We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Seashore Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seashore Lodge
Ranked #69 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Hartsdale, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I recently did some traveling around Europe and for the most part I stayed in
relatively expensive 4 star hotels. When I got to Ireland, I figured I would try out the
Seashore lodge B&B in Galway and I have to say that I was very impressed. The
pricing was a fraction of what I had been paying for hotels, but the experience
was just as good, and in many ways better than any hotel I stayed in. The room
was very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was excellent. The B&B's
owner is very friendly and obviously very knowledgeable about what to see and do
while spending time in Galway. The B&B is also in a great location that overlooks
the ocean itis also quite near to the city center. I plan to travel back to
Galway in spring and the seashore lodge is definitely where I plan to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesNY78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    5
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My friend and I spent two nights at the Seashore Lodge in a twin room at the front of the property. The room contained a double and a single bed, and was clean, comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. We had a great view towards the water, and the room was very light and airy. We did sleep with the windows open, so there was a little bit of traffic noise - but this isn't an issue if the window is closed. We had trouble getting the wi-fi in our room but again, for our needs it didn't worry us to pop downstairs to the guest lounge. There's ample free parking, which is great. We had a full Irish breakfast both mornings (as you do) which was tasty and generous. The property is a little further away from Salthill than we thought. As we were keen to go to the pub, we left the car and it was a good 20 min or so walk to Salthill, albeit a pleasant and scenic one. On our second night we got a taxi back to the B&B and it only cost €6, so that was a good option. We didn't end up going into Galway proper, but there is a bus that stops a couple of hundred meters from the B&B that goes straight in apparently. In all, Noreen was a lovely host and I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazlynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renmore1234, Owner at Seashore Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
HI all
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at seashorelodge and that you enjoyed the view
hoping to see ye again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We recently stayed at this B&B and were very disappointed with our few days. The room was small, t.v. not working properly, reading light not working and quite an uncomfortable bed. The bathroom was very small and quite shabby with peeling paint and nowhere to keep toiletries except on the window ledge. We were only provided with one bath towel each, no hand towels in room. No choice was offered for breakfast. It cost a total of 180 euro for 2 nights which I must say was very poor value for money. I have never before complained about accommodation but on this occassion it just spoiled our couple of days break.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renmore1234, Owner at Seashore Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Sheila M,
Many thanks for your review, however, I am very disheartened you were unsatisfied with your recent stay at Sea Shore Lodge. I remember meeting you on the evening you arrived and am very disappointed that you didn't bring up your complaints earlier on in your two day stay with us.

As a 24hour Bed and Breakfast, there is always someone here to deal with any issues that may arise, and of course we would have done our very best to help you. As for the room that you stayed in, it is a standard double room, 14x12 ft, with an adequately sized en-suite bathroom which had been recently fully retiled. With regards to the comfort of the bed, all our beds have been supplied by a hotel supplier and are of top quality, but I do understand it is hard to please everyone. We do also provide a option of a continental or full irish breakfast, but unfortunately on this occasion there must have been a misunderstanding were you felt you didn't have a choice. As for the price of the accommodation, the total for your two nights stay for two people did come to a total of 180.00euro, however, 27.00euro is directly paid to the booking agent you used.

After 15 years of providing bed and breakfast, I do understand it is hard to meet everyones expectations. Nonetheless, we do see ourselves as friendly and approachable, and try to accommodate our costumers as best we can.

Kind regards,
Noreen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The rooms were small, and the location was not convenient for traveling by public transportation. We anticipated a sea view, which we did not receive. Both my husband and I were far from impressed. The room though cramped was clean and the food was hearty and good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at the Seashore Lodge for 2 nights.
We had a small issue with the shower on the first night and were directly offered to use the shower in another room. The second day the shower was fixed!
Noreen was an amazing host although she seemed to have difficulties acknowledging the male presence our group of 3 people. But that was no biggy.
Noreen knows the area, and can provide good advise both on transportation and on parking situations in the city centre.
As the bed and Breakfast wasn't very busy during our stay, we were given a bigger room without any extra charges.
The breakfast was tasty and quickly served (although one of us didn't not get her (not really wanted) egg once, a honest mistake for which an apology was offered the next day) - We can not complain about the food!

Great value for price, very helpful host and amazing location close to the sea.
Only small issue is the location of the place as it is at a 20' bus ride from the centre, but we knew about it before we went there =)

Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Before writing this review, I took the time to review the information on their web site thinking I may have missed something. Yes, Noreen was very accommodating, our GPS took a vacation at the same time we needed her and we arrived late. Noreen was very helpful in directions over the phone. However, the photos on the web were not what we found in our room. The room was small and had a double and twin bed in it - not really enough room for three adult size people. The beds and linen were not high quality, the bed was not comfortable, the shower stall was very small and the bathroom fan was very noisy. Walking distance to the Galway Promenade could be more closely described as a short hike. Other rooms may have been better than ours, but I did not find our room as described on the web page.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renmore1234, Owner at Seashore Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
I was very disapointed to read your review you may not be in the room that is on the web page but all or rooms are very good hight standard as you can see by other reviews it is very hard to please every one staying one night it is hard to judge a bed all our beds are hotel standard
there is no mis leading advertising
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Noreen (owner) was lovely, the rooms were clean, fresh and comfortable and the FULL IRISH breakfast was a great way to start each days' adventure. The location was great for us, not wanting to be downtown, yet close enough that a short taxi/bus ride in was do-able. Our first trip to Ireland, to meet our daughter who had been student teaching in Galway. We did not spend much time at the B&B, as we were on the go all day long, but the time we did spend was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galway
0.1 mi away
Fourwinds Lodge
Fourwinds Lodge
#61 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salthill B&B
Salthill B&B
#28 of 186 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
#48 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Villa B&B
Ocean Villa B&B
#30 of 45 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cashelmara Lodge
Cashelmara Lodge
#33 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashore Lodge

Property: Seashore Lodge
Address: Seashore Lodge No 4 Cashelmara | Knocknacarra Cross, Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashore Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashore Lodge is a purpose built B&B on the coast road route 336, adjacent to Salthill, overlooking beautiful Galway Bay. Its location makes it ideal for touring Connemara, the Aran Islands and Cliffs Of Mother. Day trips can be arranged at your convenience, with pick ups organized from the guesthouse.We offer free WiFi, tea facilities & TV in all guest rooms. Seashore Lodge is also within easy access to shops and restaurants, and is served by a good bus route into Galway City Centre. Our priority is to make our guests feel at home. With so many B&B's to choose from, what makes Sea Shore Lodge so exceptional is the gracious hospitality and friendliness of the hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Seashore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing