We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location ”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location ”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here with a group of 28 girls. Rooms were lovely, really warm with comfortable beds. Bathroom was clean and had full lenght mirror for getting ready to go out.

Cocktails in the bar were very nice and the food in the restaurant was fab. 3 course meal for €35. Breakfast was also good, normal buffet selection but also a number oc options to chose from the menu.

The hotel is in a great location in the city and it is a two min walk to all the shops, bars and restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AileenM0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear AileenM0404,

Thank you for this lovely review.

We are glad to read that you and all your friends had a good time here over the last weekend. We will pass on your compliments about the cocktails to Paul in the bar, I am sure he will be thrilled to receive this positive feedback.
Group of 28 ladies is quite a large number to look after and ensure everyone is happy with their stay and we are thrilled that we have reached your expectations.

It was our pleasure to look after you all, please come again.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    412
    212
    104
    78
See reviews for
199
650
37
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Its hard to explain this hotel in a couple of words... A way to explain how I feel about my stay is like this-- If you can imagine if your Irish great grandmother became a hotel... Wearing her best dinner dress when you arrive. She will always try to keep up but is not what she once was... so she is always a little behind- so you slow your pace to walk with her. She gives you all of the love in the world "just because" and you let her because you feel good inside by just being around her. She laughs at your jokes- even if she doesn't get them and always has tea made when you need it. Although, hard work- breakfast is the most important meal of the day... and she knows it... so the spread is grand and impeccable. This is what the Meyrick was to me.
She was a little old fashioned but elegant. Respect that the Meyrick is the oldest hotel in Galway and has history behind every door, crack, room and missed placed stairwell. If you give her this respect... she will show you love in more ways than you can know.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the square! A MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikereply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear mikereply,

What an unusual and beautiful review!

It was our pleasure to read your kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Meyrick. We really don’t have anything to add on to your review.

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your recent break and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for an overnight trip in January. It was very spacious, very clean, The staff were diligent and polite, very welcoming. The hotel itself was a delight and is centrally located.
The sole reason for a 4 instead of a 5 was the problem in the chandelier in our room which tended to tinkle throughout the night.
We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Macanta,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We at Hotel Meyrick take all our guest feedback in a constructive manner.

We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your short break with us. Our staff members will be very happy to read your kind words also.

Regarding the lights in your room I hope it wasn’t one of our friendly ghosts trying to get your attention.
We apologise or the inconvenience of the lights not working properly, this has been addressed with our maintenance team.

We hope to be welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in October last year for 2 nights. The hotel is in a fantastic location for walking to restaurants and pubs with a view of the park across the street. Be sure to ask for a room with a window facing the park. The breakfast was amazing. and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was it was very stuffy in our room despite the fact that it was cold outside, and if we opened the window there were people on the street screaming until all hours of the night. We complained about it, and they offered us a fan that did not do much, unfortunately. For this reason, ask for a room on a lower floor as it may not be as warm.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Leki,

Thank you for finding time to share your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other TripAdvisor users. We appreciate all our guest feedback.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and we hope that we made your visit to Galway this little bit more special and memorable.

We would like to apologise if your room was too warm. Majority of our guests on a cool night request heating to be turned up, which for some people might seem too warm. Sorry if this made your stay in any way uncomfortable.

Thank you again for this review and we hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Just a quick review. It's been a couple of months since I stayed here, but I was determined to get this done. The hotel has a lot to offer, but what impressed me most was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Every staff member that I encountered treated me with warmth and respect. A rare pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Peter H,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. They all work very hard to ensure all our guests get a warm welcome and excellent service and they will be delighted to see that their hard work has paid off.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed in the Meyrick at the beginning of January. It's a lovely hotel, staff are very friendly and the food was excellent. We were there on a deal and it is the first hotel that didn't make me feel like a second class citizen for being on a deal!! The only small drawback is the Parking! They have their own car park but it's limited and on a first come first served basis. It's located away from the hotel so they provide a valet service for €5 a night. Otherwise you park in the car park next door for €6 a night. The valet service was excellent, they get your car for you with a few minutes notice. This didn't spoil our stay in any way, just something to be aware of. We had a Spa treatment while we were there, again the staff were very friendly and everything was to a high standard. They could do with a bell or something at reception for times when they are all busy so clients aren't hanging around. Our deal included a suite and it was fabulous - felt like royalty for the weekend!! I don't know what the "normal" rooms are like. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in a corner Suite overlooking the Bus station mostly. Loads of windows and therefore nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stargazer1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Stargazer1167,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback here on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Hotel Meyrick.

It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback like yours and I’m sure our team will be thrilled when they read this review.
We at Hotel Meyrick make it our priority to ensure every single guest gets the same high level of service and attention and we are glad that we made you feel like royals. As the best reward for us is another happy customer.

Thank you for this kind review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

PROS
* Location -- right on Eyre Square - the center of Galway, within easy walking distance to a huge number of restaurants and shops. You are also next to the bus and train stations.
* My room (216) was HUGE. Easily the largest hotel room I've ever stayed in. This is a corner room, and not typical. But in terms of space, it's an amazing value. Ceiling was probably 14 feet high. Crown moldings, fine drapes, and chandeliers. Impressive.
* All furniture was traditional and in good shape.
* Everything was very clean and kept that way.
* It's in a high-traffic location, but noise was not a problem for me. I could hear each large truck go by, if I made a point to listen. If you are very sensitive to noise, there are rooms that don't face the square.

CONS
* It's understandably difficult to heat all of that space with radiators. The room was cold in spots -- especially the bathroom in the morning. OK for me, but might be uncomfortable for someone who is more sensitive to cold. Also, I saw no evidence of air conditioning, so I would be hesitant to come here late in the summer.
* WiFi strength was OK on one side of the room, and poor over where the main desk was.
* WiFi is not available in large areas of the restaurant where breakfast is served. If you want to read the news on your tablet, get a table closer to the lobby area.
* I never saw the gymnasium / spa because it was only open 8am to 8pm, and I was there on business.
* The bed was adequate, but not the sort of supremely-comfortable bed that some hotels now use.
* The Reception desk is not impressive. When I arrived (noon on a Sunday), there was checked luggage everywhere, as many travelers were apparently waiting for rooms to open up. We were early for the standard check-in time of 3pm. This is a common problem for US travelers who all tend to arrive in the morning.
* Breakfast was OK (pink grapefruit slices included!) but not as good as the Radisson Blu. Shrink-wrapped cheeses were not impressive.

Overall:
* If you are here for romance and grandeur, the Meyrick may be a great choice for you. I'm in Galway on business. I have stayed many times at the Radisson Blu, a more modern, business-oriented hotel. The rooms are tiny by comparison, and the Radisson is more expensive, but I still prefer it. The breakfast and the spa at the Raidsson are first-rate.

Room Tip: Rooms vary greatly in size. Room 216 (a corner) was 3 times larger than a typical hotel room that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear BarryAZ,

Thank you for your hones and informative review. We take all our guest feedback seriously and in a constructive manner as only then we know where we need to improve.

We are glad to see that you have enjoyed so many things about our hotel.

All your CONS have been taken on board by our management team and will help us to better understand needs of people who travel on business. Regarding the Gym facilities; we normally do accommodate our guests by opening the facilities earlier if this is requested by the guest at the Front Desk in advance.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing