We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 7 April 2012

You couldn't ask for a better location, this is very central. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful and the room was large, clean as was the bathroom. My only complaint was the noise level from outside that was overlooking a hostel and whilst I love to go out and enjoy myself, hearing people screaming and shouting at 1 in the morning on a Wednesday evening was frustrating (room 328)

Breakfast was a bit slow but to set us a table for 5 but the food was ok

I would certainly book again but would ask for a room facing over the square

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will be sure to relay your kind comments to all the teams within the hotel. The Hotel is a listed building, due to this we have to keep the original feature windows, which may be cause of some of the external noise filtering through.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,122 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed in the Meyrick weekend 09-10 March 2012. A great experience. We had stayed before and maybe this is why when we arrived they upgraded us to a different room (cant remember - exexcutive or something)
Breakfast was lovely, staff great.. lovely clean room with fantastic shower.
The receptionist even remembered us..
Stayed in many hotels in Galway and the Meyrick beats them all.
Fantastic hotel in the best possible location in an amazing city. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade and all that the Hotel Meyrick has to offer, and we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the teams within the Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Let's start with the location - perfect! Right on Eyre Square (a large park) with bus, train and cab transportation next door and an easy walk to the shopping street, waterfront and several good restaurants/pubs. The hotel itself is charming and rich with history. Our suite was amazing (and had a fabulous bathroom) and our kids twin room perfect for two teenagers. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable (provided several good restaurant recommendations). The hotel has a couple of great bars (one sports and one more sophisticated) and many darling "nooks" where you can have a coffee or glass of wine or just relax in front of the fire. Full Irish breakfast included with room rate - don't miss the brown bread. We didn't take advantage of the lovely spa, but it's half price on Mon and Tues. Whether for a romantic getaway or a family vacation, we recommend the Hotel Meyrick and will stay here every tme we come to Galway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed all that the Hotel Meyrick has to offer, such as the various bars and great location. We hope that on your next visit you will have time to visit our Square Spa and avail of one of their lovely treatments, or just relax in the out door hot tub.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Recently spent 2 nights in this hotel - stayed in a standard room on the first night which was lovely but not very spacious, upgraded to a suite for the second night which was amazing!!! Staff were all very approachable and extremely helpful!!! Canadian hot tub + jacuzzi were fabulous! Hotel is very central and met all our expectations - would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Request view over Eyre Square and if possible the suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieT233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in writing of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we were happy to hear that your time was enjoyable.

We are glad you were able to enjoy all the Hotel Meyrick has to offer and that you experienced the various room types and Hot Tub, we will be relaying your kind comments to all our team here.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just back after a 2 night stay at the Meyrick hotel. I had informed them on booking that it was my husbands birthday and we got complimentary upgrade to a suite - fab.

I myself do not like old style hotels but this hotel is chic with a great ambiance from the minute you walk in the revolving door. We booked 2 nights B&B with 1 evening meal. Food, presentation and service were all wonderful.

Staff were extremely professional and friendly and it was great to have the car parked for you - little touches that mean alot.

Our room did look over bus/train station but it was not an issue at all. Yes at 8.30am you would hear announcements but time to start the day and have your wonderful breakfast.

Try our the hot tub on the roof - just bring yourself, robes, slippers, towels all supplied - ah so relaxing looking out over Galway.

The location of this hotel is super right in the centre of Galway city so get on your walking shoes and enjoy.

The only negative were the pillows they were so hard but that is a personal choice.

The 2nd night we ate inThe Malt House - beside The Kings Head Pub (great pub for music).
The Malt house was excellent from the food to presentation and service - highly recommend.
If you take a trip to Salt hill try Coco Cafe - really great value and tasty lunch.

Love Galway and Love the Hotel - Thank you all for a wonderful stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in writing of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we were happy to hear that your time was enjoyable.

We are glad to hear that your partner’s birthday was enjoyable and you enjoyed your upgrade and the out door hot tub. We will be passing on your kind comments to all the team here at Hotel Meyrick.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel two nights--one in a regular room. The regular room was VERY small. The bed was not big enough for my husband and I. The room itself was decent-looking and clean, but the bathroom was a nightmare. The seal around the tub leaks, so your floor will be wet the entire time you're there if you take a shower. I turned on the sink and it sprayed everywhere, full-blast. I will say the room was adequate for someone who only plans to sleep in it.

The suite was another story. We got a free upgrade the second night. Chandeliers in the halls, a chandelier in the room, which had a high vaulted ceiling, a spacious marble bathroom.... The bed actually fit us both, too. This was light-years better. The one thing I will say against all the rooms, though.... They need to clean better. One of the chairs in the suite had chocolate stains on it. (At least, I hope it was chocolate...) There were stains on the carpet.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in writing of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we do appreciate all our guests feedback and take this in a constructive manner.

We are glad that you enjoyed your upgrade although our rooms do vary in type and style, from Standard to Executive. Your comments have been relayed to the Accommodation Manager to address with the team and work towards rectifying.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I attended a wedding in the Meyrick and decided to make a weekend of it. I had booked a standard double room for the weekend and was very very surprised when at check-in we were told we had been upgraded to a suite!!!!!!!! It was in the old part of the hotel, huge room with 3 huge windows looking out onto Eyre Square.......our bathroom was wall to wall marble, again with a huge window!!!! It was very old style grand.......really lovely.
Food and bar was very good, staff really friendly and helpful.....the valet parking is an added bonus!!!!! Well done to all.......we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in writing of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your upgrade and everything that the older style of rooms has to offer. We will be sure to relay your kind comments to all the teams within the Hotel Meyrick.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,355 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £104 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing