We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B run by lovely family”
Review of Abacus Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abacus Guest House
Ranked #30 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We visited Galway with another couple in Sept 2010. The B&B is a real family affair and we had the great pleasure of getting to know all its members. Our room was spotless and when we lodged a minor complaint (a squeaky door knob!) it was attended to immediately. We were served a delicious breakfast by the mother and daughter who were both very charming and warm. The entire family was extremely helpful with excursion, restaurant suggestions.

The B&B is about a 20-25 minute walk from Galway center. There is also a bus for those who might prefer not to take the flat, pleasant walk. While this might be seen by some as a minor inconvenience, we realized it was a plus as the city is quite crowded and noisy during the evenings, especially during the weekend.

We felt the B&B offered good value and would definitely consider returning. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostontraveler025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

If you want to stay on a housing estate a 30 minute walk from Galway centre then this is the place for you. The room was extremely plain, sparse even, and the beds had blankets rather than duvets, which I personally do not like. The breakfast was really nothing special and when our room was serviced, it was not done properly and we had to ask for it to be checked again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LizWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abacus-Management, Owner at Abacus Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2010

Dear LizWestMindlands,

Thank you for your comments. All of our bedrooms are en-suite with complimentary toiletries; we offer free Wi-Fi, TV & radio, refrigerator, safe, D.D telephone, Guest information book, luggage rack and hospitality tray. Extra pillows and blankets, trouser press and Ironing facilities are available on each floor. To describe the room as ‘sparse’ is misleading.

We maintain a daily room-service record / checklist, a re-check has never been requested as stated. As a family run business 100% commitment is given to this aspect at all times.
Blankets and white cotton sheets are used as you correctly stated. We believe this offers the best hygiene level available. Preferences differ and we respect your opinion.

Our premises are a 25 minute walk or a 5 minute bus / taxi journey to the city centre, five buses service this route.
Our estate as you describe it consists of 27 individually designed houses. Ample off-street parking and on-street parking is available. In general, this is preferred to a noisy inner city location.

Finally, if you wish to contact us directly, we would value your opinion on what you consider your room lacked. We would appreciate any breakfast suggestions you may have other than our multi-choice menu with a selection of juices, yoghurts, fruit and a choice of seven cereals.

Kind regards,
The O’ Shaughnessy Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed here back in October 2008 with my partner. Room was more like what you'd expect in a hotel. Spotless, excellent facilities. Family were really friendly and ensured you were having a great stay. Breakfast was fantastic- full Irish cooked but also plenty of other options if you didn't fancy it. Great location also- very close to the city centre. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hernethehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

My friend and I decided at the spur of the moment to add Galway to our driving tour of Ireland. Since we were traveling during peak season, all of the hotels were full. We stopped at one B & B, which was also full. However, the proprietor telephoned Breege at the Abacus Guest House to check if rooms were available. We were in luck! She had two single rooms. Breege even drove over to so we could follow her back to Abacus! Upon arriving, Breege showed us the rooms and we were amazed. The rooms were spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. My room had a comfortable twin bed, mini-fridge, instant coffee/tea service, and a hairdryer. All that plus free wi-fi! The water pressure in the shower was great. Light-blocking drapery ensured that street lights didn’t interfere with a great night’s sleep. Breakfast the next morning was served in the sunny dining room and included made to order eggs, sausage and ham as well as fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal, toast and juice. I look forward to returning to Ireland in a few years and hope to stay again with the O’Shaughnessy family at Abacus Guest House.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalemVA_Snorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This guest house is an absolutely overwhelming place! We travelled around Ireland and this was by far the best accommodation in the whole country!
The whole familiy is very charming. We felt very welcome in their home. The O’Shaughnessy's helped us to solve all our problems and we could even book our trips there!
The rooms are beautifully, the beds are amazingly comfortable, free Wi-Fi is available, the showers are fabulous and last but not least the food is absolutely delicious.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would definitely recommend Abacus to everyone. We felt we had to sign up on tripadvisor to share this information!
Thanks Roland

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rule_bule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The Abacus was as good as any hotel we have stayed in, the room was spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated and the freshly cooked breakfast was delicious. What made the stay more special than a hotel was the warmth and welcome from Breege. We got excellent advice on Galway; what to see, where to eat, buses to town and so on. We loved Galway and will come back for a longer visit next time. There was plenty of parking and it is very handy for the city; buses run every few minutes to the main square and stop two minutes away, so no need to drive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Abacus is a wonderful place to stay == the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the shower is absolutely amazing (fantastic water pressure). The guest house is easily accessed -- very short car or bus ride from the town centre. The manager is super great -- she is astoundingly efficient and welcoming; it seemed as though all we needed to do was think of a question or something we needed and she was there, able to organize everything very quickly. We also had tasty breakfasts. I highly recommend Abacus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolasa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.6 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 189 in Galway
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast
Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 189 in Galway
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
#55 of 189 in Galway
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#15 of 189 in Galway
498 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 189 in Galway
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacus Guest House

Address: Abacus 29 Dublin Road Glenina Heights | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £92 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abacus Guest Accommodation is superbly located on the approach road from Dublin, Cork and Shannon. Traveling from the north or north west we are just off the main Sligo to Galway road (N17). Ideally situated for business or pleasure, we are five minutes from Galway city on a well serviced bus and taxi route. Abacus Guest House provides a warm welcome, as it is family operated. Abacus has a Guest Lounge with internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Abacus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing