We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Grand Hotel”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Meyrick looks like hotels are supposed to look - from its grand limestone facade to its open lamplit salons. Upon arrival we were informed we had been allocated a 4th floor suite - Hurrah! It was one of the biggest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in - it was basically like two rooms plus a sizeable bathroom. The fact it was our first hotel stay with our one-year-old and we had requested a larger room possibly influenced the allocation of a suite. The cot was also helpfully provided - perfect. The staff at reception, in the dining room, and in the bar were always helpful and considerate in providing a high chair. The valet service was also useful as it took care of any concerns about parking spaces and so on (obviously there is a daily charge with this).
Location: Ideal, right in the middle of town, a few minutes from all the sights and sounds. Could be noisy at week-ends, but our stay was Sunday to Wednesday.
Staff: friendly and efficient (from the receptionists to the cleaning girls).
Value: excellent (again, our stay was off-peak).
Breakfast: top notch buffet.
Shower: powerful and hot.

Room Tip: Try and get a suite on the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyboyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear johnnyboyDublin

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are absolutely delighted that your stay was enjoyed by all and we are very grateful to receive your feedback.

Your comments have been communicated throughout the hotel.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Hotel Meyrick again in the future

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Passed this hotel many times over the years and was always impressed by its external facade. Always wondered what it would be like to be a resident. Finally got the opportunity last week and regretted having not stayed there before. Checking in was painless, parking was not an issue as it is taken care of by the hotel at the set down area, (small fee €5), and we were shown to our spacious suite on the 5th floor overlooking the main square in the town. We got an extraordinary deal for this room and would advise for one to request a room on the 5th floor. They can only say no!!!! No complaints, fine hotel, great location and staff attentive and courteous . We will be back. But ask for the 5th floor.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Ben B


Thank you for your wonderful comments and thank you also, most sincerely for choosing to stay here in Hotel Meyrick. All on the team are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the location of the hotel, valet parking ,beautiful views over looking Eyre Square and customer service you received is most welcome. We are all delighted that like so many others you received the true Hotel Meyrick experience.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future


Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Right on Eyre Square. Next door to the rail and bus terminus. Very comfortable old luxury feel. Great staff. Very good food. Great corporate rates.
If it is not busy be sure to ask for a free upgrade.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear MCannock

Thank you for your kind words.

It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback like yours. we are glad that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.
We will pass on your compliments to our team.

Thank you for taking time to post this review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break in the Hotel Meyrick mainly down to the excellent staff that we encountered during our stay. Whether it was at reception, in the bar or restaurant, or the spa, the staff were warm, friendly and helpful.

We stayed in a suite on the 5th floor which meant easy access to the spa and a private lounge where light refreshments were available - turned out to be very useful for the Ireland v Wales rugby match as it had a large widescreen tv while the public bar on the ground floor only had smaller screens. Bar food, breakfast and dinner were good quality fare and service was attentive throughout. The spa also offered a range of treatments at discounted rates so should be visited if time permits.

This is an older, more traditional hotel so expect those minor differences like smaller lifts and narrower corridors in some areas, however, for anybody planning to visit Galway and looking for a city centre location where they will be well looked after, the Hotel Meyrick is to be recommended.

Room Tip: 5th floor good for access to spa and private lounge with views over Galway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear DVG007

Thank you, most sincerely, for your very kind, honest and informative review. Tripadvisor is a tool many people use when making decisions in relation to their business and leisure hotel arrangements and it is honest feedback such as yours, and so many other previous guests, that paints the true picture of Hotel Meyrick

Kind Regards
Management Team
Hotel Meyrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My other half and myself stayed at Hotel Meyric in mid January. We can;t speak highly enough about this hotel. Beautiful sorroundings, lovely room and staff that were kindness itself.
Our stay was due to a sick relative in UCH, but thanks to the staff and our great room, we enjoyed our stat despite the circumstances.
Food was lovely and I could highly reccommend Hotel Myrick to all,
Hazel McIntyre Clarke

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking the square. So cose to all attractions and amazing history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meenawara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Hazel

Thank you for taking time to post this review. We at Hotel Meyrick value our customers opinions and are always thankful for their feedback.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyable stay with us. It is important for us to know that our hard work in ensuring we provide excellent customer service pays off. I hope your relative is feeling better .

Thank you once again for your time and we hope you will come and visit us again.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Meyrick is great, you won't be disappointed, in the middle of Galway City centre its a great location as winter weather changes suddenly, a car park next door for 6 euro. Rooms warm and cosy, a 2 night winter break DBB for 200 euro, good deals at the Park Hotel next door ( which had great praise from its guests ). Breakfast and Dinner just what you expect from the Great Southern Hotel as it was called in the time when it was owned by the railroad (reason why it is next to railway and bus station). Not disappointed at all a great stay, recommended, see hotels website for deals asn phone for better rates.

Room Tip: Pool, Spa and hot tub on roof, so if you use these a high room better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Showerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Showerman
Thank you for choosing Hotel Meyrick for your short break. It’s always nice to receive such a positive feedback from our guests.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed every part of your stay with us. We always expect the best of ourselves and it is great to see that our guests have enjoyed all that Hotel Meyrick has to offer. We will pass all your comments to our teams as it is important for us to relay feedback to the various departments in the Hotel.
Thank you once again for your time and looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

this hotel couldn't be any handy to find,its right beside the train & bus station,the hotel has valet parking @ a cost of 5euro a night so theres no need to worry about finding a car parking space,on a arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff who explained very clearly where we could find every thing,the room was bigger than most hotel rooms we stayed in & the bed was huge & very comfortable,the room was cold & we couldn't get the heating going so we were supplied with a portable heater which done the job,the dinner was beautiful & the breakfast was okay {had better},the price of a pint was a wee bit expensive as were the cocktails,over all this a stunning hotel with great staff & its in a great location with shops & pubs with in walking distance,but its a wee bit expensive to stay,eat & drink in,my stay in the Meyrick was a wedding gift so I didn't cost,but I did price it & I found it expensive..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MILLER1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear MILLER1969,

Thank you for finding time to share your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other TripAdvisor users.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed so many things about our hotel; such as Great Central Location, Friendly and Professional staff, Good Food and comfortable rooms.
Your comments regarding the prices have been taken on board by our management team, but we do believe that our prices are compatible to other four star hotels around Galway City.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope you will return for another visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
4.6 mi away
No photo provided
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,789 reviews
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £89 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing