We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abacus Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abacus Guest House
Ranked #46 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Fine breakfast, attentive hosts, excellent location (easy to find on main road into town, short bus ride to town center is convenient and frequent). Breege and Noel are simply fine people. It would be a relaxing pleasure to stay with them again!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zantepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    29
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
66
30
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

This place had more of a hotel feel than a B&B. It was very comfortable and we don't have any real complaints about our stay, it was just a different vibe from the other B&Bs we stayed in. I don't recommend asking the hosts for directions - while they seemed knowledgeable, they steered us wrong on two occasions.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyKing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Breege and her family were wonderful hosts! Our rooms were very comfotable and spacious and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

This is a great Bed and Breakfast in galway. Everything has been updated and is clean and new. The owner is very welcoming and makes you feel at home. The location is perfect, there is a bus within a 1 minute walk that connects you to the city Center in under 5 minutes. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is huge. You can actually move around in the shower and the water pressure is the best ive seen in Europe so far. The breakfast in the morning is delicioius and fills you up for a good day of travel. You would be missing out if you dont. Oh and free car parking and FREE Wifi definitely a nice perk.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweeney3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

This bed and breakfast was very clean and the hostess was extremely helpful with local touring tips. The neighborhood was very quiet but not far from the main road. My husband and I stayed for an evening while passing through town and were greatful for the quiet and clean room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelidacortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

It was a real pleasure to stay one week in this B&B.
Quiet, clean, everything you need, great braekfast and very nice people.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gueroult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Abacus House B&B in May 2011 for just the one night. We had a very spacious and confortable room, immaculately clean with all the necessary requirements. The cooked breakfast was very good and the hosts very welcoming and informative. A couple of big hotels with restaurants are close by which offer bvery good dining as well as some other stand alone restaurants. Free off street parking is provided as well as free wifi. About a 10 minute drive into central Galway. Can't go wrong with this B&B.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#31 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anach Cuin Bed & Breakfast
Anach Cuin Bed & Breakfast
#70 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview House B&B
Bayview House B&B
#61 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 11 in Oranmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacus Guest House

Property: Abacus Guest House
Address: Abacus 29 Dublin Road Glenina Heights | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abacus Guest Accommodation is superbly located on the approach road from Dublin, Cork and Shannon. Traveling from the north or north west we are just off the main Sligo to Galway road (N17). Ideally situated for business or pleasure, we are five minutes from Galway city on a well serviced bus and taxi route. Abacus Guest House provides a warm welcome, as it is family operated. Abacus has a Guest Lounge with internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abacus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing