We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and helpful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Mary greeted us with a lovely pot of tea in the guest lounge on our arrival which was really appreciated after our long drive. We had a good sized room with a double and a single bed, ensuite and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also off street parking at the front of the property.

Each morning we enjoyed a delicious Irish breakfast including pancakes. Mary was also very helpful with advice on day trips in the Connemara and supplied maps and directions. Mary also recommended places to see and eat in Galway, the city centre being about a 30 minute walk along the coast. Thanks Mary for helping us to make the most of our time in Galway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Red_Kangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Marless House earlier this summer, and we really enjoyed the place and its owners.

Our room was very big and light, the bathroom was spotless, and the bed comfy.
Mary is a lovely woman and a wonderful hostess. She really made our stay feel like home away from home.

Marless House was our base for touring Connemara (beautiful, beautiful area - do not skip a trip there!) and Galway - and for both the location is perfect.

In short - do check it out if you plan a trip in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerenISL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Marless guest house must be booked, when you want to have an excellent home, best breakfast, good suggestion for trips and restaurants. Mary and Tom were excellent hosts and it was very nice to stay there. Also Galway is a good place to start trips in other regions.
When we plan our next holidays in ireland, we are sure to visit marless house again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weinstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Wonderful, cute and very clean place. The ocean is near by, so we could walk along the beach and enjoy the view and clean air. Mary helped a lot with planning our tours and all her suggestions were very helpful. We've tried restaurants she suggested and loved every one of them. The tour she suggested to Connemara was a highlight of our trip. The mornings were full of crisp air and delicious breakfast. Everything was extremely tasty especially the French toast. Thanks Mary and John for your hospitality.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Larisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We would HIGHLY recommend Marless in the Salthill area. We were happy to stay out by the ocean, which is only a 2 minute walk from their home (and an easy bus ride into city of Galway, if you are looking for exciting nightlife). Mary and Tom run a homey and comfortable place. The house is beautifully decorated. Room was big, sunny and bright. Windows throughout the house were large. Bathroom was spotless,,,and we are particular! They were gracious in helping us when we needed to contact the airlines due to weather issues Hurricane Irene). Tea was always on with yummy fresh baked snacks. Breakfast was fantastic. Poached eggs with melted cheddar, the best french toast with warmed genuine maple syrup. This was one of the most memorable stops on our trip. These folks love what they do and they do it very well.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms, though cheaper, are smaller. Request an upstairs room for the little extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiromag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

If you are looking for a really comfortable and welcoming B & B, Marless House is this and more. From the moment we arrived (after 9.00pm on a Saturday night), Mary the owner did all she could to make us welcome and feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble for her and we really appreciated this. We had three rooms and each was exceptionally clean, with attractive bed linen and nice, soft towels. The three main things I would want from a B & B are constant hot water, a clean bedroom and a good breakfast. Marless House provided this and lots of other nice touches that set it apart from other B & B's. In fact, the breakfast was amazing. We would not hesitate to return and hope to do so soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed at Marless House for four nights in June. We had the large yellow and white room in the front of the house; and although it faces the street, noise was not a problem. The beds were very comfortable and the linens of good quality. The bathroom was not large, but adequate and very clean. The breakfasts were hearty, and there were lots of choices. Mary aims to please! I loved the the porridge! We took two single day tours with the Galway Tour Company which picked us up right in front of the house. There is great bus transportation to the center of Galway and the Salthill Promenade is just down the street. Perfect location! But the highlight of our visit was Mary herself. She was always cheerful, helpful, and humorous. We chose this B&B based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,805 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,934 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,519 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 189 in Galway
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Bed And Breakfast
Marless House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing