traveling Australian in Galway. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TimC260758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,780 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,919 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-Breeze Lodge

Property: Sea-Breeze Lodge
Address: Sea Breeze Lodge 9 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea-Breeze Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Breeze Lodge is the first and only bed and breakfast in the West of Ireland to be approved for the prestigious Five Star Award. Luxuriously furnished, all the rooms are non smoking, with own private bathrooms, full size baths and walk-in rain showers, Walnut wooden floors, mini fridges, central heating, hair dryers, all with 32" multichannel Cable TV and tea- coffee making facility. All the beds are fitted with the best Memory Foam mattresses and pillows available. Full traditional Irish breakfast, free Wi-Fi, off street private car park and all taxes are included in rate! Parking lots are directly present before the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea-Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-Breeze Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing