We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abacus Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abacus Guest House
Ranked #46 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at abacus for a few nights while visiting Galway. The rooms were affordable, clean, and really cozy. The owner is a very kind woman who can easily whip up a formidable irish breakfast and answer any questions you have about local attractions. She was very helpful and hospitable. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    29
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
66
30
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Breege and Noel are simply fine people! They run a first class B&B. Nice large rooms, fine breakfast, and easy bus access to the city center. But the big point about this place is in the first sentence. These are the kind of people you want to know; excellent character, fine family, and that is what life is really about. We will stay with them again and again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zantepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were having trouble finding a place because of a big event in the area. One B & B owner suggested the Abacus House. Very good choice. Excellent meals, rooms, and we felt very comfortable. A must if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The room was huge and well equipped with mini-fridge, TV, Free Wi-Fi and wonderful shower. Everything was perfectly clean. The owner was very friendly and informative. The house is located in a quite neighborhood less than 5 min. drive from Galway city center. Breakfast was nice. The price is a bit high but you get good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiDa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Bridge's comfy rooms, lovely breakfast and gracious Irish hospitality was overshadowed by the BEST SHOWER EVER at her B&B. for all of these reason I wish we stayed more than one night. She prepared a thoughtful made to order breakfast for each of the 5 of us. Her breakfast room bright, cheery and comfy. She was so pleasant, and a natural host, not in a pushy or fake.sort of way. The room was so comfortable and well decorated, spacious room for our family of. 5, with 3 beds and plenty of storage we felt so relaxed and at home.

We arrived in galway at 4 pm and drove around city Ctr looking for lodging and had no luck, Kind owners of another B&b, Carmel from teach na Coiribe, called ahead to Bridge and secured us the last available room at abacus, we were so lucky!!!! Was a bit skeptical about being so far away from the " action" of downtown,but it was not a problem at all.
Must comment again on the shower, not just best in Ireland, but best EVER!!!!! And I have been in many showers..... Such great water pressure and easy to customize, it was glorious!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumofmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very friendly and helpful lovely clean room great shower great breakfast central for day tripping around that area. Would defiantly stay there again and spend more time around that area to have a better look at the west coast of Ireland. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I arrived in Galway on a Saturday evening, and the night of the Champions League final, and needless to say it was very difficult to find a room. After checking a couple places and hotels, I happened upon Abacus Guest House, and was I ever glad that I did! I would definitely recommend this place to any traveller:

* Great hospitality: the family who runs the house has years of B&B and hotel experience, which definitely shows. The rooms and house overall have the professional touches of a hotel, but with the charm and hospitality of a relatively small guest house. Simple things like an information packet in the room showing where points of interest, or live music spots in Galway made the stay more enjoyable. When I was leaving, I asked to make (and pay) for a long distance call to Dublin - the owner refused to take payment from me! They really care about the people who stay there, and want to make sure you feel at home.

* Competitive Rate: most rooms were sold out in Galway, and hotels were charging an arm and a leg (not to mention that they were all sold out). The owners at Abacus had one room left when I came in, but they charged me the normal rate, and not something artificially inflated. I was travelling alone, and they accommodated the price accordingly. I was very impressed.

* Good location: the location isn't right in the heart of Galway, which was perfectly fine. It's outside of the busy center, which allowed me a good night's rest. At the same time, it's close enough for a quick drive in to the center.

* CLEAN! This is my number one priority, and I must say that I was impressed. The bed and linens were fresh and crisp, the washroom was spotless, and the room in general was well kept.

* Good size of room: I was travelling alone, and was put into a double room, which had a comfortable bed and plenty of space. There was an area between the washroom and bedroom that had a closet (if you're staying for longer), and enough room for all of your belongings. This would definitely be a comfortable size if you're travelling in a pair.

* Tasty breakfast: breakfast was served hot and fresh in the morning. A good selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, and the Full Irish was perfect. I was encouraged to eat more, and was repeatedly offered more toast, juice, and food, which was nice to see.

* Room for improvement: the TV was rather small, but who really cares? I watched the Champions League final on it, and it was great, so no complaints there. The shower head could be a little higher pressure, but I think that's just us North Americans that have gotten used to that; the shower head at Abacus was better than most B&B I stayed at during my two weeks in Ireland.

Overall, a great stay. I would recommend this place because it is clean, great hospitality, and a good location to Galway. Don't hesitate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_t0r0nt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#31 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anach Cuin Bed & Breakfast
Anach Cuin Bed & Breakfast
#70 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview House B&B
Bayview House B&B
#61 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 11 in Oranmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacus Guest House

Property: Abacus Guest House
Address: Abacus 29 Dublin Road Glenina Heights | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abacus Guest Accommodation is superbly located on the approach road from Dublin, Cork and Shannon. Traveling from the north or north west we are just off the main Sligo to Galway road (N17). Ideally situated for business or pleasure, we are five minutes from Galway city on a well serviced bus and taxi route. Abacus Guest House provides a warm welcome, as it is family operated. Abacus has a Guest Lounge with internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abacus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing