We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly enchanting experience”
Review of Abacus Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abacus Guest House
Ranked #43 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Rusman82
1 review
“A truly enchanting experience”
Reviewed 14 March 2010

You will not find a more hospitable, accommodating B&B in all of Ireland. Breege and Louise are positively wonderful people and will bend over backwards to make you feel at home, and they're also both a pleasure to talk to - I found myself just wanting to stay in and talk with them all day instead of going out driving to see the tourist attractions. The rooms are well-laid out, spacious, and charming. Breakfast is quite delicious - you can get your traditional "Irish full," or something lighter if you like. The location is good, a short cab trip from the center of Galway; it's also easily walkable if the weather is nice. Really, I cannot envisage a nicer experience, this place is the epitome of Irish hospitality and I will not soon forget it. If every place we stayed were even half as good as Abacus then every vacation would be truly wonderful. Thank you both, and hopefully one day we will have the pleasure of being your guests again.

-Russ

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    29
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
66
30
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed for four nights over Christmas time. Our rooms were spacious and attractive as was the guest lounge, the breakfasts were delicious and the location was very convenient. But the thing that stood out most is how incredibly friendly and accommodating they were. They even invited us to join them for Christmas dinner. We did so and had such a wonderful time- it's one of the highlights of our trip. We would highly recommend staying at the Abacus Guest House.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthNBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Everything was perfect lovely Irish breakfast and beautifull rooms and services.thanks a lot

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I stayed at the Abacus Guesthouse a few days in October/November. This location is very good as a starting point for excursions (city Galway and surrounding area). The bus stop is just a stone’s throw away and it takes only a few minutes to get into the city.
All of the family members where very friendly and helpful. I just felt me at home!
My room was very clean, comfortable, bright and quiet. Free and fast WiFi internet access was available. Breakfast was great, especially the typical Irish breakfast on my last day > thank you Breege ;-)
I’m sure I will definitely come back to Ireland/Galway and stay again in the Abacus Guesthouse.
Thanks again, especially Breege and Louise….

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genesisCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin,Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2009

The Abacus Guest House is a wonderful place to stay in Galway. Just a short bus ride from the City Center, this quaint and quiet B&B is a great home base. Our room was clean and comfortable. The owners were very accommodating, served a nice breakfast each morning and made great recommendations. For a real taste of Irish hospitality, stay at the Abacus Guest House. We hope to be back sooner than later.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adkseagul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed at Abacus Guest House for 3 nights in September and can’t say enough about the hospitality and service that Louise, Breege & Noel provided. We chose this B&B as we didn’t want to drive into congested Galway and deal with parking.
What really differentiated this B&B from all the others was the kind service provided in helping me repair a cracked wing mirror damaged on the Skye Rd in Clifden (a whole seperate story!). Noel drove me to a local glass repair shop he dealt with, used his influence to rush it and picked it up later that day while we were enjoying Galway. They were also helpful in printing out airline tickets, providing directions and booking our next B&B. Our room was spacious, clean and bright and breakfast was great and delivered quick. We would definitely stay here on our next trip to Galway and strongly recommend it to others traveling to Galway.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Thank you to Breege, Noel and their fantastic daughter Louise for making our stay in Galway a warm, comfortable experience. They really epitomize what a bed and breakfast is supposed to be.

Our room was comfortable, the shower the best of our three-week trip, and the breakfasts offered more than you could possibly eat (fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, bread as well as hot entrees.)

Louise helped us with arrangements for the Aran Islands and gave us a recommendation for a fantastic restaurant down the road, The Huntsman - a relaxed, upscale restaurant where we had one of our best meals in ireland!

Thank you O'Shaughnessy family!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 122793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#26 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anach Cuin Bed & Breakfast
Anach Cuin Bed & Breakfast
#67 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview House B&B
Bayview House B&B
#61 of 186 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacus Guest House

Property: Abacus Guest House
Address: Abacus 29 Dublin Road Glenina Heights | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abacus Guest Accommodation is superbly located on the approach road from Dublin, Cork and Shannon. Traveling from the north or north west we are just off the main Sligo to Galway road (N17). Ideally situated for business or pleasure, we are five minutes from Galway city on a well serviced bus and taxi route. Abacus Guest House provides a warm welcome, as it is family operated. Abacus has a Guest Lounge with internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abacus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing