We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B!”
Review of Cashelmara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cashelmara Lodge
Ranked #30 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
“Perfect B&B!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a darling B&B. Christina and Phillip are so accomodating and friendly. We loved staying with them and will stay there again. We got in fairly late. Christina sent us to the golf course just down the way. Wonderful food and beautiful facility. Cashelmara is in a perfect location!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    19
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at Cashelmara for one night on our trip around Ireland. The location is good and the parking is free. Christina the Proprietress is warm and welcoming and our room was LARGE, clean with a good size ensuite. We were at the back of the house so it was quiet but the whole area around this property is off the busy road. If the weather had been better the beach across the road looked inviting. There was a supermarket in walking distance to the house but I would think you would need to drive to Galway for your evening meal. The old town of Galway and its Saturday market was a wonderful experience. However parking in the parkade next to the old town was extremely difficult as the parking spaces are so close together. I would recommend parking on the street. Breakfast at the B & B was nothing special but all you could want for on a cold morning in March.

Room Tip: If I stayed there again I would ask for a room on the front overlooking the Galway Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarylAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Christine and Philip bent over backward to ensure that we had a great stay with them - and indeed they were just the best of our hosts in Ireland! Great room and wonderful breakfasts with easy access to the Promenade in Salthill and the bustle of downtown Galway. My husband and I used the b&b as our base for seeing Connemara and the Burren, and would highly recommend the Cashelmara Lodge to all who consider it as a place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannefromct7312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Cashelmara B&B in Salthill overlooking Galway Bay. We had a room in the back of the house overlooking the patio. Area is very quiet and even though we slept with the window open we weren't distrubed by any noise. The bed was very comfortable. The owners, Christine and Padrig (sp?) were great hosts. Christine made us breakfast each morning along with homemade irish brown bread.

The location is lovely. Saw a beautiful sunset over Galway Bay. It's just down the street from a large beach and about a 10 minute drive to town where there are pubs, stores and restaurants. Christine suggested the Galway Golf Club for dinner one night and the food was delicious.

If we ever get back to the Galway area we will be sure to stay here again.

Room Tip: Back room has a king size bed although we thought it was more like an oversized queen. Our friend s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I have lived in Galway for the past year and recntly my family decided to visit me and chose to stay in The Cashelmara Lodge. There were four of us sharing two very comfortable rooms ,one with balcony access and a beautiful view of the ocean. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the rooms came fitted with everything one could ask for. You couldnt ask for a betr location as I had no problem showing my family all the sights they were looking forward to, and som secret beaches too!
Breakfast was good as the owner catered for everyones needs in the large dining room. The house was very homely and cosy in general and even had wifi which was a big bonus!
I would be glad to stay here again and hope I get the oppertunity to! thank you so much to the owner!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My daughter and I had a nice staying there.
We liked the room and the place.
Christina, the owner, is a very kind person.
Don't forget to taste the delicious Bay Breakfast!
Also for Italian people as we are!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Actually, Christina is a 'Gem'. She made us 'oldies' very welcome, assisted us with local info. The room was great and we had the use of the balcony overlooking beautiful Galway Bay. Cashelmara is located close to a small shopping complex and not far from dining venues. There's also off street parking for those with a car. It wouls help though for a more prominent sign to assist in locating the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
#44 of 185 in Galway
145 reviews
3.0 mi away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#17 of 185 in Galway
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 185 in Galway
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashore Lodge
Seashore Lodge
#57 of 185 in Galway
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bohola House
Bohola House
#42 of 185 in Galway
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashelmara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashelmara Lodge

Property: Cashelmara Lodge
Address: Cashelmara Lodge 3 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cashelmara Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully decorated inside, this is one of the most opulently appointed houses in Galway City which appropriately matches its glorious location overlooking Galway Bay. Located five minutes drive from the city centre on the scenic Coast Road at the gateway to Connemara, Cashelmara Lodge is the ideal tourist base. The Lodge is owner occupied and we have great local knowledge to help with your schedule and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cashelmara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashelmara Hotel Salthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing