We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and welcoming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marless House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

this was one of our nicest B&B's on our 10 dray trip to Ireland. Mary surely has the gift of hospitality and made us feel so welcome in her home. She is the ultimate day trip planner complete with great maps of the beautiful city of Galway. Our room was so beautiful and clean and Mary went above and beyond to make sure you were comfortable. Her place is also in a great location with the water and Promendae only 2 blocks away. thank you Mary for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
174
401
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I would recommend staying here. The house was clean. The owners very friendly and helpful. Good location. Took the bus around the corner - 5 minutes into Galway. Good breakfasts. Mary was very anxious to please. Also parking off the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marystepn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone N.Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Marless house is a lovely welcoming B and B. The rooms are immaculate and the shower room also. They are slightly on the small side, but it is a B and B. Mary makes a beautiful breakfast. However, I found that as a young married couple, Mary seems to prefer the company of older guests. We got the impression that this was the market that she aims for. If you enjoy being in a breakfast room full of strangers, where everyone is invited to join in the conversation, then this B and B is for you. We were never invited into the living room area, which she semed to do with all the older guests. She was not there when we arrived, nor when we left. She was upstairs, but did not come down to say goodbye, which left a slight negative feeling with me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyrone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This was only a one night stay in Salthill and I have to say that Marless House was the most enjoyable of experiences. My seven year old neice was with us, and from the get go, the owners got to know her and made her feel special! The food was excellent, rooms immaculate and cozy and the whole experience was a home away from home. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Mary has a great love for what she does and it shows! We could not fault this accommodation and you could not ask for a more helpful host.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Although we have visited Ireland before, Marless House was our first stay at a B&B rather than a hotel. It was recommended by an Irish cousin and we could not have been more pleased with our stay there. Mary was such a gracious and welcoming hostess and the daily breakfasts prepared by Mary and Tom were the best meals that we had during our 12 days in Ireland. The rooms were very clean and well furnished. Mary's recommendations for Galway activities were invaluable. The website's logo is "sleep soundly, eat well and leave with a smile" and Marless House scored a perfect 10 on all three criteria.
Lisa and Terry Nealon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had an enjoyable 3 night stay in Salthill at the Marless House. Mary is a wonderful host who is friendly and helpful. It's like staying at your favorite grandmother's house!

The B&B is about a 15 minute walk into Salthill Village for the restaurants, etc. and just a few minutes from the water. The location is quiet with sufficient parking either on site or on the street. It's a short drive into Galway if you fancy.

Note: it is only a few minutes from "The Prom" where we saw Trad on the Prom -- the highlight of our week long vacation.

Now, compared to the other B&B's we stayed, this is an older house. The rooms are smaller and you can hear your neighbors more-so than the purpose built B&B's that are around. Breakfast was good, but not quite as good as some others (e.g. canned fruit, etc.) but Mary was very accommodating.

All and all, a great stay -- recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve_in_indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing