We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location, lovely room, but best of all Mary! We were welcomed with tea and coffee (after the harrowing drive through the many Galway rotaries) by Mary who immediately made us feel at home. Room had everything we needed and breakfasts were outstanding. Mary explained the bus system which was an easy way to get around town. And she was a whizz with directions and information as we headed off to the Kylemore Abbey and other points. When we get back to Galway we will definitely stay with Mary again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank withanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
176
405
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our first time in Ireland and our first B&B. What a wonderful experience.
We flew into Dublin, rented a car and began our journey in Galway. When we finally found Marless house, we were pretty worn out. Mary greeted us with open arms and made us feel like we were visiting family. After a nice cup of tea and cookies, Mary gave us directions to the local pubs, and eateries. We were only able to reserve the smallest room she had available but it was more than adequate and very clean and comfortable. Mary gave us as well as her other guest a great deal of personal attention. I was amazed at how hard she worked to make sure all of her guests were taken care of. The breakfast offerings were numerous and very well prepared. I have never had a scone as good as the ones she prepares. If I ever return to Ireland, which I hope I do, I would go way out of my way to visit Mary and her husband again.
What a great start to a great trip!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panchito7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We couldn't believe we were so lucky to stay in the #1 place in Galway. Mary was magical & beyond accommodating. We called her our Ireland mom. Tea upon arrival, called us cabs & made us welcome in <min. The breakfast was amazing & you could pick unlimited items! It was a short walk to the beach & amazing sunsets.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xyliafanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This B&B should be rated 6 stars. Perfect location by the beach and just a few houses from a bus stop. Mary is the best host. A fountain of knowledge on where to go, what to see, where to eat, how to get there complete with maps! The house is beautiful, comfortable , and spotless. Breakfast is cooked to order. Definitely stay here. We were there for 5 nights and loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at Marless House for three nights at the start of our trip through Ireland and we were very happy with the accommodations. The room we had on the second floor was clean, comfortable and bright. Mary was the perfect hostess and gave us good information on where to eat, where to hear good Irish music and where to park near the center of town. The breakfasts were superb - probably the best we had at any B&B in Ireland. The location near the water was an added plus. It was a great way to start our Ireland vacation.

Room Tip: Our room had a small bathroom, but we saw other rooms with larger bathrooms. So if you don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Marless house is excellent. Room beautifully furnished and very clean, with adequate parking. Excellent menu for breakfast. Mary very helpful with advice and couldn't do enough to help you. She bent over backwards to try and appease some slightly difficult clients.
Salthill is a good location on the promenade. Short bus ride from town or you can walk if keen, about 40 min. Most of the tour companies will pick you up at the house or nearby.
Excellent value and highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiealison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My sister and I stayed at The Marless House for two nights in April and we can't say enough good things about it. Mary was incredibly hospitable and full of so much information. She went above and beyond, even making us a late evening snack when we came back to the B&B, late and hungry. I highly recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moter331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing