We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay-Will definitely be back”
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Recently stayed in The House hotel for two nights and we had the best time. The hotel itself is perfectly located, right in the centre of town close to all pubs and restaurants. The staff were all so friendly and pleasant and very helpful. The rooms while a bit small are lovely with very modern and bright decor and the shower is amazing!! the only complaint we would have is that checking out on our last day took a while but the receptionist did apologise, which made up for it. The breakfast was delicious with a lovely selection of fresh pastries and I would have loved to have tried dinner there..judging by the standard of the rest of the hotel Im guessing we missed out. Next time I'm back in Galway I'll definitely be back to the House, they had the best room rates and now I know they are the best so theres no reason to try anywhere else!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip2012xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in The House Hotel and hope to see you again soon. We hope that you get an opportunity to try our restaurant the next time you stay. We advise that you book well in advance particularly at weekends as our restaurant is very popular.

Best Regards,

Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

Booked into the house hotel for a night and what a great hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and professional. The hotel bar has a lovely atmosphere and so has the restaurant. There is a good menu in the restaurant and very reasonable. Had a fantastic stay and would like to send a special thanks to Lisa at reception. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2010

Dear Guest,

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in the House Hotel and in our bar & restaurant. We're currently working on new additions to further improve the bar so hopefully you'll be back again soon to see them for yourself.

Many Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Stayed for one night, enjoyed the centrally located hotel, parking deck close by with reduced rates for hotel guests.
The rooms are quite small, really great but still functionally designed, very nice bathrooms, very friendly and helpful staff, nice bar and good bar food and snacks.
Would always again come back for a city vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moguntia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, Front Office Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comment.

We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us, The hotel is very centrally located just off Quay street, so close enough to all the action without all the noise level. We pride oursleves on our great customer service so are happy you were able to experience that first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The House Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

If you book a room online & avail of a hotels advertised lower offer ( by paying upfront 7 days in advance ) `, does this automatically mean that the hotel has the right to treat you as a second class citizen ??
We were checked in by an unhelpful & unfriendly receptionist & the room that we were allocated was dirty beyond belief .
This hotel certainly comes nowhere near 4 star status in my opinion .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry and surprised to hear that you had a negative experience during your stay with us. Our advanced purchase option is a very popular offer and booking this option would in no way mean that our guest would be treated any differently. We have a very efficient team in our housekeeping department and all rooms are double checked by the housekeeping manager to ensure high standards are maintained. We invest a lot of time emphisising the importance of good quality customer service and attention to detail regarding the cleaning of rooms. You will see from the other reviews on this site we normally receive very positive reviews, particularly regarding customer service. We have tried to look into your booking to see if we can get any additional information about your stay with us but we would need additional details in order to investigate this further.
We would like her opportunity to speak to you regarding this booking if you are interested in contacting us +353 91 538900 or info@thehousehotel.ie
Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Due to a change in plans, we ended up heading to Galway without hotel reservations. The terrific staff at the Dublin Office of Tourism recommended House Hotel. From start to finish, we had a wonderful experience. We were too late for breakfast one day - yet they arranged a continental breakfast (no charge) even tho' they had begun setting up for the lunch crowd. Great advice on things to do around Galway. We had an issue with the wireless - and got immediate help from guest services. There are lovely seating areas about the "lobby" which really looks more like a large living room. We decided to take our own driving tour of the Connemara - the staff made suggestions and as we left some time later, they said "enjoy your picnic!" They pay attention to their guests - it's not the typical perfunctory hotel service. We had a wonderful time in Galway - and plan to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdh51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We spent two nights at the House Hotel and were very impressed. The room was very modern, clean and well laid out. The restaurant and bar area were great to relax in and breakfast choice was very good!

The only niggle was finding the carpark that the hotel offer a discount in - we parked in the nearest one we could find and popped in to ask the receptionist who was very helpful & explained where to go.

A great boutique hotel - we will definitely use it again when we return to Galway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wangarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This is a very nice hotel in the centre of Galway. Directions to hotel not great and traffic a bit of a nightmare with parking off-site but once there the staff are very helpful, the bedroom was spacious and well-decorated, bathroom immaculately clean and all the public rooms were really pleasant places to sit. Didn't eat in restaurant except for breakfast which was really good and served individually so no congealed scrambled egg from a buffet. All in all really nice and good value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormanLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,863 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#16 of 46 in Galway
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#18 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £95 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing