We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough but...”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel could not be in a better place for exploring Galway and I didn't meet one member of staff who was not helpful and charming including the people I had email contact with before I arrived. It's a classic hotel and well worth staying there. However, I have two observations: old hotels are hard to maintain and can look grubby sometimes (this one does in places) and the crockery at breakfast was not clean. To me these two things move the rating all the way from excellent to average because they are unforgiveable. A good maintenance programme to fix doors with loose hinges etc is basic and I'll say no more about clean crockery.

I would recommend the hotel for location but there is a Radisson Blu very close by and there's a hotel called Parkhouse even closer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Demandthebest,

We are grateful for your comments.

We are glad you have enjoyed your overall stay at our Hotel and its location. That said it was naturally disappointing that we have let our selves and you down on a things that are so easy to avoid. Thank you for bringing to our attention that cutlery was not up to standard in our dining room, we have addressed this with relevant manager.
We have ongoing maintenance program to ensure our hotel does not loose its charm, so your comments will be passed on to them as well.

Thank you for your time and we hope you visit us again.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had lunch twice here last weekend. The food, atmosphere, staff and cocktails were unbelievable. I was sad that we were not able to get a room as The Oyster Festival was on. We ended up staying at the house hotel but the Meyrick blows it out of the water. (review on The House Hotel to follow)

This is a peaceful, classy and relaxing property.

One not to be missed

Room Tip: Any room facing Eyre Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Robert78,

Thank you for your kind words on our service and atmosphere.

We are sorry you did not get a chance to stay with us due to our hotel being full, well we hope you will return to us again to get the full Hotel Meyrick experience. We always advise our guests to book the rooms in advance during the summer moths as with all the festivals happening in Galway City hotels do get quite busy.

There is a Galway Christmas Market coming up at the end of November, perhaps this could be a good excuse to visit Galway again.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Meyrick and loved every minute. We had a junior suite which faced Eyre Square - the room was bigger than the 3 previous hotel rooms we stayed in on this trip combined. Very comfortable bed, luxurious furnishings and an incredible bathroom with soaking tub and shower, double sinks. Service was great from the moment we walked through the doors. A very elegant, yet comfortable property. We arrived by train, the station being immediately behind the hotel. The central location makes everything an easy stroll, especially the pedestrian areas of Shop Street, etc. Breakfast was very good too, with a wide selection and impeccable service. We were there for a wedding, which was done beautifully as well. The Oyster Bar, decorated in old New York City subway signs, is a comfortable place for tea, a drink or a quick bite to eat - he traditional vegetable soup was tasty and the oysters very fresh. We used the hot tub on the rooftop patio almost every day or evening. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cz75guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear cz75guy,

Thank you for taking time to write this informative review.

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time here at Hotel Meyrick and loved so many things about it. It is always great to receive such a positive feedback like yours as we work very hard to ensure that our guests have superb experience at our hotel.

Thank you once again fir your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is located center city for shopping pubbing, etc. Room was comfortable, but lighting and air circulation could have been better. No air conditioning.

Staff was quite hospitable and the restaurant was enjoyable.

Galway id a university town; lots of students all over.

Room Tip: Try for floor 3 or lower as there may be a water pressure problem on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Bob D,

Thank you for your review, we think all our guest feedback is very important as without it we are at loss as to know where we need to improve.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay here in Hotel Meyrick.
All your comments have been taken in constructive manner by our management team.

Thank you for your time and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this classy old hotel while exploring Galway Pubs and the Cliffs of Moher. The location of this hotel is perfect, right on Eyre Square and you can walk to all the pubs, restaurants and shopping on Shop St. The hotel's breakfast was excellent with plenty of hot and cold foods to choose from. We had a suite on the top floor overlooking the park, it was nice but could have used some updating, particularly the bathroom. This hotel is steeped in history with many famous guests dating back to the mid 1800's. It would really be nice to see an overhaul of this hotel done right keeping it's old world charm. The service was great from the reception to staff at breakfast. Valet car service worked perfect and all for only 5 Euro. a day. We had a great stay at the Meyrick,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear Steve K,

We are grateful for your time and for your kind comments.

it was a pleasure to read your informative review. we take all our guest feedback seriously and in a constructive manner. We are glad that you have enjoyed so many things about Hotel Meyrick and Galway City.

All your comments regarding decor have been taken on board and will be passed on to relevant manager.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Older hotel with older rooms but a great spot! Our room faced the square and outside, live music played late but it was charming. The room above us where there must have been a couple and their children, we could here everything. Walking, running, jumping, dragging of suitcases, yelling etc...That was not so charming. Go for central location and history, do not go if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear Annie1177,

We are thankful for taking time to write this review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed our bang on middle of the City Center location and our hotel in general. It was disappointing to read that your stay was not entirely to your satisfaction. We wish we were notified about the noise during your stay as only then we could take some action to prevent it. Well I’m afraid this was not the case so we would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused by the noise levels from the room above.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights. Was delighted to be upgraded to a junior suite overlooking the square. From the moment we arrived the experience was great , the staff were so pleasant from check in , the oyster bar the grill res and even fagans bar which you could easily miss hidden downstairs . I love these older time hotels but if your looking for pampering this is where to go. Forgot to mention the vala parking which was an added bonus. Thanks again everyone for making our short stay so enjoyable I will definitely be returning again and hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear riverfield1,

Thank you for your honest and positive review.

We are delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay here at Hotel Meyrick. It was our pleasure to look after you and ensure that your stay is nothing but perfect.
We will pass your comments to our team as it is important for us to relay customer feedback to them.

Thank You once again for your time and we looking forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,914 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,791 reviews
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £91 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing