We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ireland meets Sex & the City fun hotel”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Ireland meets Sex & the City fun hotel”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

On our girls trip around Ireland, we decided to stay at this hotel because of it’s prime location in Galway plus it seemed like a fun hotel. This hotel is beautiful, modern, corky yet way too much girly pink all around…haha. It was a perfect base for our two night stay to explore Galway and even venture out to the Aran Islands by ferry.

We reserved two rooms for our party of 4 – two girls per room. We got a decent price and it included a very delicious breakfast. The hotel is at the city centre and we strolled everywhere quite easily. Parking is across the street at a charge. The room was adequate and nice – super comfy beds. Staff was very pleasant, always give us tips on what to do and where to dine. If you can tolerant a very feminine hotel, I recommend this hotel as a suitable option for girls trip 

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    296
    117
    45
    17
See reviews for
116
503
38
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This place had fantastic reviews, admittedly mainly from girls on hen parties, so we chose it.

When we arrived the receptionist, smartly attired in a pink jacket and skirt, had to get up from eating her evening meal beside her desk. I needed the loo and by the time I came out my girlfriend was stood alone waiting as the receptionist had returned to her meal. Not auspicious for good service.

Now this hotel looks every inch a boutique hotel and a pink girlie one at that. It looks modern and edgy and seemed very well laid out. On first impressions our bedroom looked really goof, if quite small but....

We couldn't seem to get any hot water. Giving up but calling reception there were some noises and hot water arrived. It turns out the noises were incidental, fact was it takes 10 minutes to get hot. Several options were offered but in the end we just put up with it. Ps the plug didn't work either!

We decided on a couple of quick (expensive 9 euro) cocktails before going out for our meals. The quick bit was like the hot water - we had to ask them to phone our restaurant as the cocktails had taken over 15 minutes to come ( and no - it was not busy, almost empty nearly).

Being completely picky, the room was small. It had a stylish TV but it only had 5 of the promised channels. You have to ask for a hairdryer ( how do the hen parties cope???). Finally, the stylish light fitting by the bed actually just made it more difficult to access light switches whilst in bed!

Being unbiased again, though the service we received once more seemed unimpressive, the breakfast was absolutely lovely.

We did get a free car park ticket as apology but won't be going back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jrapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Many thanks for your kind words regarding the receptionists attire on check in. We appreciate your feedback and we have since noted and rectified the issue of staff meals in the lobby area. Apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your girlfriend upon check in if you were not made to feel our exceptional check in service.

We appreciate your lovely comments regarding the decor and layout of the hotel. The aim is 'pink luxury meets comfort & fashion' and we're delighted you enjoyed this.

Regarding your comments of the room size, we are aware that our standard rooms are smaller in size but we focus on chic style and providing all the amenities required for your stay. For future bookings, we do have deluxe rooms available that are larger in size and we also have spacious ‘super deluxe’ rooms and a Suite.

I investigated the issue that you had in relation to the water. The receptionist on duty informed me that she did advise to leave the water run for a few seconds to get the hot water. The room next door was also checked and it timed the water at being 53 seconds to heat up. The room next door would work off the exact same plumbing as your room. The housekeeping department also checked on the plug upon check out and the plug is now in working order. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

You should not have been left waiting for as long as you were to receive your cocktail. We have discussed your complaint with the bar team and we have put measures in place to ensure that guest are not waiting in future. We pride ourselves on making the finest cocktails in Galway so please be assured that your comments have been addressed.

For your future stay with us, we have hairdryers in all rooms as standard in the top drawer in the dressing table of every room for each guests convenience.

We're delighted to read that enjoyed your breakfast with us and genuinely hope you return in future.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights, midweek from 12th-15th November. It was one of the best we have stayed in. It was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpfull, especially the ladies on reception who had a great knowledge of the best restaurants and pubs to go to, making our trip to Galway very enjoyable and hasslefree.
The hotel is in the best location! close to all the best pubs, restaurants and shops.
We didn't have dinner but we had breakfast every morning which was very good, really set us up for the day.
Overall we had a really nice time in Galway and would highley recommend The House Hotel, its just fab

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are small but nice, rooms on the higher floors are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennyPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was such a delight to read your review of your recent trip with your wife at our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

What a compliment to our Hotel that you thought it was one of the best you have visited.

We as a hotel pride ourselves on appearance and cleanliness and I'm thrilled you picked up on this and will pass your great comments onto our Housekeeping department.

Our highly knowledgeable Receptionists are on hand for any assistance our guests may require and aim to make our guests stay as hassle free as you mentioned. Again, thank you for your kind words.

We wish to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My mum booked this hotel for a night before we toured Commemara and looking at the photos I wasn't sure what to expect - it looked trendy but how well it was done was hard to tell. From the minute I arrived until the time I left I had wonderful a experinece. The hotel looks great, the consistence of the colour running from the reception to the rooms is played perfectly. The pink is smart and not tacky (as I worried it might be). The rooms comfortable (free wifi too) the beds are lovely - though the room did get quite hot at one point that was more to us not working the ac than the hotel itself. The breakfast was lovely and the choice was great. Overall worth the stay, the price and the location is fantastic. Also the staff were so very helpful, sweet and very well presented.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMML18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us.

It is always such a pleasure to hear great and positive feedback from our valued customers and I'm delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from start to finish.

I will be passing your very kind words onto all the staff here and thank you again.

We hope to welcome you and yours back in the very near future.


Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I love this hotel....from the minute we walked into the lobby, you feel like you're in someone's living room....not your typical lobby.....the place is very warm, plush, and homey, very girly girly, but the fellows would love it as well......you have to see it to believe it..!!! We were there for 3 nights in October 2013....the bar is awesome, the staff are friendly and very kind...the food is fabulous, from breakfast to dinner...the rooms are small, but very comfortable, they use every bit of space....I am soo looking forward to going back to this little gem of a hotel....Can't recommend it highly enough....

GreenB7, Boston

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenB7Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us via Tripadvisor.

It is always a pleasure to hear guest comments on all areas of the hotel and thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to enjoy all that

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Mangaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I went to The House for a hen and the service, rooms and cleanliness were all very good. The breakfast was excellent, one of the best hotel breakfasts I had. On the Saturday night the hotel was packed with hens which obviously suited us but I can imagine it may have been annoying for anyone else staying there. Great location too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cathmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I'm thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel from location, service and cleanliness to the breakfast served in the mornings.

I am very glad to hear you enjoyed the your night as we are a very popular choice for Hen Parties on Friday and Saturday nights with the party atmosphere being electric in our Cocktail Bar when the DJ starts off after 10pm.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at The House Hotel for 3 nights towards the end of a month long trip through Ireland, and are so glad that we did. The staff were so caring and made us feel incredibly welcome. Nothing was too much bother - from booking a hairdresser appointment, to making terrific restaurant bookings, to general advice...We have never experienced front office staff so helpful...and we are seasoned travellers.

This is a family owned Hotel, and clearly the staff are all happy to work here.

The decor is simply scrumptious and very luxurious. Our rooms were terrific, the Rain head shower was divine and the beds very comfortable.

Special mentions MUST go to: Matt, Laura, Stephanie and Margaret who made us feel so special.

Thank you for all the wonderful memories of our stay in Galway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenHoward123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear seasoned traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments via tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear you had such a fantastic stay and you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel.

We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and I will pass your kind words onto the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 46 in Galway
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing