We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but that's it.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location but that's it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed one night in a suite and we are both glad that we were only booked in for one night.
Check in was easy and Bernie was very pleasent and professional.
The suite was spacious but really warm with no temperature control. We were also unable to open a window in the bedroom. There was no bottled water left for your use unless you purchased same from the mini bar. The bed was uncomfortable and the bed linen was not great quality. The bathroom in the suite was spacious but the amenities were the cheapest of the cheap and of a very poor quality for a suite.
The hotel was busy and when we retired to our suite on the second floor the music was very
loud from the ground floor.

Room Tip: If staying do not bother with a suite and look for a room on the higher floors to avoid the noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damian044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    405
    202
    100
    78
See reviews for
193
634
33
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 with my husband for our wedding anniversary. We decided to treat ourselves to a suite and I have to say it was very spacious. The bathroom was very large and spotless. Very comfortable bed and two tv's in the room. Hotel staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was fantastic. There was everything from the traditional irish breakfast to fruit, yogurts, pastries, cereals, tea and coffee etc. The hotel is centrally located at Eyre Square within a few minutes walk to the city centre. I would definitely choose the Meyrick if I visit Galway again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bredaclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear bredaclarke,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are glad to read that you have had a pleasant experience here in Galway and enjoyed all that Hotel Meyrick Has to offer. We will communicate your comment throughout our hotel.

Thank you once again for this review and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a much needed night away in the Hotel Meyrick recently and I was told when I made the booking that they would
upgrade the room if possible upon check in. They not only upgraded the room but gave us the best suite in the hotel which was amazing. Their generosity truly made our night away memorable and unforgettable. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and the hotel is absolutely lovely. We are looking forward to saying in Hotel Meyrick again in the near future.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelsLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear HelsLimerick,

Thank you for your informative and honest review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback of our guests and relay it to our staff.

We are delighted to read that you had a good time here at Hotel Meyrick and we are looking forward to see you again on your return Galway.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had set out without an agenda and decided Galway would be our overnight adventure. The location of the hotel is excellent. Right next to the Christmas market and downtown. We enjoyed shopping and dining in this great little town! We were impressed with the lobby of the hotel and decided to stay.We came in a group and had separate check in clerks... night and day...one was super friendly...the other hated the world.

Unfortunately, due to our last minute decisions and no reservations we were left with a twin room near the bus depot side with NO view. The hotel was basically sold out and we took the last rooms. The room was not bad, very clean, but the heat did not work properly. ( I am beginning to think heat does not exist in Ireland) The repair man came quickly and fixed the problem (temporarily). In the middle of the night the heat stopped working and we were cold! We notified the staff in the morning. They were very apologetic and offered a reasonable solution for our uncomfortable stay.

Breakfast was delicious!!! The serving staff was great! The scones were excellent!!!

Overall, even with the grouchy check in lady and the heat issue (no fault of the hotel staff...they did their best) it was a great stay. Would I come back?? Yes! There is a charm here that is missing from many chain hotels.

Room Tip: Reservations!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerninVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at the Meyrick on November 3rd-4th, 2013 as part of a group tour. The location of the hotel is excellent; almost everything you'd care to do in Galway is within walking distance. The dinners in the hotel restaurant were top notch and the breakfast was good as well, although the buffet layout becomes difficult when a lot of people are eating at once.

Our room (406) was located in the annex portion of the hotel, and feels as disconnected from the rest of the hotel as it appears from the street. The room sits above a roadway and overlooks the bus station, so if it's warmer and you need to open the windows be prepared for engine idling noise and diesel exhaust. We didn't have to worry about the windows though because the radiator heat in our room did not work at all. Thankfully the staff were very friendly and quickly provided a plug-in electric heater when I called the front desk.

Overall, I would consider staying here again, but certainly not in the annex rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex rooms at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIridescentShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Meyrick Hotel is situation in the perfect position in the square, The staff were reallypleasant at all times.

But I have to say that was about it!

I was so dissapointed with the room we had, it was out in the annex, connecting the city with the bus depot, there was a lot of noise in the early morning, quiet disturbing when you are on holiday, The room itself wasn't exactly what I was expecting of a 4* hotel,
I have stayed in many 4* hotels this is not one of them.
Breakfast while plentiful was quiet tasteless, we had booked for five nights,
After the fifth night to be honest, I was glad to leave.

What a pity this hotel can't get it self together as I say,
it has the prime spot in Galway City what a waste!!!!!!

Room Tip: Definately not the 4* experience I was expecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine441592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I recently enjoyed an amazing stay at Hotel Meyrick. Even before I arrived I was incredibly impressed by the reservations staff, they were friendly, helpful and extremely efficient. We were welcomed to the hotel by a very friendly and professional receptionist. We went to our beautiful suite on the second floor overlooking the continental Christmas market on Eyre Square. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the hotels restaurant where the staff were absolutely wonderful.
The spa is lovely and I had a wonderful hot stone massage which I couldn't recommend highly enough. Once again, as in every other area in the hotel, the staff were wonderful. The outdoor hot tub on the roof of the 5th floor provides a touch of luxury.
It was a really impressive stay. I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel where EVERY member of staff was exceptional!
Well done guys. I'm looking forward to our next trip there already!

Room Tip: We had the corner suite on the 2nd floor and it was spacious and elegant with beautiful high ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Joysie,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and thank you also, most sincerely for choosing to stay here in Hotel Meyrick. All on the team are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Your positive feedback regarding our reservations team,Spa treatments, the quality of food and customer service you received is most welcome. We are all delighted that like so many others you received the true Hotel Meyrick experience.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.8 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing