We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of location, service and ambience was head and shoulders above rest.”
Review of Abacus Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abacus Guest House
Ranked #43 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
metro Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality of location, service and ambience was head and shoulders above rest.”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I was traveling with a friend to several cities of which Galway was one. The managers were responsive, engaging and very friendly. The amount of sunlight coming into the room was great; and our room was very clean. A full breakfast is included in the rate--because of my special diet (non-gluten, no red meat), I requested special accommodations. The managers were very accommodating and seemed to take special pleasure in ensuring that our stay was pleasant. Also, the neighborhood was safe enough for me to walk home from the downtown area at night. Ayaana T.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrot09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    29
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
66
30
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Enjoyed the place, comfortable, food good. One minor problem - had to park car on street (half on sidewalk, half on street) due to limited parking. Location is a mile or 2 from city center

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erno219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zafra
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I stayed at the Abacus Guesthouse for 2 weeks in May 2010.My friend Carmen and I enjoyed the room, very comfortable and clean...and I specially enjoyed the conversation with the family, all of them are very friendly and helpful. Thanks for all, Gleens and Louise, I promise to visit you when I come back to Galway!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilviaZafra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed at the Abacus Guesthouse for a few days in April. The guesthouse is in an ideal location to the Bon Secours Hospital, where my husband was having an operation. Noel and Breege were extremely welcoming and friendly, making my stay very enjoyable. We are hoping to stay there again soon when we spend a few days touring Galway. The guesthouse is in an ideal location for anyone who wants to enjoy the delights of Galway city or spend some time touring the surrounding countryside. We have recommended the guesthouse to many of our friends and we would highly recommend it to any visitors to Galway because of the high quality, friendly warm service.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tullagh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maltkemp
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Very friendly service. I stayed together with my parents from Germany for a weekend. The breakfast was very good, nice full irish breakfast and very friendly service. The plac eis close to the city; however, the area is quite and nice. We really liked that we could take the bus to the city or just walk. Furthermore, we took a tour to Cliffs of Moher. The bus picked us up directly at the Abacus B&B, awesome!!!

My parents and me, we would recommend the B&B to everyone.

Enjoy........

Greetings

Malte Kempen

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

The Abacus is a nice, basic guest house in Galway. The rooms are clean, lots of hot water, good Wi Fi, and a comfortable bed. It's about a 20-30 minute walk to downtown, or 5 to 10 minutes by bus. We were given a map, directions, and suggestions when we arrived. There is a small parking area in front, but it is tight and doesn't hold too many cars, however we had no problem. Our stay did not include breakfast, which was 5 Euro more per person.
What would have made our stay even better would be if the heat were on longer in both the morning and evening.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas-Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacus-Management, Owner at Abacus Guest House, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay .

Your comments re: ample hot water, good wifi, comfortable bed and standard of cleanliness are much appreciated.

Regarding to the heat level in your room, all rooms are thermostatically controlled. Many of our guests make constant requests to lower the heat level, therefore, it is kept at a level acceptable to the majority of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusman82
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2010

You will not find a more hospitable, accommodating B&B in all of Ireland. Breege and Louise are positively wonderful people and will bend over backwards to make you feel at home, and they're also both a pleasure to talk to - I found myself just wanting to stay in and talk with them all day instead of going out driving to see the tourist attractions. The rooms are well-laid out, spacious, and charming. Breakfast is quite delicious - you can get your traditional "Irish full," or something lighter if you like. The location is good, a short cab trip from the center of Galway; it's also easily walkable if the weather is nice. Really, I cannot envisage a nicer experience, this place is the epitome of Irish hospitality and I will not soon forget it. If every place we stayed were even half as good as Abacus then every vacation would be truly wonderful. Thank you both, and hopefully one day we will have the pleasure of being your guests again.

-Russ

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#28 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anach Cuin Bed & Breakfast
Anach Cuin Bed & Breakfast
#89 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview House B&B
Bayview House B&B
#58 of 186 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#12 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacus Guest House

Property: Abacus Guest House
Address: Abacus 29 Dublin Road Glenina Heights | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abacus Guest Accommodation is superbly located on the approach road from Dublin, Cork and Shannon. Traveling from the north or north west we are just off the main Sligo to Galway road (N17). Ideally situated for business or pleasure, we are five minutes from Galway city on a well serviced bus and taxi route. Abacus Guest House provides a warm welcome, as it is family operated. Abacus has a Guest Lounge with internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abacus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing