We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
College Crest Guest House
Ranked #39 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleased ”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We had an attic room which was very comfortable for the price . A tiny bit small in the shower area but we were only staying one night. There were a lot of immatation flowers and a nineties pink chintzy feel to the decor but it was spotless. Breakfast was very satisfying, although the meat appeared to be an aldi or lidl quality but well presented with nice touches and plenty of it. Could not really fault this place as we got a great deal through booking.com . Staff were also pleasant and free parking was very welcome considering its Galway. Would stay again .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keenandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    65
    36
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
72
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

College crest is a very nice B&B. I have to agree with the reviewer about room number 9, but as a single occupant, it was fine. Breakfast was great! A full Irish breakfast with coffee, tee and a variety of juices. I could smell it cooking all up in my room. My only complaint is that there should be a bell to ring when you're waiting at the front desk. When I arrived, I waited around 5 minutes but I could hear the owner running around in the back, so it was no issue. When I went to leave the next morning around 10 (checkout is 11:30) there was no one to be found. I waited almost 10 minutes in silence until I heard snores coming from somewhere in the room. I just left the keys on the counter and left because I wanted to start my day as I didn't have much time to sight see.

It's very close to the city centre with all of the shops. I thought it was clean with a home-y feel. The price was also reasonable compared to the hotels in the heart of the city that run up words of €200 per night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night good location a short walk from the bars and clubs,room was nice clean and had everything you needed,spacious bathroom in room 4 lovely brekkie,friendly staff,large lounge, would go again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The B&B is located about a 3 minute walk from the bus station and the 5 minutes walk from the city centre. The room was clean and looked out on a street filled with happy fans returning from a rugby match. A picture of Jacky and JF Kennedy attests to the pride of the Irish owners of the B&B with "their" American president. They should however get rid the plastic flowers in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoreneBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is located about a 3 minute walk from Eyre Square, where everything is happening. Down the street from the square is the heart of some great pubs, restaurants and shopping and will lead you to the river. There's a college next door, so if you arrive during the school year, it might get a little noisy during the week. But we found over the weekend, it was pretty quiet. The owners/manager were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was made to order and was delicious. We stayed for four nights room 9 was not great. It was so small and so much furniture in it that you could not walk side by side; you had to wait until the other person moved. The desk was so close to the bed you could not pull out the chair. The bathroom was horrible, it needed updating, no place to hang your clothes or towel, no place to put your soap when showering, no counter at all, you are forced to put your toiletries either on the floor or on the toilet and there was mold on the tile. We were able to see a couple of rooms while they were being cleaned and they were spacious and a little larger bathroom. Would we stay here again, maybe but only if we requested another room and not room 9.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at College Crest. They were super friendly and helpful about directions. It is not located in the city center, but it is maybe a five minute walk. The room has everything we needed and our stay was nice and quiet. We really enjoyed the full Irish breakfast as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdizzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This stay can be described as "nothing special" - the location is little bit out of the city centre, rooms are nice but the sound isolation is extremely poor. Staff was quite indifferent and as to breakfast - not really tasty. Actually the only time I didn't like my breakfast in Ireland. Next time will chose another place.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 185 in Galway
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#16 of 185 in Galway
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Copper Beech Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#26 of 185 in Galway
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynfield B&B
Lynfield B&B
#106 of 185 in Galway
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Crest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Crest Guest House

Property: College Crest Guest House
Address: College Crest 5 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — College Crest Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your College Crest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Crest Guest House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing