We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Mary went out of her way to make us feel at home at the Marless House. I had emailed her with questions about guided tours of Connemara and the Aran Islands. Upon arrival she sat with us in the parlor and explained our touring options. Once we selected the tours we wanted she booked them for us and arranged pick up from B&B! This was quite a help as we were traveling without a car.

The B&B is a short bus ride from the center of galway, and features lovely sea views. It is a charming area with many good places to eat. The rooms are spacious and are cleaned daily. Mary prepared the best breakfast we had during our stay in Ireland, we never left hungry!

On the last day of our stay during check out we were unaware that the B&B did not accept credit cards, and the distance to walk to the nearest ATM would have meant we would miss our scheduled tour. Mary offered for us to send her a check with the money for our stay at our earliest convenience. This was a very generous offer and above and beyond what we expected. Mary really treats all her guests as family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samrt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
178
411
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If Trip Advisor had a 'heaven' rating, I believe Marless House would deserve it.

I have stayed in quite a few B&B's over the years and my experience staying with Mary and Tom was the closest that I've ever come to staying with caring relatives.

Both of them automatically bring you into their home and make you feel like a welcomed visitor, rather than a customer. When we first arrived, Mary was off to run another errand, but still was willing to see to any immediate needs that we had without hesitation. She and Tom directed us to all of the best spots for eating in Galway, as well as helping us get acclimated to the bus schedule. Best of all, Mary had very good connections with the tour companies that we used to tour both Connemara and The Aran Islands. So instead of having to go into town, she was able to arrange a personal pick up right in front of the b&b! Isn't that lovely?

Our room was amazing. Peaceful, beautiful, comfortable. Definitely the best room of our entire 4-city trip. The bed was huge and comfy and the bathroom was spotless and terrific. The house itself is wonderful, with a sitting parlor with tea on the ground floor and a large dining area across the main hall with antique tables and a vibrant view of Galway. Their b&b is located just steps away from the bay and around the corner from the nearest bus stop, so access is a snap. The exterior is every bit as beautiful as the interior and the entire place has a feeling of home about it.

Speaking of a feeling of home, the breakfast that Mary serves is epic. 'Breakfast Heaven' is what I believe that my wife and I called it. A wonderful assortment of choices from a traditional Irish breakfast with white and black pudding to smoked salmon and eggs and more, plus you can mix and match and get exactly what you want. There is also an assortment of fruit, juice, and cereal available. All of the food is FANTASTIC! It may actually raise your belief in humanity. It's that good.

What really makes Marless House so wonderful though are Mary and Tom themselves. Mary always had a funny story or experience that she was willing to share and loved to hear about what her guests were doing. With some b&b owners, this can feel strained, but Mary just seemed to enjoy talking to people. She talked to us, to the tour drivers, on the phone, even to the owner of another b&b who would regularly come by for some breakfast and a chat. On our last day there, my wife and I just sat at breakfast and talked with Mary for about an hour or so about nothing in particular. It felt less like talking to someone who was providing a service and more like talking to a new friend. Our experience at the Marless House was definitely a highlight to our Ireland vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 days with Mary and Tom. I can't say enough good things about Mary (Tom was absent the first couple of days). The rooms are large and beautiful and they clean them every day. Towels, wash cloths, soap and shampoo are provided. The food is excellent and huge portions. There is nothing negative to be said. We were sad to leave. Mary is delightful and full of information on what to do, where to eat, what to see. She goes beyond what we got at other places. She provided an ice pack for a knee injury from a fall and just made us feel like good friends on a visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ty_TX2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

There are no words wonderful enough to talk about the lovely stay we had with Mary in Galway. Her B&B is really right out of an Irish fairy tale, only it is real! We were greeted warmly upon arrival and had a dinner recommendation before we asked as I am sure that we looked haggard and hungry. Mary and Tom truly have relationships with other small business owners in the area, and the result is the best of the best in every way. Our tours were marvelous and Mary arranged to have us picked up after breakfast rather than having to eat and run to catch a bus to the center of town. And speaking of breakfast...it was THE BEST breakfast I have ever had. My husband and I are breakfast connoisseurs and I have never had a better breakfast anywhere in the world. The room was gorgeous as well and was perfect for us. Coming home after our tour days to a made bed and freshly stocked tea tray was such a treat. We were so spoiled by these wonderful folks! Galway will have to become a must see stop for future trips to Ireland, if only to just chat with the owners and have breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a traditional B&B in Ireland don't hesitate to choose this perfect pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swholley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We visited Marless House as our first stop on our tour of Ireland with another couple. It was a wonderful place and Mary a wonderful hostess and friendly face. Our welcome was genuinely warm and appreciated after a day of travel.

The evenings were very quiet at the house and we were able to take the bus to the downtown area with no problem at all. The location of the place is perfect. This was our first trip to Ireland so we appreciated any advice. Tom and Mary take great care of their guests. The home is beautiful and well appointed. Our room was beautiful with a great view of their bird feeders so we could watch the variety of birds feeding in the morning and afternoon before heading out.

Downtown Galway itself is charming and being from an Irish family, we were so comfortable in the area, it felt like home. This house was a part of that feeling as we stayed in Salthill knowing that my husband's grandparents had done the same many years before us.

The breakfasts were amazingly delicious. The salmon was like butter and wonderfully tasty. The French toast and pancakes a warm welcome. We stayed at Ashford Castle on this trip for far more money and I can tell you that Mary's breakfasts were better. Especially the salmon and pancakes. Her presentation couldn't hold a candle to even the more expensive Ashford Castle.

All the reviews of this place were accurate. Perfectly suited for us and we will be back the next time, if we are lucky enough to travel to Ireland again.

Room Tip: this is a great location for all you want to do in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We visited Ireland as a group of 4 and stayed in 4 different B&Bs (Dingle, Bunratty, Galway and Dublin) during our 5-day trip. We all voted Marless as the best one among 4 of them. Mary gave us a very warm welcome and a very comfortable environment. The rooms are en-suite, beautifully decorated and spacious. Each rooms has adequate space for us to leave two big luggage cases opened. All beds are equipped with electric blankets. We all had a good sleep here.

We will definitely re-visit Mary if we come to Galway again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amkcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed at Marless House in October of 2012 and it was excellent!! Location was great, not right in the city center of Galway but right on the bus route, maybe 10 minutes from Shop Street in Galway City. House overlooks Galway Bay and the Salthill Promenade. I loved this place and the owners, Tom and Mary made our stay so wonderful. Beautiful, comfortable, and immaculately clean rooms. Perfect stay in Galway!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColleenJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marless House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marless House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marless House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marless House Hotel Galway
Marless House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing