We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute as a cat”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Hotel is very cute, I love the sleeping cats outside the door. And the do not disturb sign has a picture of a cat sleeping. On it. The breakfast sign has a picture of a cat eating on it. The bathrooms could have a seal on the doors to ensure privacy when using the bathroom. The rooms were clean and nice, however our room had 2 missing light bulbs which is a little inconvenient. The Hotel is in a grate location very close to the city center and has cheep parking near by.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinosllivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review The House Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted you loved our Cat symbols and it does get mentioned quite a lot!

We take all comments on board and unfortunately, our bathroom doors in the hotel are similar as this is what the designer had in mind for a sleek and modern finish. We genuinely hope this did not inconvenience you.

I'm disappointed to hear of your lightbulbs not working in the room and had we been made aware we would have changed them immediately.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and don’t forget, if you would like to receive all our fantastic offers, why not join our mailing list for all our sneaky deals for our loyal fans! Just send us your email address to info@thehousehotel.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Was here last weekend celebrating my hen night, wanted somewhere classy , stylish and comfortable.. Couldn't have asked for better, our package was €180 for 2 nights including breakfasts, 1 3 course meal, cocktail classes and cocktails, which I felt was v good value. Location is fantastic, just around the corner from Spanish Arch, good was delicious, had breakfast, lunch and dinner here, all delicious. Rooms were lovely, a little big noises due to Dj playing downstairs but that was not a major concern for us as we were either out ourselves or wrecked tired!Cocktails were so good and Kevin our teacher was excellent, really good fun and v nice.. Decor in the hotel is lovely, it is very comfy and cosy.. A ideal place to sit during a afternoon and chat with a friend or just read a paper. Loved every minute of my stay here, well done House Hotel, keep up the fantastic value and service...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Valued Customer,

We would like to thank you for such an amazing review and we are all delighted to hear you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel.

It was our pleasure to accomodate you and your group and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more nights in the future.

For all our latest amazing offers such as our 'Hen Party Package', please call us on 091-538900

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great central location, easy walking distance to the main streets. The room was spacious, and the modern decor made this hotel stand out from the crowd of traditional Irish Inns. The staff was exceedingly friendly, and the breakfast was great! We opted for an early night after a full day of hiking Connemara, but wish we would have tried the bar downstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear you appreciated all the services The House Hotel has to offer.

I am delighted to hear our staff were polite and helpful as we aim for exceptional service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to sample our delicious cocktails from our House Cocktail Bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I went to the House Hotel for dinner with a big party (around 30 people). They had a 3 Course Dinner for €24.95. The food was really good. I had the homemade soup as a starter (it was a creamy leek and potato - very tasty). For my main course I had chicken with smoked bacon & thyme stuffing and a white wine and mushroom sauce. I enjoyed it a lot. I chose baked chocolate fondant with berry compote for a sweet. Again it was really good, in fact all the food was nicely prepared. The atmosphere, however, was noisy and became increasingly so as the evening went on. We didn't have any coffee, and the three courses took almost three hours to serve - rather longer than I would have liked. By the end of the meal the noise level had reached such a level that conversation with the person sitting beside me was nearly impossible. As the volume of music increased, people had to shout more and more to be heard. Our party consisted mostly of men, but the other parties there seemed to be hen parties. In fact the place looked as if it specialised in hen parties and the decor reflected this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Edmund R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Hi Aislinn,
Just a quick mail to say a big thank you.

To the House Hotel.
I want to express my gratitude to you and all your staff
It gives me great pleasure to be sending this email and also to post a comment on Trip advisor in regards to Evelyn’s Hen Night that took place at the House Hotel on Saturday the 11th of May 13.
All members of our party was provided with an excellent service at your Hotel, and I truly appreciate it. I was highly pleased with the professional manner in which your Staff greeted all the members to our party. Special THANKS to Peter or cocktail instructor who was high energized and very friendly which in turn started our Hen Night on a positive fun note.
You have definitely gained a new customer and with confidence will be recommending your Hotel to others.
The Hen Night Package that we received was excellent value. The Hen Night was a great success thanks to all The House Hotel Staff.

Stayed May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venice1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Hi Vanessa,

Thank you so much for leaving such a pleasant review - we are delighted that you and your group thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay here at The House Hotel.

Hopefully you'll be back soon to enjoy another weekend without all the hassle of organising a group :-)

Kindest regards,
Margaret Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Got an amazing deal on this hotel in January and what a little gem we found. The staff are so so friendly and welcoming. We had both lunch and dinner here and they were delicious. The cocktails are fab too. It is very centrally located only about 5 minutes walk to the main street. The room was warm clean and the bed was super comfortable. The only little thing was that they were not very spacious.The decor is amazing very very cosy. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reailtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The House hotel and I do hope that you have the opportunity to return again in the near future!

We do pride ourselves on customer service so I’m thoroughly delighted that you noted this in your review.

We’re a small close team here at The House Hotel and it is our intention that all of our guests feel very welcome throughout their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,
Margaret Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Outstanding hotel, staff, food, service. Highly recommend. We were in Ireland for an anniversary trip and didn't book most of our rooms in advance. We saw this hotel in a tour book and alson on Tripadvisor. We were pleasantly surprised that the rate was $99euros including breakfast. Parking is close for a nominal charge.
ALL staff were the best!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyJay_Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave such a lovely review. We are delighted that we have recently been listed as “Top Choice” hotel in Galway in the newest edition of Lonely Planet and also feature so highly on the listings on TripAdvisor.

We hope you really enjoyed your stay in Ireland and we do hope that you may one day return to see us again her at The House Hotel.

Kindest,
Margaret Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,098 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,363 reviews
1.2 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £86 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing