We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like a visit with your favorite big sister...only there's not need to pitch in and help!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's like a visit with your favorite big sister...only there's not need to pitch in and help!”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We would HIGHLY recommend Marless in the Salthill area. We were happy to stay out by the ocean, which is only a 2 minute walk from their home (and an easy bus ride into city of Galway, if you are looking for exciting nightlife). Mary and Tom run a homey and comfortable place. The house is beautifully decorated. Room was big, sunny and bright. Windows throughout the house were large. Bathroom was spotless,,,and we are particular! They were gracious in helping us when we needed to contact the airlines due to weather issues Hurricane Irene). Tea was always on with yummy fresh baked snacks. Breakfast was fantastic. Poached eggs with melted cheddar, the best french toast with warmed genuine maple syrup. This was one of the most memorable stops on our trip. These folks love what they do and they do it very well.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms, though cheaper, are smaller. Request an upstairs room for the little extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiromag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
188
427
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

If you are looking for a really comfortable and welcoming B & B, Marless House is this and more. From the moment we arrived (after 9.00pm on a Saturday night), Mary the owner did all she could to make us welcome and feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble for her and we really appreciated this. We had three rooms and each was exceptionally clean, with attractive bed linen and nice, soft towels. The three main things I would want from a B & B are constant hot water, a clean bedroom and a good breakfast. Marless House provided this and lots of other nice touches that set it apart from other B & B's. In fact, the breakfast was amazing. We would not hesitate to return and hope to do so soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed at Marless House for four nights in June. We had the large yellow and white room in the front of the house; and although it faces the street, noise was not a problem. The beds were very comfortable and the linens of good quality. The bathroom was not large, but adequate and very clean. The breakfasts were hearty, and there were lots of choices. Mary aims to please! I loved the the porridge! We took two single day tours with the Galway Tour Company which picked us up right in front of the house. There is great bus transportation to the center of Galway and the Salthill Promenade is just down the street. Perfect location! But the highlight of our visit was Mary herself. She was always cheerful, helpful, and humorous. We chose this B&B based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

this was one of our nicest B&B's on our 10 dray trip to Ireland. Mary surely has the gift of hospitality and made us feel so welcome in her home. She is the ultimate day trip planner complete with great maps of the beautiful city of Galway. Our room was so beautiful and clean and Mary went above and beyond to make sure you were comfortable. Her place is also in a great location with the water and Promendae only 2 blocks away. thank you Mary for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I would recommend staying here. The house was clean. The owners very friendly and helpful. Good location. Took the bus around the corner - 5 minutes into Galway. Good breakfasts. Mary was very anxious to please. Also parking off the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marystepn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone N.Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Marless house is a lovely welcoming B and B. The rooms are immaculate and the shower room also. They are slightly on the small side, but it is a B and B. Mary makes a beautiful breakfast. However, I found that as a young married couple, Mary seems to prefer the company of older guests. We got the impression that this was the market that she aims for. If you enjoy being in a breakfast room full of strangers, where everyone is invited to join in the conversation, then this B and B is for you. We were never invited into the living room area, which she semed to do with all the older guests. She was not there when we arrived, nor when we left. She was upstairs, but did not come down to say goodbye, which left a slight negative feeling with me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyrone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This was only a one night stay in Salthill and I have to say that Marless House was the most enjoyable of experiences. My seven year old neice was with us, and from the get go, the owners got to know her and made her feel special! The food was excellent, rooms immaculate and cozy and the whole experience was a home away from home. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,119 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,701 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,506 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,779 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing