We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best stays ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea-Breeze Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Ranked #4 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the best stays ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We've stayed at the Sea Breeze Lodge in November and it was one of the best stays I've ever had. Not only is the owner, Freddy, super friendly and helpful, but he'll make sure that everything is taken care of. The rooms are amazing - they're spacious, the bathrooms are new and very big, and there is even a surround soundsystem in the room that you can attach your phone/iPad to. Breakfast is fabulous, from cereal to bread to eggs to full Irish, whatever you want. In short, you can't come to Galway without staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    58
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
124
393
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is by far the nicest and best run Guest House I have ever stayed at. It is advertised as 5 star and this is absolutely what it is. From the beautiful decor, oh so comfortable beds, wonderful breakfast Menu and it's location, this is as good as any 5 star hotel I have stayed in. Add in the personal touches of Freddy the owner and you have the complete package. I have travelled across the world and I would personally recommend a stay at Sea Breeze lodge to anyone. Book it...you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane_M-hill16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We spent 5 nights here recently visiting my niece who is a student for semester at NUI. Just loved the place! The food was delicious and Tatiana was very hardworking and attentive. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds, high quality linens in bedroom and bathrooms. Freddy was very solicitous of our needs, even invited my niece to come over for breakfast. He also gave good suggestions about places to go and things to do. Lovely location, nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city, but just a quick cab ride away. We got very spoiled there and the other places we stayed on our trip did not measure up to Sea Breeze Lodge!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had booked this B&B without recommendation and based solely on Fodors. We were happy we did. The location is perfect and overlooks Galway Bay, so at sunset you can soak in the view and have a cup of tea, or something stronger. The place is immaculate and the breakfast is wonderful. It is an easy taxi drive downtown where you can experience some of Irelands best traditional music.

Room Tip: If the master suite is available it is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay in Galway at the Sea-Breeze. Freddy welcomed us warmly and made a great recommendation for dinner at a restaurant we could walk to our first night. Slept like babies that night and got up and were fed a delicious breakfast. Nothing seemed to be much of a bother for these gracious hosts(thanks for the yummy omelet Freddy!) The rooms are very comfortable and nicely appointed. The bathrooms very modern and spacious.The next morning Tatiana fixed us another amazing breakfast and served it in the sunny solarium. Michelle and Freddy are wonderful hosts and make you feel such a warm welcome to their lovely accommodations. We would definitely visit again if Ireland is our destination.

Room Tip: The King bed with TempurPedic-like mattress was perfect. The view out our 2nd floor balcony was gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComfortMallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Though we were traveling in Ireland with a package which used vouchers, and this B&B does not accept them, we were so delighted with the location, the presentation, and the anticipated experience that we opted out of our pre-paid vouchers and stayed 4 nights. What a wonderful experience to feel at home, at ease, and at leisure in this delightful B&B. Morning breakfasts include a range of hot meals, fresh fruits, and hot beverages and are presented in a wonderful garden room. Guest rooms are up one flight of stairs (or two), but they are each beautifully appointed. Freddy, the proprietor, is a careful listener and well attuned to recommending restaurants, activities, and opportunities suited to the traveler's interests. Our stay made our entire vacation all the more delightful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our second visit to Sea-Breeze Lodge (our hosts Freddy and Michelle) and what a welcome surprise when we were greeted by the lovely Tatiana on our arrival. Since our previous visit in 2011, Sea-Breeze Lodge has had a MAJOR make-over and has been beautifully updated. All the rooms are just magnificent and so very well laid out and appointed, now with larger bathrooms including a bath, along with the usual in room coffee/tea making facilities, fresh fruit, sweets etc, not to mention the wonderfully comfortable bed and plush linen. The views over Galway Bay from the front rooms are just breathtaking. What a delight to sit in the comfortable and homely lounge area in the evening, sipping a red wine whilst enjoying some quite time reading after a day of sight seeing - also enjoying the wonderful aroma's from the kitchen in the evenings - from Michelle's cooking (we felt like we wanted to move in permanently!!! :) Equally, breakfast in the lovely atrium overlooking the garden was beautifully laid out with an abundant of choices and served by Tatiana. We have stayed in many B & B's during both our visits to Ireland in 2011 and now again in 2013 and we think 'Sea-Breeze Lodge should be the benchmark for all B & B''s' and really is second to none. The proximity to shopping facilities i.e. Supermarket, Laundromat and Bus connections are also a bonus. Congratulations on a fantastic renovation. We will always hold special memories of our stays at Sea Breeze Lodge. Thankyou Freddy, Michelle and Tatiana for your warm and welcoming hospitality. Sincerely, Julie and Bob (Australia)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-Breeze Lodge

Property: Sea-Breeze Lodge
Address: Sea Breeze Lodge 9 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea-Breeze Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Breeze Lodge is the first and only bed and breakfast in the West of Ireland to be approved for the prestigious Five Star Award. Luxuriously furnished, all the rooms are non smoking, with own private bathrooms, full size baths and walk-in rain showers, Walnut wooden floors, mini fridges, central heating, hair dryers, all with 32" multichannel Cable TV and tea- coffee making facility. All the beds are fitted with the best Memory Foam mattresses and pillows available. Full traditional Irish breakfast, free Wi-Fi, off street private car park and all taxes are included in rate! Parking lots are directly present before the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea-Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-Breeze Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing