We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
College Crest Guest House
Ranked #36 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite average”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This stay can be described as "nothing special" - the location is little bit out of the city centre, rooms are nice but the sound isolation is extremely poor. Staff was quite indifferent and as to breakfast - not really tasty. Actually the only time I didn't like my breakfast in Ireland. Next time will chose another place.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    64
    35
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
69
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very happy overall, stayed here for a nice on the town.. Arrived to be greated by a lovely woman who had 2 keys and the wi-fi code to hand. The room was sound and clean and had all the essentials. Its a 5min walk to eyre sq max. Its very quiet there and the breakfast the next day was great with a nice variety. We were a half an hour late to check out (12 o clock) and the same woman who checked us in made no issues about this but was grateful of our custom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shevchenko0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here one night on our Ireland trip. The B & B is just up a hill from the main part of town but a short and easy enough walk. It was clean and quiet although a newer property. I had hoped for something with a little more charm. When we came back in the evening after having dinner we thought we would relax in the main room and have a night cap however we discovered the room was "reserved" for some college students who were having a "grind" which is apparently a study session. So the 6 of us had nowhere to hang out except our rooms until they were done. This was a little annoying. On the other hand the next day we had an excellent full Irish breakfast and met the manager who was quite friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 150Travelgirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

A lovely one night stay in a very clean and well run B&B. You don't expect the earth when staying in a B&B so you expect the basics to be done well and this does just that. Friendly staff, clean rooms, quiet, good location and a decent fry in the morning. There's wifi too but we struggled with a signal in the room at the top of the stairs. Hopefully they'll sort that before too long

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancee stayed here for one night whilst in Galway to watch a rugby match. The main reason for booking this b and b was its close proximity to the match. And also having viewed other accommodation on the same road, the pictures of this place online seemed quaint and Quite appealing. The pictures don't really resemble the actual b&b. The decor is quite dated-not that there's much in the room to begin with, but the bed was very comfortable it has to be said and the location quiet especially for a Saturday night as it's quite central to the main part of town.
The room was cleanish, there was stains on the bedclothes, mould in the shower and i found a used ear plug on the bedside mat -which most certainly wasn't mine.
Breakfast was disappointing. We ordered the full Irish and it was overcooked and completely dry. You didn't even have to eat it to see that, my bacon was like cardboard.
All in all, an okay b&b but not worth 80euro. would definitely stay somewhere else on returning. On checking hotels in the area, once we knew how central this place is, we found a good few were cheaper or the same price but far superior. Although they didn't include breakfast which I can't say ours did very much either. It's okay if you're stuck with no place booked.
With a small bit of effort this place could be much nicer. With an extra cleaning regime and better breakfast products, this place would be a much better place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChockyBicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This B&B was close everything but yet far enough away to be quite. We had a large family room on the top floor. It was clean and had every thing one would need. They were helpful with any questions we had and served a full Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kscruzrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinella, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were looking for something with parking and walking distance to Galway, and this was an excellent fit. We were quite surprised at just how close it was to the city and places to eat.

Our room was on the top floor and was was quite roomy and nicely furnished. The wifi signal could not be picked up inside the room but could be got by stepping ouside the room to the landing. The bathroom was huge so it was surprising that with all that extra space there was no shelf or cupboard that your toiletries could be placed on. It was so big we actually stored one of our bags in there.

Breakfast was a full Irish Breakfast, and if you chose the lot, it was huge. Staff were exceptionally nice and accommodating. As others have mentioned, the house does seem to cater for students as well, but they did not disturb us. Overall this was great value acccommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copper Beech Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#24 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#10 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynfield B&B
Lynfield B&B
#99 of 186 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Crest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Crest Guest House

Property: College Crest Guest House
Address: College Crest 5 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — College Crest Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your College Crest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Crest Guest House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing