We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - even better staff”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - even better staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Once again, I had the pleasure to stay in the House Hotel for Galway Race Week.

This was my fifth consecutive year at the hotel during Race Week and I'm already looking forward to next year's visit.

The House Hotel is very well located, just by the Spanish Arch and maybe 50 yards from the bottom of Quay Street. Yet despite this central location, the hotel offers a very calming and relaxed environment - even during Race Week, which is some achievement! Certainly, the hotel's decor is a welcome change to the other city centre hotels in Galway - most of which I have stayed in.

The public areas of the hotel are very vibrantly decorated yet equally comfortable. The hotel's bar and restaurant is very good and the cooked-to-order breakfast excellent, with a wide offering. Equally, the bedrooms are very comfortable with bright and well-designed bathrooms. I slept soundly on all five nights of my stay.

However, what really sets the hotel apart is the staff. I cannot praise Margaret and her team enough, ensuring that my stay was, once again, memorable. The staff are welcoming and professional - nothing seems too much trouble. All of my contact with the staff, from check in to check out, was perfect. The welcome is better than any other hotel I have stayed in.

All told, I cannot recommend this gem of a hotel enough. I've stayed in many of Galway's hotels, both during Race Week and during other visits, and the House Hotel is without doubt my hotel of choice in what is a tremendous city.

Room Tip: Room 301 (the suite) is great for those wanting some extra space. It is very, very comfortable, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Last-minute-winner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dearest Return Guest,

Thank you firstly for returning to us and being such a valued customer. It is such a compliment to us when we see valued guests returning year after year.

We're thrilled you enjoy your stays with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back next race week again.

Kindest regards and many thanks,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    292
    112
    45
    17
See reviews for
114
492
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Love this hotel - great cocktails, great food and fantastic service. It's located right in the heart of Galway city, with shops, bars, sightseeing and great restaurants on your door step. The decor is modern and fashionable so it would be great for a girls trip away or even a couples break. Cant wait to book another weekend away here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your recent stay with us.

It is such a pleasure to read you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to us in the future.

Kindest regards,

Margaret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Perfect in every way....great food, decor gorgeous, lovely staff, so central.. and great value for money. Well done House hotel Galway...very hard to find a good alrounder. Will definately be back and spreading the news about your great offers.

Room Tip: Make sure windows are closed during the night. There are double windows that keep out the noise if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, General Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your amazing comments after your recent visit with us through Tripadvisor.

We appreciate great feedback and look forward to welcoming you and yours back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Maragret Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Love, love, loved this hotel. Beautifully decorated, staff was very professional and helpful, and loved the location as well as the restaurant/bar area. traveling from the United States we loved the air conditioning and the walk in shower for my mom who is 82 years young. the shower is most important allowing my mom privacy in her own room within having to climb into a tub to shower. All newly decorated and enjoyed the breakfast package with the room before we headed out for site seeing each day. Front desk was very helpful with our travel road maps and recommendations about the roads. Will definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a walk in shower if you have a need for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, Front Office Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Teresa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to feed back your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us.

It was such a pleasure to accommodate you and your family members during your recent visit. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is such a delight to read your comments regarding our staff members, what a wonderful accolade. Our guests are very special to us and we want them to have a warm, welcoming and wonderful stay.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Martha Normantowicz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I had been very excited to stay in this hotel as I had heard fantastic things.
Firstly I loved the decor and furnishings- quite girly and quirky.
The hotel reception itself is smaller than I imagined but not an issue, just something I noticed. The bedroom was lovely and it was clean as you would expect. The bathroom light kept flickering however on and off however it obviously didn't bother us that much that we felt the need to complain about it.
The food was fantastic. Breakfast was probably the best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel. Lots of options too. We had dinner one of the nights too and it was very nice , I'd definitely eat here again.

However the price is quite high to stay here.. Although prices in Galway are expensive especially in the summer and it is in a prime location. Having to pay for parking while paying such high hotel prices was a let down.
All in all though I really enjoyed the House Hotel and it's fantastic location!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, Front Office Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Katie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments via tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the lovely decor in our Lobby area and we too love pink here at The House. Even our Receptionists uniform is a funky pink!

Thank you for your positive feedback re cleanliness of your bedroom and also for mentioning the problem with flickering light in the bathroom. We have checked lights in all bathrooms immediately & resolved an issue.

I will pass on your compliments also to our chef’s who enjoy hearing all comments from our valued guest.

As a centrally located Hotel unfortunately we do not have our own car park. ‘Hynes Yard’ Multi-storey Car Park which we have an arrangement with is located only 100 yards away from our Hotel and it offer reduced rate of €7.00 for 24h to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Martha Normantowicz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Little jewel at the heart of Galway city. Stayed there on the first night of my honeymoon. Served food late and had a wonderful cocktail bar. Room was spacious and modern, food was tasty and portions were generous. No on site parking but facilities were close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, Front Office Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Damien,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the House Hotel and our Cocktail Bar & Bistro. It is always such a pleasure to hear great and positive feedback from our valued customers and I'm delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from start to finish of your honeymoon.

We look forward to having you and yours visit our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Martha Normantowicz,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I have just spent two nights at the House Hotel in Galway, Ireland (14th and 15th August 2014.)
Not the cheapest place to stay in Galway but very good value for money and right in the thick of things downtown and just around the corner from the "Latin Quarter."
It is about 2 minutes walk to this place which is where all the bars and restaurants are. They have a pink and mauve themed reception area which as a bloke I found a little overpowering at first but the ladies will certainly like it.The rooms are quite unique in that the decor is pretty non standard and very individual. I found our room very light and airy. The bed, duvet and pillows were probably the best I have slept in and on in over 40 years of staying in good hotels. On our first morning I was awoken with very loud traffic noise from trucks making there way probably to the docks for the early morning crossing to the Aran Islands. However this was due to me leaving the double glazed windows open! I hadn't noticed there was an air conditioner in the room (which actually worked properly!). I slept like a log the next night.
I have to mention that the staff who are predominantly female were excellent in their attention to detail, particularly when serving breakfast. They were all very polite and full of advice about things to do locally. They all appeared to be very happy and enjoying working at the hotel.
We didn't dine there in the evening but had breakfast on both days. There is a self service buffet but not for hot food. They do however unusually serve fresh salmon. I can't recall seeing this as a breakfast option in any other hotel. This is usually because it is quite expensive. A nice touch.
However the full Irish breakfast was superb. Non of it was pre cooked, packaged stuff which most hotels seem to serve these days. I suspect that most of it is locally sourced and it tasted wonderful. The sausages were superb along with the white and black pudding. I didn't eat the puddings this morning as I was full up. They will do your eggs to order as well. Fried, scrambled or whatever.
All in all a very pleasant, different hotel experience which as a seasoned hotel veteran I thoroughly enjoyed. I would recommend the House Hotel to anyone staying in Galway. We shall certainly stay there again when visiting.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually furnished and none are the same. Ours was superbly furnished and decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisAddey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, Front Office Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Dennis,

First and foremost thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay here at The House Hotel. We really do appreciate your lovely comments in relation to our décor.

I'm delighted to read that your room met with your expectations and you enjoyed the comfort of our new bedding . We aim to have a home away from home experience for our valued guests and I'm happy you picked up on this during your stay.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your Breakfast on both mornings. Our Head Chef and his team are using locally sourced ingredients to ensure that each dish is full of mouth watering flavours that guests will leave wanting to come back over and over again not only for Breakfast but also on our lunch & evening menu.

Thank you for recommending our Hotel and we wish to welcome you back to stay with us in future.

Kindest regards,
Martha Normantowicz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing