We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly, perfect location”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Let's start with the location - perfect! Right on Eyre Square (a large park) with bus, train and cab transportation next door and an easy walk to the shopping street, waterfront and several good restaurants/pubs. The hotel itself is charming and rich with history. Our suite was amazing (and had a fabulous bathroom) and our kids twin room perfect for two teenagers. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable (provided several good restaurant recommendations). The hotel has a couple of great bars (one sports and one more sophisticated) and many darling "nooks" where you can have a coffee or glass of wine or just relax in front of the fire. Full Irish breakfast included with room rate - don't miss the brown bread. We didn't take advantage of the lovely spa, but it's half price on Mon and Tues. Whether for a romantic getaway or a family vacation, we recommend the Hotel Meyrick and will stay here every tme we come to Galway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed all that the Hotel Meyrick has to offer, such as the various bars and great location. We hope that on your next visit you will have time to visit our Square Spa and avail of one of their lovely treatments, or just relax in the out door hot tub.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meyrick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

Recently spent 2 nights in this hotel - stayed in a standard room on the first night which was lovely but not very spacious, upgraded to a suite for the second night which was amazing!!! Staff were all very approachable and extremely helpful!!! Canadian hot tub + jacuzzi were fabulous! Hotel is very central and met all our expectations - would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Request view over Eyre Square and if possible the suites are amazing!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieT233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in writing of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we were happy to hear that your time was enjoyable.

We are glad you were able to enjoy all the Hotel Meyrick has to offer and that you experienced the various room types and Hot Tub, we will be relaying your kind comments to all our team here.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just back after a 2 night stay at the Meyrick hotel. I had informed them on booking that it was my husbands birthday and we got complimentary upgrade to a suite - fab.

I myself do not like old style hotels but this hotel is chic with a great ambiance from the minute you walk in the revolving door. We booked 2 nights B&B with 1 evening meal. Food, presentation and service were all wonderful.

Staff were extremely professional and friendly and it was great to have the car parked for you - little touches that mean alot.

Our room did look over bus/train station but it was not an issue at all. Yes at 8.30am you would hear announcements but time to start the day and have your wonderful breakfast.

Try our the hot tub on the roof - just bring yourself, robes, slippers, towels all supplied - ah so relaxing looking out over Galway.

The location of this hotel is super right in the centre of Galway city so get on your walking shoes and enjoy.

The only negative were the pillows they were so hard but that is a personal choice.

The 2nd night we ate inThe Malt House - beside The Kings Head Pub (great pub for music).
The Malt house was excellent from the food to presentation and service - highly recommend.
If you take a trip to Salt hill try Coco Cafe - really great value and tasty lunch.

Love Galway and Love the Hotel - Thank you all for a wonderful stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in writing of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we were happy to hear that your time was enjoyable.

We are glad to hear that your partner’s birthday was enjoyable and you enjoyed your upgrade and the out door hot tub. We will be passing on your kind comments to all the team here at Hotel Meyrick.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel two nights--one in a regular room. The regular room was VERY small. The bed was not big enough for my husband and I. The room itself was decent-looking and clean, but the bathroom was a nightmare. The seal around the tub leaks, so your floor will be wet the entire time you're there if you take a shower. I turned on the sink and it sprayed everywhere, full-blast. I will say the room was adequate for someone who only plans to sleep in it.

The suite was another story. We got a free upgrade the second night. Chandeliers in the halls, a chandelier in the room, which had a high vaulted ceiling, a spacious marble bathroom.... The bed actually fit us both, too. This was light-years better. The one thing I will say against all the rooms, though.... They need to clean better. One of the chairs in the suite had chocolate stains on it. (At least, I hope it was chocolate...) There were stains on the carpet.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in writing of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we do appreciate all our guests feedback and take this in a constructive manner.

We are glad that you enjoyed your upgrade although our rooms do vary in type and style, from Standard to Executive. Your comments have been relayed to the Accommodation Manager to address with the team and work towards rectifying.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I attended a wedding in the Meyrick and decided to make a weekend of it. I had booked a standard double room for the weekend and was very very surprised when at check-in we were told we had been upgraded to a suite!!!!!!!! It was in the old part of the hotel, huge room with 3 huge windows looking out onto Eyre Square.......our bathroom was wall to wall marble, again with a huge window!!!! It was very old style grand.......really lovely.
Food and bar was very good, staff really friendly and helpful.....the valet parking is an added bonus!!!!! Well done to all.......we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in writing of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your upgrade and everything that the older style of rooms has to offer. We will be sure to relay your kind comments to all the teams within the Hotel Meyrick.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

WE drove to Galway from Kerry, we were tired, and just wanted to eat and drink, all we did was give the car keys to Sean and he parked our car, took our luggage to our rooms, and we never asked for that service.
Sean was great!
I would recommend staying for a few days, great pubs close, next to the train station, bus station, overall a great expirence

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, very quiet, easy to get to
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Sean and all the team at Hotel Meyrick.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Well decided to go to Galway for the night and I had stayed before did not have a good experience the first time but wanted to give the hotel the benefit of the dough. Well all I can say is I wish I had chosen the park house hotel as I usually always stay there anyways. Staff were not very friendly when I asked the next morning I was looking for a morning paper as you do and what I was told by the porter I guess that is what he was he told me if I wanted a paper I could go to centra down the road and told me how to get there and he was rude about it and the breakfast wad horrible plus the staff were starring at me and made me feel very uncomfable to be there as they must have wanted to clean the table and move to setting it hit dinner. Also asked for a upgrade for the room i was told no room left to upgrade to the room was not a bedroom to say the least more egg box the bathroom was bigger then the room and right beside the entrance door to the lift not happy and not much sleep either. I got a letter to apologies about situation after what I said on the comment card never again not if it was
The last hotel on the earth will NEVER GO TO THAT HOTEL AGAIN HORRIBLE not even if it was free

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jewel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we do appreciate all our guests’ feedback and take this in a constructive manner.

In regards to your comments, we do advise our guests to book the room type they prefer to avoid disappointment, although whenever availability allows we do try and accommodate our customer’s requests.

We have relayed your comments regarding your incidents to the relevant managers to address within their teams, to ensure the level of customer service we expect of our team is being upheld.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us, but can assure you that this is not the norm at the Hotel Meyrick and we were most disappointed to read your account of your stay.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
904 reviews
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £104 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing