We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great rooms, ok food”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Westmeath
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great staff, great rooms, ok food”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The rooms are great, especially considering the age of the hotel - the have refurnished many rooms to a very high standard.
The staff are all excellent - motivated, polite and attentive.
The food was only ok - we were offered 'herb infused focaccia bread' before dinner, but it tasted like a plain old bread roll to me. The dining room needs cleaning - the chairs are all suede and looking a bit grubby to me. The breakfast offering is standard and good, but nothing interesting on the menu like eggs Benedict.
This is overall a fine hotel and located perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestmeathPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in writing your review, without Customer Feedback we are at a loss as to know where we are letting our guests down.

We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, as we expect nothing less than excellent customer service of ourselves.

You comments have been duly noted, we will pass them on to our Restaurant Manager and Head Chef.

We hope that should you be returning to Galway that you will come in and see some changes in regards to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    429
    217
    107
    78
See reviews for
211
666
39
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Unbelievable, but although the hotel staff knew about the Galway Festival going on at the park in front of the hotel they assigned us a room with DIRECT view to it. Every single morning al 6.50 am powerful machines like drills, did their best to wake me up !! As the weather was very hot we had to keep the window open, but mercifully, the next morning we were given a fan (what they could have done the day before). The tube was clogged and the smell all over the bath was that of mold.. The hotel is a nice building but needs urgently an update not cosmetic but in the infrastructure. The staff was friendly and helpful...but it does not reach to cover the flaws.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solcito63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Solcito63,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and share your experience with us.

Although we are grateful for your kind words regarding our staff it is naturally disappointing to read that you were not entirely happy with your stay.
Usually most of our guests prefer rooms overlooking the Eyre Square. This must be the reason you were allocated the room over the square. This would not happen if quiet room was requested during the reservation stage. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused due to high noise levels over the Arts Festival week.

Your comment regarding the smell in the bathroom has been taken on board and dealt with by our maintenance team. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope you will return to our hotel in the near future and will se improvement on the pints raised above.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The situation was that we stayed 2 nights during a heat wave in Ireland and the hotel was not air conditioned and also the Art Festival had just started so the hotel was fully booked. Given that, it was hot in the room & dining room and since we arrived late we were given a room that was not one of their best!! With that said, the hotel location was great - right in the middle of everything. For a hotel their size, they should have had more staff - as when we arrived, the only person on duty was the person at the reception desk. Due to the heat, we slept with the windows open and there was alot of noise during the evening when we were trying to sleep (probably from the Art Festival partiers!). Room was clean, but bed was a little uncomfortable. I am giving it a very good rating due to location while overlooking the heat and noise from the festival which they had no control over.

Room Tip: I guess you need to get there early so you can have a better choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear David D,

Thank you for posting you review here on tripadvisor. It's always helpful to receive feedback from our valued customers as it enables us to improve in a product.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the room being too warm and the excessive noise from the arts Festival, as you mentioned we are a City Center based hotel, so sometimes we have no control over the noise levels. Thank you for your understanding on this matter. I would also like to assure you that we have taken your comments on board and will speak to relevant personnel.

Thank once again for this review and I hope you return to us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Couldn't be nearer bus or train with taxis and city at your door. Hotel itself is almost bang on. They just need to revamp rooms a tad and get better structure to staffing the public areas. The staff all seem under pressure and unable to achieve what management is requesting - as in they always seem over stretched and not on top of things!

Easy enough fixes to be perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobyhottot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Bobyhottot,

Thank you for taking time to post this kind review.

It is our pleasure to read that your stay was to your satisfaction and you have enjoyed our convenient location.

We appreciate your remarks regarding the staffing and decor of the hotel. We are constantly reinvesting in our facilities. Last February we have renovated 25 standard rooms and have more renovation scheduled for the beginning of next year.. We also will review our staffing levels to suit the business levels.

Thank you once again for this review and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel needs an update, the dinning room had peeling paint, the general clealiness was wanting. With a heat wave, and no airconditioning, they ran out of fans. Would expect better service. It is in a great location and close to resturants and shopping - its only plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strengthsguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Strengthsguru,

Thank you for taking a few minutes out of your day to write this review.

We are disappointed to see that your stay was not what you expected as this is not the feedback we usually receive. All your comments have been taken on board by our management team.

Your feedback is valuable to us. Thank You.

Kind Regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I suppose I should start by saying that we held our wedding reception in the Meyrick last year. I've always loved the hotel, I think it has a real old school charm to it. We decided to go back for our anniversary both for dinner and to stay there, even though we live out the road (it was our anniversary, we were spoiling ourselves!). It was top class from start to finish, I really couldn't recommend it highly enough. Reception staff were so friendly and welcoming. I forgot something in our room and there was no problems holding it for me. We were upgraded to a fab junior suite which overlooked Eyre Square. FAB-U-LOUS, we felt like a king and queen for the night! Dinner was included in the package and the food was delicious. Better than your average hotel food. Service was fantastic for dinner. The bar staff were just so friendly and helpful, particularly the blond haired girl who I remember was every bit as helpful for our wedding last year. In the morning time, we took in the Canadian hot tub which has fantastic views of the city. Breakfast was delicious and again, service was the best I've ever experienced. My husband is a coeliac and was very well catered for all round and never made to feel awkward as is often the case when we eat out . You have the city on your doorstep here, location could not be better. Fantastic all round, thanks for a great stay!!

Room Tip: While our room was fantastic I know some of our guests last year were given tiny cramped rooms. Unf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detoxkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Detoxkid

It was our absolute pleasure to take care of you both and your guests on your special day last year. And it was lovely to have the opportunity to welcome you back when you were celebrating your anniversary recently.

Our staff will be thrilled to read your review. They work hard to ensure each guest has the best possible experience, during their time in Hotel Meyrick and they will be delighted with your feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we wish you both every happiness

Take care
Hotel Meyrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We had two rooms and both unmercifully hot. The hotel ran out of fans. Many people complaining this morning. Some Americans actually slept in the lobby! Tv in our room didn't work and shower had one temp. Too hot. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Good afternoon Mr Leahy

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
With the exceptional weather and uncharacteristic heat over the last couple of weeks, we are working to ensure that our guests stay is as comfortable as possible.
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not what we expect of ourselves at the Hotel Meyrick, your feedback is very valuable to us.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#30 of 46 in Galway
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing