We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! and perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savoy Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent! and perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Really new and clean, lot of facilities (a set of usb charger, small light and sockets for each bed, hairdryier in the room)
Excellent location in the center of Galway with lot of shops and pubs around.
The best hostel I've ever been until now...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YariXixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    51
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
20
63
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

wifi, pc, breakfast included, good mattress, nice staff, great colours, design and common room.close to eyre squere, bus and train stop. clean with a toilet and shower in the room. hair dryer as a bonus. just great!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liskulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel was a dream. The bathroom was well sized and there was plenty of sitting space, tables and outlets. Each bunk had USB ports and outlets and a light, so we could charge in bed. It was also air controlled so no one was sweltering in the heat. It was well located and the staff was super friendly. It was a bit annoying to pay for towels, but nothing serious. Myself and two friends booked out a bunk room of four beds and private bath and couldn't believe the room we had. Amazing and recommend to all traveling on a budget in Galway.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Savoy Hostel really reminds me of a hotel. The place is obviously new but was clean, colorful, and modern. The hang out area is great with lots of comfy chairs and a giant tv. The kitchen is very nice but tiny. I think they need to get a larger fridge. It was hard to fit anything else into the fridge when I was there. The bedrooms were very nice - soft mattresses, fluffy pillow, a light for each bed, two usb ports, a regular wall outlet for each bed, lockers under the bed, etc. Bathroom was nice but they really need to find a way to dive the shower from the rest of the bathroom. It got messy very quickly. I don't remember my room number, but I was near an alley way and it was incredibly noisy throughout the day and night because of the people who would hang out back there. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful, and accommodating. For 15 euro, I was in a mixed 6-bed dorm. Both nights there were only other females in my dorm, too, so I think they try to segregate the sexes unless there isn't enough room. Can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: I was near an alleyway...It was very loud throughout the day and night. The window was kept open so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Reservation: 4 bed dorm, mixed, ensuite
Neighborhood (Downtown Galway):
The hostel is in a very safe, very lively neighbourhood very close to the Latin Quarter and Eyre Square, across from post office. There are little to no street signs on the streets, but if you ask for the post office, you’ll find the hostel.
The Stay:
The bedroom was rather large, almost as large as a single room at a nice hotel, big enough for you to put your large luggage and such. The shower didn’t have a curtain, so you have to be careful not to get your things wet while you’re showering, though the floors will get soaked, but it’s pretty quick drying tile. They provide two hair and shower gel dispensers, one next to the sink and one “in” the shower. The sink was extremely large, good for doing handwashing. There was a bunk and a regular bed in my “4-bedroom” dorm, so 3 bed instead of 4. I think that’s an exception. There were chairs for sitting at and a “vanity” shelf with a mirror and a hairdryer next to it. There are LOTS of socket plugs. The bunks have plugs for USBs and non-USBs and shelf for your things with an attached reading light. I slept on the actual bed. It had the fluffiest pillow in the world on a pretty soft bed and the linens and such were provided. You didn’t need to do anything with the linens when you left. The floors were carpet.
The Environment:
The place was very much structured like a hotel, supposedly it’s attached to a hotel. The place really is as nice as the pictures show, very modern, clean and colourful.
Amenities:
The bunks had two pull-out luggage storage cases for your own locks under it. Lockers, luggage storage, laundry, etc. The place has a ramp and a fancy chair for going up and down stairs for those needing wheelchairs. There’s a pool table in the lounge area and a giant TV in a giant lounge. There’s a washer and dryer (€2 each) in a good sized kitchen with one hob, one refrigerator, one microwave, and a kettle. The kitchen open during breakfast, so you can cook extra food if you need it. You can but don't have to do dishes during breakfast, though it’s preferable if you do. It fits 4-6 people moving about fairly comfortably.
Service:
The reception was very nice, friendly and respectful. They give you a card key that give you access to your room and the lounge/kitchen area. Breakfast is served from 8:30-11:00am. Breakfast consisted of white and brown bread or baguettes, butter, strawberry jam or marmalade, tea and coffee, milk and 2 cereals - corn flakes and bran flakes, apple, fruit or orange juice. The bed you stay in is assigned to you. When checking out, they ask if want to store luggage in luggage room even though you’re checking out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laninani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a group of 21 university students. New hostel. Nice welcome at reception. Helpful staff. Room quite spacious. I was very impressed with the bathroom which was hotel quality in my opinion. Excellent wifi throughout the hostel. Rooms spotlessly clean. Nice white bed linen. Each bed has a plug which is handy for charging a phone, a USB plug and a light. We were grateful that we were allowed check out at 11am as opposed to the usual time of 10am. Great common area. Pool table and board games available. Really liked that the common room was so colorful!
Areas for improvement:
-Other hostels offer 24 hour self service tea/coffee. We didn't find any tea bags so it seems this is not offered here.
-For the price of this hostel, breakfast could do with an upgrade. Toast, baguette pieces, butter, honey (much appreciated), jam, hot beverages, juice and 2 types of cereal on offer. Maybe include some pieces of fruit, croissants, scones, muesli, etc. That said, it's awesome that breakfast is served until 11am!
-It seemed that we were expected to wash up our own dishes. For the price of this hostel, I would expect this to be done for guests.
-Lack of parking for buses seems to be a problem. On this occasion we had just a small bus, but I couldn't imagine bringing one of our larger groups on a big bus.

That said we had a great stay overall!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViviennePhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The hostel is new and in a great location- very close to all the attractions in Galway and the bus stand.the staff were helpful-however a little more local knowledge on things to do etc would be useful in providing recommendations to guests. The bathroom was a bit of an issue as it doesn't have a separate showering area.the breakfast options could be a bit better as well..however, for the price, its convenient and value for money..would definitely recommend for travellers on a budget..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank narayan_iyer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hostel

Property: Savoy Hostel
Address: Eglinton Street, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Savoy Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Savoy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing