We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view of Galway bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claremount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Claremount House
Ranked #20 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of Galway bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We only booked one night ahead, which was rather short notice, and found the owners to be very accomodating and helpful. A very fancy building, the rooms were small but very clean and elegant. There is plenty of parking in front of the house. Only a short walk away is the seaside promenade, where we went for a walk with gorgeous views of Galway bay (which we also had a great view of from our bedroom window). Very good breakfast. The downside is that it is rather far away from the center and if you don't want to go there by car, it takes a while by bus and is a little confusing. Definitely too far to walk, as we first tried (we do walk a lot whenever possible). Overall, I would say that the owners didn't feel as welcoming as other B&B owners we encountered on this trip, but they were very friendly and professional – we just didn't feel as part of 'the family' as elsewhere but they were very courteous. Just a little bit more 'business' but certainly not impolite or anything like that. We had a wonderful stay there with a rather luxurious feel for a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0upin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    23
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
132
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Claremount House is a bit out of the town centre of Galway, but the view across Galway Bay is worth it. Steven and Anna are a very hardworking and hospitable couple; the house is spotless and breakfast is wonderful looking out over the Bay.
We met two couples who are friends of ours from Germany and it was their first time in Ireland. We were all very happy with the warm hospitality and family feeling everywhere in Ireland, but especially at our two B&B's. Hugs all around when we had to leave. Hope to see Salthill and the Claremount House again one day.
Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon adventure through Ireland.
A warm welcome awaited us as we got to the front door. Very friendly hospitality, beautiful surroundings and view every breakfast.
The bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable (not like other b&b's).
Wonderful food! Steve and Anna are fantastic cooks and always have a story or helpful information to offer.
The town of Salthill is full of good restaurants and pubs, and Galway is not far away for a more city-like shopping experience.
If you are going though Galway, be sure to spend at least one night here!!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

My cousin and I stayed for 2 nights and had a grand time. Anna, Steve and the whole family were amazing and sweet. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are spotless. The morning oatmeal, amazing, just like my grandmother made!!! A clear view of Galway Bay and easy access to a few dinner choices or a walk along the sea side.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed the weekend here as we had a wedding on the Friday in Galway.

We needed an early check in so we could get changed for the wedding and this was not a problem. The room and bathroom were extremely clean, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We had a nice view of Galway bay and the golf course. The TV in the room was quite small with poor reception, but you dont go to a B&B to watch TV so this was little more than a minor inconvenience.

The breakfast was excellent, with a wide selection of cooked options, and between the two of us we tried the full irish, and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or sausages. They were cooked by someone who knew what they were doing, and werent swimming in grease like hotel breakfasts can be, and tasted like they were probably grilled. The sunday morning there was also crossaints freshly baked, dropped in to the door by the shopkeeper from next door. We had to leave earlier than they offered breakfast on sunday morning (pre 8am) and this was not a problem, and both Anna and Stephen were up to prepare breakfast and to see us off.

Not the cheapest B&B I have ever stayed in, but at the same time, you pay for what you get, and i feel we got good value for money (I'll be ringing directly not booking online next time to save a few quid too). All in all a pleasant experience, very welcoming house, with nice beds, nice breakfast and a great location/view. I dont understand the couple of bad reviews, as from what i can gather, it provides exactly what you should expect from a B&B (the clue is in the name folks).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darragh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

What can i say - had an absolutely fabulous two nights in Galway! Anna & Stephen are the best hosts..... I havent yet stayed in nicer or friendlier accomodation... Room was fantastic, the bed was divine didnt want to leave!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Breakfast was so yummy and the brown bread is to die for - Anna even gave me the recipe so must have a go at that... House was spotless, very quiet at night so got to catch up on my beauty sleep!!! So close to Salthill and just up the road is a lovely supermarket called 'Joyces'.. Petrol station and convenience shop next door are indeed extremely handy and convenient.. Went for some lovely walks overlooking the sea - really wish could have stayed for longer... Will be recommending this B&B to family and friends and i will defintely be coming back again - if even just to sleep in that amazing bed again...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We just returned from 21 days in Ireland and the UK, and we absolutely loved our three nights at Claremount House (July 25-27,2012). Yes, it's a bit of a walk to downtown Galway...along a perfectly lovely and scenic bayside promenade populated by runners, dogwalkers and families pushing baby strollers. That's the charm of staying in Salthill. And, yes, there are a few gas pumps outside the small market adjacent to the property...but who cares? Our room was located on the side of the inn facing that direction and we were never even remotely disturbed by the trickle of cars pulling in next door each morning.

Anna and Stephen and their children (Claremount House is a family business in the truest sense of the word) are all fantastic, as are the beds (which are better than ours at home) and the hot breakfast, cooked to order with your choice of tea or a fresh pot of French press coffee.

I'm sure one could find a hotel in Ireland, or even in Galway, with a breakfast and beds just as good - and with bigger rooms, elevators, swimming pools, a stronger wi-fi signal and a fitness center - but I'd wager it would be twice the price and wouldn't feel half as welcoming and comfortable as Claremount House.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gojonesgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#4 of 197 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremount House

Property: Claremount House
Address: Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Claremount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing