We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Nice relaxed atmosphere with live music on a Sunday afternoon. Great value menu available and food is excellent. Check out the wine specials for approx. €20. Service is great too... The perfect retreat after a day in town

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank GarethK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
There are newer reviews for The House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

Just back from a fabulous stay. Our welcome was warm and professional from the receptionist, room was lovely, bed was very comfortable. We ate in the bar. food and service very good. Bar man, Oran, was great, chatty and very attentive. Hope to be back in 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolate_Chixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night recently and loved it - we paid 69 euro for the night and the room was lovely - frosted glass bathroom door and flat screen tv set into the wall. The room was small but cozy. Very clean. The bar and lounge area is also well maintained with reasonably priced cocktails. My only concern is the construction site across the road which didn't bother us on a weekend night but could have been an issue on a week day.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

House Hotel was is conveniently located to shopping, restaurants & pubs and had a lot of amenities to offer. This is a fairly new hotel with all the modern conveniences. Great bathroom with large shower head! Perfect for international traveler with a power strips offering all the different international plug options. Very modern in decor & excellent menu in the restaurant. The hotel was very full of locals attending hen & stag parties which was really fun & interesting. Only downside was the parking. Separate auto parking had to be obtained about block away which meant we rolled our bags down the street a little distance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OkieVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Have been here many times in the past, we find it a nice place to go after a hectic day rushing around Galway, it feels like an escape.However, we went today for tea and a few drinks for the kids, we sat there for 20 mins and not one member of staff came near us or acknowledged us, dropped us a menu, or said they'd be with us shortly.We were sitting directly behind the receptionist so I inquired if we needed to go to the bar to order, she said someone would be with us shortly.Ten minutes later we donned our coats and left, 30 mins seemed an excessive time to wait for a tea and a coke, or indeed your presence acknowledged.Mentioned it to a member of staff on departure & she apologised for our wait.The thing is that it wasn't particularly busy, told her we were disappointed and probably would never come back.We went over the road to Jury's, it didn't have the looks or the glamour, but the girl who served us was very friendly, attentive and took our order promptly and we enjoyed a very tasty plumb & apple crumble dessert.
Perhaps we arrived at the wrong time on the wrong day but the least you should expect is for a member of staff to acknowledge your presence whatever about the service that follows.

"If you don't take care of the customer, someone else will"

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Greenfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

I am so sorry and really disappointed to read your review. This is not the standard of service we aspire to here at The House Hotel, nor do we think it is acceptable.

Please be ensured that every action will be taken to ensure that this will not happen again.

We hope this experience has not completed deterred you from re-visiting us here at The House Hotel and we would encourage you to give us another chance.

We appreciate all feedback, positive and negative, as it enables to recognise our strengths, and most importantly, identify our weaknesses.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review adn I do hope we will see you back at The House Hotel in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Friendly staff. Lovely cocktails. I said to the waiter bringing drinks that I'd love just one chocolate. Two mins later he was back with 4. How good is that!!!!! The House is perfectly placed in the centre of the city and yet on a quiet road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annefromireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed here for our Christmas party night for the second year running and cannot praise it enough. . . We also decided to book in for the dinner and even though they were catering for several other large parties the food was excellent.. . It was a great location right in the centre of the city and the decor, especially the Christmas decorations were gorgeous. . Loved our stay and will call again. . .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno19701968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#16 of 46 in Galway
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £94 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing