We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoughly enjoyed my stay at Marless House.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marless House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoughly enjoyed my stay at Marless House.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Thoughly enjoyed my stay at Marless house. Mary was a wonderful host - so helpful and friendly. Greeted us with tea and cookies when we arrived. The breakfast menu was extensive and delicious. The room was clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anschw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
174
401
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I knew I'd like Marless House just from taking to Mary on the phone. Marless House was just as I expected - a warm, comfy place that felt like home. Mary is delightful, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and we felt very comfortable chatting with other guests in the drawing room. It is a close walk to the Promenade. We elected to drive into Galway which was easy. Nice breakfasts and easy (cash only) check out. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed with Mary and Tom on our recent trip to Galway. It was a perfect way to start our week in Ireland because our hosts represented perfectly what we had heard about Irish hospitality. While the weather was a little gloomy, we were just a few doors away from Galway Bay and provided an opportunity to walk on the promenade. It's a short walk to Salthill, but a long walk to Galway. We chose to drive and got lucky with a parking space in front of the church (Mary will give suggestions on where to park). We loved Galway and this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imasportsluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We did not get to meet Mary as she was out of town,but Owen and Tom did a fabulous job of making us feel comfortable and welcome. They got us settled in and served tea and cookies in the front room while letting us know the lay of the land. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. They have the best/ fastest wifi I have ever seen. Breakfast was delicious every morning. Would definately recommend staying here, and if I go back would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristinatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Wonderful B&B with a great hostess. Stayed two nights.

Our room was large with two beds - one to hold the luggage and one for us! Arrived after 5 on the first night, got settled in and Mary recommended two places for dinner. Walked to the first place, Lohans and had a wonderful dinner. It was raining a bit as we walked back to the B&B. Its a bit of a walk (felt like it was just slightly under a kilometer).

Mary gave us lots of information about what to do in Galway and we followed her advice - she was exactly right! Had a wonderful day. Went to the Italian place she recommended on the second nice and it was amazing! Great recommendations.

Breakfast both days was fabulous. Mary loves to chat with her guests, made introductions between all guest which was nice. Wi-Fi was strong everywhere we went in the building.

It was a little warm for us in the room ( we love to sleep in a cold room) so Mary left the windows open all day to cool the room down for us which was a nice touch.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukonifm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, MA, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This beautifully decorated, wonderfully run B&B was the perfect place to start our Ireland trip. We stayed two nights and would gladly have stayed longer. We drove up from Shannon Airport to Galway, having a flat tire on the way. Mary and Tom started by helping us deal with getting a replacement. We had two first floor rooms overlooking the garden (with 8 foot tall sunflowers, among other things). There was tea in the comfortable sitting room, and the breakfasts ... incredible. Any combination of any Irish breakfast items was available: oatmeal, pancakes, eggs, up to a full Irish breakfast. There was a buffet of fruit, yogurt, and so on. Marless House is situated close to the bay and the "Promenade," and a short walk from the Salthill "center," an area with several nice restaurants, music venues, and shops. There is a bus stop at the end of Threadneedle Road where buses will pick you up for various destinations, including the center of town and the ferry terminal to Innismore (the largest of the Aran Islands). On our second day we had the Aran return bus drop us in the town center, had dinner at a pub in the Latin Quarter, then walked back to Marless House. When you stay at Marless House, you become a member of Mary's family immediately. She and Tom are full of good advice for where to go and what to see, and will help set up any adventure you want to undertake. This location is perfect for going anywhere in the Galway area, close enough to the city center but not in it, and the pleasure of staying there is enhanced by the care and friendliness of the owners. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We were told the upstairs rooms are "better," but our ground floor rooms were excellent an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youghal, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

we stayed here on our last night in galway the pity was we didn't find it sooner. wonderful hostess mary and her husband greeted us with tea and coffee on arrival at 9pm chatted like we were long lost friends! nothing was too much trouble. right around the corner is salthill so its fairly central for that area.all in all we couldn't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattyYoughal_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing