We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and staff”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Great food and staff”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I ate in the brasserie on Sunday night and it was amazing from start to finish. I had the pate to start and the burger for main. Both were really nice. Rachael and Stephen who were working behind the bar were both very friendly and made me feel very welcome. Will decently be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear NigelF

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our new brasserie

We are glad to read that you and your had and enjoyable meal with us, as we expect nothing less than excellent customer service of ourselves. All feedback is important to us and I will certainly pass your kind comments to our team esp Rachel & Stephen .

Thank you once more for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    411
    210
    104
    78
See reviews for
197
646
36
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in the Meyrick last week and it exceeded our expectations.
From the Valet parking to the receptionist at check in and all staff in between I must compliment management on a most helpful, courteous staff. Stephen the barman recently returned from Australia to Michelle in the Spa they were most pleasant people.
The only downside was the Restaurant, which in my opinion is not fit for purpose, fine for a breakfast room but not good enough for a restaurant in a fine hotel like the Meryick !!
regardless this aside we enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: The Suites on the 5th floor overlooking Eyre square are ver good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Gerry714

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff esp Stephen & Michelle , it is always a pleasure to be able to relay the positive back to them.We take on board the few issues you had.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent stay at the Meyrick. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was yummy and the room was gorgeous. You can't beat the location - right on Eyre Square. All round great hotel. A couple of suggestions to make it an even better experience - better hairdryers and a nespresso machine in the rooms perhaps. This hotel will not disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandFirstClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear irelandfirstclass

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Hotel Meyrick, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Tripadvisor is a tool that a lot of people use to make a decision in relation to their business and leisure hotel arrangements and it is honest feedback such as yours that paints the true picture of Hotel Meyrick


Thank you once more for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Hotel Meyrick in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upperville, VA USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for the first two nights on a tour of Ireland with McMahon's Pub from Warrenton VA. Very nice hotel and great, friendly staff. A nice introduction to the wonderful people of Ireland. Our room overlooked Eyre Square and hotel location excellent. Rooms very comfortable and food was wonderful esp. the traditional Irish breakfast both mornings. Tour bus driver and guide was Mike Nolan. You haven't seen Ireland if you haven't traveled with Mick! He is the BEST!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Arthurgray
Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at Hotel Meyrick. It is great to know that yet another customer left Hotel Meyrick with the smile and nice memories. We will pass you kind words to our staff.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope to see you again in the near future.


Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Everything about this hotel exudes a sense of history. The old stairwells and elevators remind you of all of the other guests before you that have shared this wonderful hotel.

The room was spacious and comfortable. The restaurant was excellent and my stay could not have been better. The staff is pleasant and professional. They certainly know how to make you feel welcome and important.

Room Tip: Request a view of the park to make your stay complete. The life of the hotel is only improved by exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwr1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear irr1122
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We at Hotel Meyrick take all our guest feedback in a constructive manner and it is a pleasure to read such a kind words.

We are delighted that you enjoyed so many things about our hotel and we will pass your lovely comments to our team.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. It was a good 4 star break. The staff were very helpful (esp. Dave) some with great local knowledge.
We had a meal as part of our package but I was disappointed that it was from a special, cheaper menu, (there was an optional to pay a supplement for ALa Carte menu It was nonetheless very nice. All said, the hotel was nothing special but Galway city is so it is a great base to explore from.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afuss-pot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear aFuss-pot
Thank you for finding time to share your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other TripAdvisor users.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed so many things about our hotel; such as Great Central Location, Friendly and Professional staff esp Dave
Your comments have been taken on board by our management team

Thank you once again for your time and we hope you will return for another visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We arrived without a booking but luckily were offered a lovely room with a king sized bed. Staff were always very helpful and car parking is by a valet service. This was good because the city was very busy with traffic nearly all the time and trying to find any parking would have been a nightmare. The hotel is well situated in the centre of the city and easy walking to many attractions. We had dinner in the hotel more than once and the food was lovely. Breakfast was a bit disappointing though, limited choice but it may suit some people. I ordered scrambled eggs but it was barely warm when it arrived. Rooms could do with extractor fans, some may have them but ours didn't but overall a pleasant stay and very comfortable beds. A classy hotel with a lovely fire in the lobby to have hot chocolate in front of!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterfloyd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Peterfloyd54


Thank you for your kind comments here on tripadvisor. It’s always helpful to receive feedback from our valued customers as it enables us to improve our product, in particular customer care for future guests of the Hotel Meyrick.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will be passing your kind words to all staff here at Hotel Meyrick.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope you will return for another visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#18 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing