We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Nights at Galway”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“3 Nights at Galway”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having a fantastic golftrip in this part of Ireland we decided to spend three nights here. We played at Gort, Galway (Bay) and Connemara. This hotel is perfectly situated at the heart of Galway and very close to a lot of places to eat and drink.
The rooms are very fine and have everything you need.
Breakfast (continental and Irish) is enough to get you started for the day.
The hotel has different places where you can eat and drink. We only used this after having diner and a drink in Galway to have a final pint for the day.
The hotel does not have a parking place where you can park your car yourselfs but it has valet parking. They will park your car nearby, save and sound.

Room Tip: Some single rooms were very hot and not easy to keep or get cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrtbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear rbrtbmw


Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at Hotel Meyrick. It is great to know that yet another customer left Hotel Meyrick with the smile and nice memories. We will pass you kind words to our staff. Thank You.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    423
    217
    105
    78
See reviews for
207
658
38
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Remember you are going to western Ireland which is old and has fewer people. Monitor your expectations as it is not the same as being in London. The Meyrick hotel is centrally located and adjacent to the train station. If you are traveling via rail the hotel is less than five mins walk; I never heard any train noise from my hotel room.

The Meyrick has an impressive facade that is attractive though a water pressure cleaning treatment could make the difference. The lobby is nice as is the staff. Our room was large enough to accommodate our family of three and it looked out over a park which is just across from the hotel. The ceilings must have been 14 feet high and the windows matched the architecture. Unfortunately, though the windows didn't open but a few inches-- code requirements now everywhere mean there is limited air circulation-- the room was too warm for my Bay Area clan.

I'm a nut about bathrooms. The bathroom was decent and impressive by most standards with marble finishes. My main issue was that the bathroom lighting was too dim especially for putting on contact lenses or makeup and there was not a lot of space to put your stuff. The shower had one of those half doors which meant that there was a breeze on my backside.

Irish breakfast was included with the hotel rate. Servings were an array of fruit, yogurt, toppings, toast, and juices. Protein servings encompassed eggs sunny side up ( you can order eggs your way) along with white and black pudding and bacon. These last items require special notations. The puddings are NOT sweet creamy custards but a meat product. In either case, they are shaped like a small pork sausage or salami patty but contain the following: black pudding is a dark, nearly purple disc that is colored by blood and is made of pork and barley and spices. The white pudding has no blood but is pork, fat, oatmeal and spices. It comes in a roll that you slice and fry. It didn't appeal to me but could be worth a try. Irish bacon is essentially thin ham similar to Canadian bacon-- it is not American style bacon which comes from the pork belly and is smoked. Irish bacon is more like thinly sliced pork loin. Locals call American bacon "streaky bacon" because it is streaked with fat. It is used on hamburgers or in salads.

Be aware that the local students and drinkers (there are lots of them) hang out in the park yelling and singing which could make for a restless night.

A good property all around. Lovely, efficient staff.

Room Tip: Reserve front of building but ask to see other rooms before choosing upon arrival: train sounds may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willylabradoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Willielabradoodle

Thank you for sharing your experience at hotel Meyrick with other tripadvisor users.

We are glad to read that you had a lovely stay at Hotel Meyrick and enjoyed all that Galway has to offer. Galway is full of live and it is very easy to fall in love with it. Regarding Eyre Square you can be assured that this is monitored by police 24/7 and is very safe

We hope to see you again the next time you come in to visit our beautiful city.


Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The first thing that strikes you is that this is stylish old fashioned hotel, apparently the oldest in Galway and right in the city centre on Eyre Square. On arrival I was told there was valet parking to a close-by multi-story car park, but this was full. I ended up having to park it myself in the open public surface car park behind the hotel (€6 coins or download the app and pay if you are so inclined). I was a bit nervous about parking overnight in the open, but assured that security was good (although there are the usual disclaimers regarding any liability). I got a room facing Eyre Square (front of hotel) a beautiful room with high ceilings and nice decor. If you like old-fashioned, this will wow you. Triple glazing ensures there is little street noise to be heard. Service throughout the hotel was polite and helpful (apart from the parking issue). The wifi was a good signal and free. Breakfast is hot and cold buffet style, with a good quality full Irish breakfast and a wide selection of fresh fruit and cereals. All in all a good hotel in a good location

Room Tip: The rooms facing Eyre Square are very stylish and a good size, triple glazing ensure low street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJonesFoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear AndrewjonesFoto

Thank you for taking your time to writhe this honest and informative review.

We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed so many things about our hotel, We will be passing your kind comments to our team. As for car parking we offer valet parking to our customers but only available on a first come bases, may I suggest when booking next time please let us know and we can reserve a space for you, the other car park beside the hotel has a 24 hour security watch system in place and €6 is not very expensive for parking city center

Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future
.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assisi, Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I ate in the gaslight brasserie recently with some friends. The cocktails were overpriced, the food was good and the service was good. As we had a little wait for our food we asked for some nibbles - peanuts etc. to have with our 9 euro cocktails - the server said it wouldnt be a problem but then returned to say they didnt have any nibbles. Disappointing to say the least. The setting is more a lunch-time bistro with its wooden floor and hard surfaces - although the place was far from busy it was difficult to have an easy conversation as there was no sound absorption. I don't think I will be rushing back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathieitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Cathieitaly

Thank you for your honest and informative review. We take all our guest feedback seriously and in a constructive manner as only then we know where we need to improve.

We are glad to see that you have enjoyed so many things about our brasserie.

All your isues have been taken on board by our management team and will help us to better understand needs of people .

Thank you once again for your time and we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Overall this is a fine hotel - great location, excellent staff and a breakfast that will set you up for the day. My only gripe (and it is my only one) is that rooms facing the rear of the property can overlook the delivery bay and this can get pretty loud early in the morning. For some reason delivery trucks don't mind keeping their engines running, but it can be disturbing between 7 and 8 in the morning. Because our room faced east, we were torn between leaving the window open overnight (there was no a/c) to keep cool, or closing it to keep out the early morning noise. Certainly not enough to turn us off the hotel, but next time we will request a room overlooking Eyre Square.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Eyre Square, or at least one not overlooking the delivery bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestmeathPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear WestmeathPat

Thank you for finding time to share your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other TripAdvisor users. We appreciate all our guest feedback.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and we hope that we made your visit to Galway this little bit more special and memorable.

We would like to apologies if your room was too warm. Majority of our guests on a cool night request heating to be turned up, which for some people might seem too warm. Sorry if this made your stay in any way uncomfortable.We are looking into the issue with the loading bay to change the times of delivery.

Thank you again for this review and we hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from this hotel having spent three nights there. What a gem, set in the centre of Galway city. Situated on Eyre Square with bus and train terminals near by. The hotel itself is excellent. We had no complaints. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good. Our room looked out onto Eyre Square. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefourofuscarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear The fourofuscarlow

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. They all work very hard to ensure all our guests get a warm welcome and excellent service and they will be delighted to see that their hard work has paid off.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very much enjoyed my recent stay here - very helpful staff tried to check me in immediately even though I arrived at 1030am - didn't succeed as it was a bank holiday weekend and they hadn't had enough people check out but they did check me in early (1pm) and gave me a lovely room (418) with a view over eyre square, a little table and chairs looking out onto view and the bathroom had a gorgeous bath - breakfast was really good and restaurant staff were friendly and happy so was a very pleasant atmosphere and end to our one night stay - didn't go upstairs to spa place this time but did last time I stayed and really enjoyed hot tub. Right beside train station (didn't hear any noise though) and in middle of everything - great location. Note: tried trivago for cheapest price and then went to hotels own website ... Hotels own website ended up being €75 cheaper and included breakfast so check the hotels own website before booking just in case!!

Room Tip: 418 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear MrsAIrish

It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback like yours and I’m sure our team will be thrilled when they read this review.
We at Hotel Meyrick make it our priority to ensure every single guest gets the same high level of service and attention and we are glad that we made you feel like royals. As the best reward for us is another happy customer.

Thank you for this kind review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing