We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lovely staff”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location with lots of restaurants, pubs and shops within easy reach. The walk to Salthill is also really accessible. The hotel has a lovely vibe and the staff were all really lovely. I'd definitely stay here again if back in Galway.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us via Tripadvisor.

I will pass on your kind words to all the staff here and we very much look forward to your next visit to The House Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    295
    115
    45
    17
See reviews for
115
501
38
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to the house hotel. Again we got fantastic service throughout our four day stay. The girls on reception are very efficient and give excellent customer service especially cliona and martha. Our room was spacious and spotless. Had lovely meal in restaurant and cocktails. Will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Return Guest,

Thank you so much for your amazing review after your last visit with us.

We appreciate your comments and I will pass your lovely compliments to Cliona and Martha.

We value our return customers and we are delighted after your fourth stay you will be back to us again soon. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is very well decorated and got the best location in town. You can easily walk to the walking street. Parking space is a bit problem, you have to walk to the discounted parking space which is a few blocks away.
The room is quite small but well decorated also. The best experience here was the front desk on checking out. Her name was Aislinn. She was friendly fast and very professional in what she was doing. Also at that time I had trouble trying to pay a hospital bill which I couldn't connect to that hospital. She offered me a help and had to spend time making several calls which she had a thousand reasons to say no to me or stop trying on the very first unsuccessful call. It was nothing to do with her or the hotel at all. This is really beyond my expectation. Thank you Aislinn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review with us via Tripadvisor.

I'm delighted to read our Receptionist Aislinn went out of her way to help with your hospital issues and she went beyond your expectation.

We value all our customers and will try our very best to help with any queries or assistance our guests may require.

Due to our prime location in the city, we do not have parking facilities at the Hotel however we do offer the best reduced rate in Galway for our guests in Hyne's multi-storey car park which is 300 feet away from our Reception.

Please feel free to contact us in future for your next stay and we will be able to offer you a more spacious room like our Super Deluxe Rooms.

Thank you again for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for one night as part of a Hen weekend. Our deal was €120 for a cocktail class, dinner, B&B. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready but the receptionist moved some rooms around and we were in our room within 20 minutes. She was a fantastic ambassador of the hotel, friendly, professional and really helpful. I didn't get her name but she had long dark hair and glasses!

The room itself was a little of the small side but very well decorated. However some small maintenance issues let the room down, there were stains on the bedroom carpet and the paint on the ceiling above the shower was peeling away over a large area. I wouldn't put up with this at home so I certainly don't want to look at it when I'm away!

The cocktail class was good fun, again the staff were excellent; friendly and good craic. The food was lovely although I did find the menu very limited. The location is ideal as you're right in the heart of Galway so you can walk everywhere.

Room Tip: A friend stayed in a deluxe room and it was worth the upgrade for the extra space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Hen Party Guest,

We are thrilled you and your party thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay with us and thank you for leaving your comments via Tripadvisor.

We pride ourselves on our second to none customer service and I'm delighted to read you picked up on this during your visit.

All the staff here look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What fantastic service we received at the House Hotel! A large hen party, nothing was too big or small for the fantastic staff. Our Cocktail class and Dinner was to die for and the value for money is great. Rooms are immaculate and the breakfast was lovely. Sheets were perfectly fresh and the atmosphere was electric. I would definitely reccommend the House Hotel for any groups going out on Galway - the location is ideal!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor.

I will pass your very kind words onto my staff who work exceptionally hard to cater to all our customers needs.

I'm thrilled you enjoyed your cocktail class and evening meal with us and all the staff here look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Have thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the House Hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and the food was delicious. The atmosphere was brilliant and the staff were so friendly. Have been back several times for girls nights and wine and cheese tasting and the service just keeps getting better. Found the menu to be extensive with a lot to offer and the new cocktail menu was a lot of fun. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
A Chara,

Go raibh míle maith agat as ucht na focla deas a d'fhág tú ar Tripadvisor.

I'm delighted to read you have been back to The House Hotel several times and thank you for saying it keeps getting better and better. What a pleasure to read our guests enjoy our Hotel more every time they return.

We work endlessly at trying to improve upon all aspects of the House Hotel and i'm delighted you picked up on the hard work during your continuous visits to us.

As always, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future for more new cocktails, Wine & Cheese Tasting Events and Girls nights out!

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The House Hotel came highly recommended and on first appearances we could see why. The decor was fresh and very cool and we loved some of the arty touches in the reception, dining room and bedroom. We went for Suite 301 which were told was the best in the 'House'. It was very comfortable and well finished however there was some noise from the street at night and perhaps not as big as expected.

So while the 'hardware' was great, the 'software' had room for improvement. We were given the impression that many of the staff were brand new, certainly in the bar/restaurant. They didnt seem particularly familiar with the menu and the barman certainly didnt know his Champagne. Notwithstanding the fact that they had a sizeable 'MUMM' promotional display on full view, we were unable to get a cold bottle on any of the 3 nights we stayed. False advertising at its finest unfortunately.

Other minor gripes included:
The mini bar wasnt restocked, we had to request this
The barman had to personally come up to our room to open a bottle of wine as there is only one corkscrew in the hotel apparently
We were unable to get any lunch, or even bar snacks at 11.30am. Just 'scones from that morning' available.
Some of the staff didnt react too well to some of our requests and came across slightly unprofessional at times
Our room service tray sat outside our door for over 7 hours one day, which was an eyesore.

Summing up, we felt that this 'Hotel' was more akin to a big trendy B&B and was not able to meet a number of our relatively simple requests.
Disappointed overall and didnt quite meet our definition of 'boutique'.
Certainly no Westin, but factoring in the price it was very good value.
3.5 out of 5

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,920 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,701 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 46 in Galway
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing