We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Galway Gem”
Review of Liscarra House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Liscarra House B&B
Ranked #60 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This was my second time staying at this B&B in 10 years. It is a well-kept home in the Salthill area of Galway. The nearby promenade is a great place for a refreshing walk and is a popular, well used place. Ethan and Brendan have been running this B&B for a long time and are still as helpful as ever. If they do not have the answers for your questions, they will find them. They have so much good information about the area, that they are a wonderful resource. Breakfasts are great with a range of choices. They are sometimes closed in low season so it is best to check ahead.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Liscarra House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

Ethna and Brennan are, without a doubt, the best people in Galway. The B&B is spotless, the food is great, but the host and hostess are what make this B&B so spectacular. The gave us advice on everything from genealogy to restaurants and even neighborhoods to avoid in Dublin. Their hospitality made our trip so much more enjoyable even after we left Galway because we could rely on their experience to explore other parts of Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank learningcurved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Just stayed in Liscarra b+b,on arriving we were met by Brendan who showed us to a bright large room,it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a king size bed and a single. We asked for a recommendation for eating out and Brendan offered us a few to choose from also a few good bars and shops,they have all the info you need,On our way out on our last evening Ethna gave us a lift into town for dinner even though the bus is a minute away, for us it was just what we wanted restful,friendly and welcoming.The breakfast was great and plentiful..We usually stay in hotels but we were so glad we decided on this b+b it was great value and with all the comforts of a hotel but with a personal touch

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trip095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Just stayed with Ethna and Brendan for a a couple of nights - they were very welcoming, extremely helpful and friendly. The house was spotlessly clean and breakfast amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpleCoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

When we arrived, we were promptly and courteously shown to our rooms. The rooms were a touch small and basic, and the bathrooms were very small, but they were clean and neat and I found the bed comfortable. Ethna immediately offered us tea or coffee and went down to make it while we got settled in after a long drive. She sat with us while we had tea and helped us with a map, telling us the best places to park and to eat. When we asked her to ring us a cab (we were tired and didn't want to make the 20-30 minute walk into downtown) she said she could give us a lift as she was on her way to the store anyway. I wouldn't expect that kind of service again, but it just goes to show how thoughtful and kind she is.

The home is lovely and has a lot of character. The sitting room and garden in back are nice. Breakfast the next morning was great - perfectly cooked to order and using quality ingredients (I'm one of the few Americans who actually loves black pudding, and it's easy to spot the cheap stuff).

The only thing bad I would say is that there was no shampoo and the soap in the bathroom was the small hotel bars but it had already been opened. I wasn't sure if this had been used by other guests, so I would recommend bringing your own.

I almost forgot - LOCATION! A bit of a walk to downtown, but you can do it if you're not tired or the weather is good. Once you cross the bridge, you're in the thick of it on Quay street - McDonagh's, The Quays Bar, The Spanish Arms Hotel, etc. Taxi back that night was only 10 Euro. It is just off the coast road in Salthill, so easy to find and only a 2 minute walk onto the beach. Beautiful spot.

Overall, great place

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_Hauck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We arrived in Galway about 4pm and checked out a few B&B's (6 in fact) before coming across Liscarra House in the Salthill area. As soon as we set eyes on the lovely big bedroom and decent sized bathroom, we knew it was the one to stay in. There was an area where you could sit and do your hair or makeup, and through the windows you had a glimpse of the sea. We were served with tea and biscuits for afternoon tea, and the owners - Brendan and Ethna Regan - are a really lovely couple.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NarellePearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

Ethna and Brendan provided the best possible environment possible to make our first stay in Ireland a truly enjoyable one. The warmth and hospitality were unbelievable.

When we first arrived, Ethna, sat down with us with a pot of tea and a plate full of chocolate and biscuits to give us information on Galway. Breakfast were also wonderful, as the dining room was quite lovely, as was the food! An unbelievable mix of a Full Irish Breakfast made to order, as well as an assortment of cold options provided a wonderful assortment. Ethna even called the Tourist office for us to confirm details for our trip to the Aran Islands which was so nice of her to do!

Our room was great, with a lovely room overlooking the backyard gardens. Very clean quite spacious. The location is also wonderful, as it is a short 1 minute walk to beautiful Galway bay, and the bus to downtown Galway which takes only 15 minutes and comes every 30 minutes. If you're up for a nice walk, it's a lovely 30-40 minute walk to the city.

I can't say enough about this place. If you're looking to stay in Salthill or Galway, stay here. The place is just wonderful. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agxcrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Claremount House
Claremount House
#37 of 188 in Galway
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 188 in Galway
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galway Bay Sea View Apartments
1.1 mi away
Lawndale B&B
Lawndale B&B
#68 of 188 in Galway
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liscarra House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liscarra House B&B

Address: Liscarra House 6 Seamount | Threadneedle Road, Galway N338, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established, family-run Bed and Breakfast Guesthouse just 100 metres from the famous Salthill promenade ( the prom ) and the seaside of Galway Bay. Blackrock diving tower and beach is 300 metres from our door. Beside the Galway golf club, Galway Lawn tennis and Leisureland, as well as several horse-riding centres. There is live music every night in Galway city and Salthill village. Salthill boasts a dozen restaurants, several pubs and two large hotels. All our rooms are en-suite, tastefully decorated and very quiet. All rooms have TV, electric blankets, hair dryers and tea and coffe facilities, as well as a free wi-fi internet connection. Off-street parking for guests. An ideal base for touring Connemara, the Burren and the Aran Islands. We have been looking after visitors to Galway for twenty years and really look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing